*Official* Popcorn Hour A-300 / C-300 Thread - Page 15 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #421 of 446 Old 07-10-2014, 01:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Popcorn A300 help!!

Hi everyone

My father in law has just got himself a A300 and I ahve a problem setting it up for him

It seems that the parental lock is on and there is no way to turn it off to allow me to run the set-up wizard.

Does anyone have any ideas??

Many thanks in advance
trotter232 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #422 of 446 Old 07-10-2014, 05:36 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,770
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1389 Post(s)
Liked: 930
WHy not reset to the factory defaults? It's in the firmware update section.

Or according to the manual, the default setup lock password is 4896.

53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #423 of 446 Old 07-18-2014, 07:49 PM
Member
 
spinbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had a few issues , mostly operator error or operator playing with 3rd party software causing an error. This time, I think I am innocent of issue, but just not sure how to resolve it.

When I am in file browsing mode, i can no longer switch to Jukebox or Jukebox Manager as I get a "Database Read Error".

The server I am accessing is run by UnRaid and works perfectly, so I have no concerns with it, especially considering I can access it and play content back through File Browsing Mode.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks
spinbot is offline  
post #424 of 446 Old 07-18-2014, 11:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,343
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 73
your NMJ database is corrupted. I would try to open it with NMJtoolbox and see what it says. if not just delete it and start over.
halfelite is offline  
post #425 of 446 Old 07-25-2014, 06:17 PM
Member
 
spinbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post
your NMJ database is corrupted. I would try to open it with NMJtoolbox and see what it says. if not just delete it and start over.
I tried NMJtoolbox 2 many months ago and thought it was an excellent tool until I ran in to an odd issue that I simply could not fix (after manually trying to get my Vikings episodes to display right). The issue I had was basically I had a default image in the graphical listing for Vikings (as it wasn't reading it properly) and when selected, it would reboot the Popcorn Hour on me. Regardless of my reason, the point i was getting to is that I stopped using the Toolbox. I've since changed computer and don't have it setup anymore.

I've tried to install it again (which isn't the hard part). I had stored my "nmj_database" folder on one of my network drives (this wasn't so much planned as that is where it just happened to land). When I browse to the "media.db" file, it tries to load but gives me a big window indication an error of:
Error Retrieving Database Object (as the heading) and then a really long body saying:
System.Data.SQLite.SQLiteException: SQLite error
no such table: DB_VERSION
at System.Data.SQLite.SQLite3.Prepare

(and a lot more after this)

I just click "OK" and get an "Unhandled Exception has occurred in your application...." and press "Continue"

At this point I am at least in to the program, but no DB has loaded. I'm guessing the lack of Path's is a contributing factor, but if I select "Paths" I immediately get an error of "no such table: SCAN_DIRS". I click OK a few times and it just kicks me out of the PATHS section.

I guess the question that I should answer not asked, but soon to be asked is "Why do I not just start over again with my Popcorn Hour". The issue is that I am between 3000 and 4000 items on my server and it took a lot of updating to fix things up. I didn't rename all my folders each time a problem was found, I rather just used the PCH's feature and scanned for the right movie. I also found that all my previously stored artwork , in each movies folder, didn't display very well for fan.art. The resolution of my art was too high so it didn't get compressed right for the Jukebox.

So, I was hoping to fix my problem rather than start from scratch and spend many days updating again.

It would be nice if the Setting for the PCH C-300 just had a "Repair" option.
spinbot is offline  
post #426 of 446 Old 09-10-2014, 07:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
ChldsPlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Independence, MO/Olathe, KS
Posts: 588
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 36
How does the C-300 work as far as Cinavia is concerned? Does it make it pretty useless for movies that have that protection?
ChldsPlay is online now  
post #427 of 446 Old 09-10-2014, 07:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChldsPlay View Post
How does the C-300 work as far as Cinavia is concerned? Does it make it pretty useless for movies that have that protection?
Cinavia does not apply to the C-300, so you can play any movie you want in any format

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #428 of 446 Old 09-10-2014, 07:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
ChldsPlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Independence, MO/Olathe, KS
Posts: 588
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post
Cinavia does not apply to the C-300, so you can play any movie you want in any format
So, I can just rip my Blu-rays to a HD (or to a PC attached to the same network), and then play them from the popcorn? Including 3D and HD audio? Is it possible to control with an android app?

Any other similar devices that are better?

Thanks.
ChldsPlay is online now  
post #429 of 446 Old 09-10-2014, 08:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChldsPlay View Post
So, I can just rip my Blu-rays to a HD (or to a PC attached to the same network), and then play them from the popcorn? Including 3D and HD audio? Is it possible to control with an android app?

Any other similar devices that are better?

Thanks.
The C-300 does not handle Blu Ray 3D. You would need either the PCH A400, Dune 3D series, or Mede8er. Android Apps are available for all players.

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #430 of 446 Old 02-06-2015, 03:50 PM
Member
 
bdoyle13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have been a good supporter of Popcorn hour for a few years until now.

My Popcorn hour stopped communicating with my network. I tried tech support and it has taken months to try and resolve the issue since they can take days or a week to respond to support e-mails.

I didn't change anything on my network and it just started lagging like crazy and wouldn't play anything.

Turns out the network card and main board are fried after only two years of moderate use.

I need to return it to the manufacture for repairs at a cost of $65. plus I pay for initial shipping.

I've paid them and they cant even find the time to give me the damn shipping address.


When it works popcorn hour is great but buyer beware if you have a technical issue that Cloud Media needs to help you with.

Must love home theaters!!
bdoyle13 is offline  
post #431 of 446 Old 02-06-2015, 10:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdoyle13 View Post
I have been a good supporter of Popcorn hour for a few years until now.

My Popcorn hour stopped communicating with my network. I tried tech support and it has taken months to try and resolve the issue since they can take days or a week to respond to support e-mails.

I didn't change anything on my network and it just started lagging like crazy and wouldn't play anything.

Turns out the network card and main board are fried after only two years of moderate use.

I need to return it to the manufacture for repairs at a cost of $65. plus I pay for initial shipping.

I've paid them and they cant even find the time to give me the damn shipping address.


When it works popcorn hour is great but buyer beware if you have a technical issue that Cloud Media needs to help you with.
You do know that PCH isn't based in CA, USA anymore right? They customer service was lousy then, and now that they are in China...I think it is even worse. I sold both of my PCH as ASAP!
GusGus748s is online now  
post #432 of 446 Old 02-07-2015, 09:56 AM
Member
 
bdoyle13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Ya, I found out they moved but it was after I had purchased my unit. They still said I'd be shipping it to the U.S. but haven't given me an address. I'll never buy their product again if it's going to be this hard to use it and fix it. There's been issues since the beginning.
bdoyle13 is offline  
post #433 of 446 Old 02-10-2015, 04:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdoyle13 View Post
Ya, I found out they moved but it was after I had purchased my unit. They still said I'd be shipping it to the U.S. but haven't given me an address. I'll never buy their product again if it's going to be this hard to use it and fix it. There's been issues since the beginning.
PCH and Dune both are worse than ever. I sold my PCH and Dune. I built a HTPC, which turned out to be much better for my family and I.
GusGus748s is online now  
post #434 of 446 Old 02-10-2015, 04:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 115
My Popcorn A-400 is rock solid. HTPC so last century.
Gary J is online now  
post #435 of 446 Old 02-10-2015, 04:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
My Popcorn A-400 is rock solid. HTPC so last century.
That's good that it works for you. For my set up and large library of movies and TV shows, PCH didn't work.

I also like playing music and both Dune and PCH wasn't the best option for that. You cant beat a HTPC if you one a versatile system.
GusGus748s is online now  
post #436 of 446 Old 02-10-2015, 05:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 115
There are plenty of PCH people with huge libraries and playing music, using apps, etc.
Gary J is online now  
post #437 of 446 Old 02-10-2015, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
There are plenty of PCH people with huge libraries and playing music, using apps, etc.
That's awesome. All I know is not to buy or recommend anything from PCH. if it works for you that's great.
GusGus748s is online now  
post #438 of 446 Old 02-10-2015, 06:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 115
All I know is PCH 400 threads are all but dead because there are all but no issues with them.
Gary J is online now  
post #439 of 446 Old 02-10-2015, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 623
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
All I know is PCH 400 threads are all but dead because there are all but no issues with them.
PCH moderators pretty much remove any comments they deem detrimental to their products.
GusGus748s is online now  
post #440 of 446 Old 02-10-2015, 06:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 115
I am talking about AVS forums. As for PCH forums I have not needed them for years. Pretty wild un-backed up claim anyway.
Gary J is online now  
post #441 of 446 Old 03-12-2015, 08:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GregF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco California
Posts: 1,288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm not posting to gloat, but to those who find this device endlessly frustrating as I did: I finally had enough and built a low cost HTPC and have no regrets whatever. I can play things I couldn't play before, and everything is much much faster, and zero crashes.

My sincere thanks to everyone who makes AVSforum such an awesome resource.
GregF is offline  
post #442 of 446 Old 03-13-2015, 04:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Same with PCH 400 except nothing to build/maintain.
Gary J is online now  
post #443 of 446 Old 03-13-2015, 04:49 AM
tf4
Member
 
tf4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am experiencing green artifacts on dark scenes on the Popcorn 410 (MKV Bluray). Anyone else have this issue? I also have issues playing larger FLAC files. I am not very thrilled at this point with this player.
tf4 is offline  
post #444 of 446 Old 03-13-2015, 05:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Nope such issues. User error.
Gary J is online now  
post #445 of 446 Old 03-13-2015, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,343
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by tf4 View Post
I am experiencing green artifacts on dark scenes on the Popcorn 410 (MKV Bluray). Anyone else have this issue? I also have issues playing larger FLAC files. I am not very thrilled at this point with this player.
Usually anything green related is HDMI handshake. But since you are also having problems with flac files. Is this coming over a network or local?
halfelite is offline  
post #446 of 446 Old 03-14-2015, 06:45 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,770
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1389 Post(s)
Liked: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
All I know is PCH 400 threads are all but dead because there are all but no issues with them.
I know I rarely post anything about my two A400s. They have worked great with my 2D and 3D BD ISOs and my MKVs. Streamed from my three unRAID setups.
aaronwt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Popcorn Hour A 300 Networked Media Jukebox , Popcorn Hour C 300 Extreme Networked Media Jukebox



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off