*Official* Popcorn Hour A-300 / C-300 Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 425 Old 03-22-2012, 10:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Here's where the ../ came from ... http://www.dentedboxes.com/doku.php/yamj:install:single

I believe is you specifically want to use NFS you need to reference it in the path

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 425 Old 03-22-2012, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Yeah, this stuff does get confusing. You'll see me (hdmkv) asking about this at accident's forum. In the end, I ended up using the YAMJ GUI Config tool, then editing (I think) the My_Library.xml file it generates to change the path to smb://[=]HPSERVER/Videos.

The ../ thing didn't work for me.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #93 of 425 Old 03-22-2012, 11:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Yeah, this stuff does get confusing. You'll see me (hdmkv) asking about this at accident's forum. In the end, I ended up using the YAMJ GUI Config tool, then editing (I think) the My_Library.xml file it generates to change the path to smb://[=]HPSERVER/Videos.

The ../ thing didn't work for me.

Yup, trust Brajesh and myself on this one

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #94 of 425 Old 03-22-2012, 11:29 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Went back and ran through YAMJ GUI again. Got this now:

J:\\PCH
../PCH

I successfully added a share in NMJ and was able to play every ISO via that. YAMJ, though, is still not stable in that some play, some hang and one resulted in the circling dots not going away even with turning the box off and on.

I'm off to NMT for this ..

Thanks,
Jeff
pepar is offline  
post #95 of 425 Old 03-22-2012, 11:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Went back and ran through YAMJ GUI again. Got this now:

J:\\PCH
../PCH

I successfully added a share in NMJ and was able to play every ISO via that. YAMJ, though, is still not stable in that some play, some hang and one resulted in the circling dots not going away even with turning the box off and on.

I'm off to NMT for this ..

Thanks,
Jeff

Why not try editing your paths manually as Brajesh and I have suggested?

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #96 of 425 Old 03-22-2012, 12:09 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 131
I missed all those previous posts. I'm on to somehting else now - a work server that is going south ... got an OCZ SSD that is pulling a disappearing act. Just had another do that and then it disappeared completely. That one's on its way under RMA. Gotta install Shadowprotect and save an image of the C;/ drive.

Will look over what you and Brajesh have posted....
pepar is offline  
post #97 of 425 Old 03-22-2012, 01:08 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Quintana Roo ... in my mind
Posts: 24,935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Yeah, this stuff does get confusing. You'll see me (hdmkv) asking about this at accident's forum. In the end, I ended up using the YAMJ GUI Config tool, then editing (I think) the My_Library.xml file it generates to change the path to smb://[=]HPSERVER/Videos.

The ../ thing didn't work for me.

Playerpath help in YAMJ shows nfs://192.168.123.129/j/PCH as the Eversion only path. Should I edit the path to that?
pepar is offline  
post #98 of 425 Old 03-22-2012, 01:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post

Playerpath help in YAMJ shows nfs://192.168.123.129/j/PCH as the Eversion only path. Should I edit the path to that?

I would try that. If it doesn't work I think you need to have a ":" after each /:

nfs://192.168.123.129:/j:/PCH

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #99 of 425 Old 03-24-2012, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
landshark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 1,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I just received a A300, planning to replace my HTPC setup in the house. However, I do have a quick question.

I had all my movie's poster named folder.jpg & backdrop.jpg for HTPC use. Do I need to rename them in order for the PCH to use my poster/background instead of redownload everything again?

Also, I assume/believe it could play Bluray in ISO or BDMV folder format, correct?

I had all my movies stored as homeserver/bluray/movie_name/(movie.iso/movie.mkv/bdmv), is it a correct structure for the PCH?

Thanks.
landshark1 is offline  
post #100 of 425 Old 03-24-2012, 10:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by landshark1 View Post

I just received a A300, planning to replace my HTPC setup in the house. However, I do have a quick question.

I had all my movie's poster named folder.jpg & backdrop.jpg for HTPC use. Do I need to rename them in order for the PCH to use my poster/background instead of redownload everything again?

Also, I assume/believe it could play Bluray in ISO or BDMV folder format, correct?

I had all my movies stored as homeserver/bluray/movie_name/(movie.iso/movie.mkv/bdmv), is it a correct structure for the PCH?

Thanks.

1. Depends on what program you use. For example, if you go with YAMJ you can tell it to use folder.jpg and backdrop.jpg (this is what I do)

2. Correct. And your structure looks fine, just like mine

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #101 of 425 Old 03-24-2012, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
landshark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 1,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

1. Depends on what program you use. For example, if you go with YAMJ you can tell it to use folder.jpg and backdrop.jpg (this is what I do)

what about if I'm going to start with NMJ first to see how I like it? Could it use folder.jpg/backdrop.jpg? Or they'll need to be renamed?

And do I have to have a PC in order to run YAMJ? 'Cos even tho I do have a WHSv1, but I'm planning to retire it with a NAS box instead (most likely Synoloy 1812+).

Thanks again.
landshark1 is offline  
post #102 of 425 Old 03-24-2012, 10:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by landshark1 View Post

what about if I'm going to start with NMJ first to see how I like it? Could it use folder.jpg/backdrop.jpg? Or they'll need to be renamed?

And do I have to have a PC in order to run YAMJ? 'Cos even tho I do have a WHSv1, but I'm planning to retire it with a NAS box instead (most likely Synoloy 1812+).

Thanks again.

I think NMJ will go and grab its own art, but not 100% since I didn't bother with after I tested out.

I run YAM on my WHS and/or my PC. It won't run on a Synology

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #103 of 425 Old 03-24-2012, 10:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
landshark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 1,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

I think NMJ will go and grab its own art, but not 100% since I didn't bother with after I tested out.

I run YAM on my WHS and/or my PC. It won't run on a Synology

Thank you for the quick replies again.
landshark1 is offline  
post #104 of 425 Old 04-10-2012, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
has anyone played 96/24 PCM Wav Audio files on the A300?
they play fine on my HDX but I was thinking about getting the A300 because it can support 3TB hard drive but I don't want to lose any playability on files
I know it will play all the Video files
actually I also have an egreat R200 which plays the 96/24 wav files as well
detroit1 is offline  
post #105 of 425 Old 04-10-2012, 03:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by detroit1 View Post

has anyone played 96/24 PCM Wav Audio files on the A300?
they play fine on my HDX but I was thinking about getting the A300 because it can support 3TB hard drive but I don't want to lose any playability on files
I know it will play all the Video files
actually I also have an egreat R200 which plays the 96/24 wav files as well

Can you upload a sample ? I remember it played 96/24 FLAC without issues... but not sure about PCM WAV.

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #106 of 425 Old 04-10-2012, 03:27 PM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
how can upload it here?
detroit1 is offline  
post #107 of 425 Old 04-10-2012, 04:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 58
post a sample to mediafire or something or dropbox,
halfelite is offline  
post #108 of 425 Old 04-11-2012, 03:46 AM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Here is the upload of a 96/24 Wav File
Please let me know if it plays on the A300
It should play when putting the player on PCM; let me know

http://www.mediafire.com/?a8lsjk3rg78x2vr
detroit1 is offline  
post #109 of 425 Old 04-12-2012, 09:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
mohanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I'm interested in getting a c-300.. could owners please answer a few questions?

1) Can you automatically launch the jukebox so my wife doesn't have problems when it is turned on trying to figure out how to access it?
2) Is it possible to do amazon on demand at all?
3) Do you guys like it? is it buggy?
Thanks
Mo
mohanman is offline  
post #110 of 425 Old 04-12-2012, 10:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I have an A-300, but here are my thoughts...
  1. Maybe; have a look here. But, not hard anyway launching jukebox it manually. For YAMJ/Eversion, go to Apps, then open YAMJ app, then press 'Enter' on your pre-saved jukebox share. For NMJ, go to Networked Media, then share where you set-up jukebox to launch it.
  2. Should work via PlayOn server app running on a computer/server in the same home network.
  3. Like it. A little buggy, but on the whole, no better or worse than other streamers I've tried (and that's many ) as far as bugs go.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #111 of 425 Old 04-12-2012, 11:02 AM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
did anyone try to play the 96/24 Wav file that I posted the other day?
detroit1 is offline  
post #112 of 425 Old 04-12-2012, 11:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
scl23enn4m3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Am I correct in thinking a PCH is a set and forget type of deal that's easy for pretty much anyone one to use? I'm looking for something that functions more as an appliance than a computer. I'm slowly getting sick and tired of tinkering with my HTPC and explaining to people how to use it. I'm switching over to Apple TVs around the house but I need something that can handle more codecs in the theater. Would this fit the bill?
scl23enn4m3 is offline  
post #113 of 425 Old 04-12-2012, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Am I correct in thinking a PCH is a set and forget type of deal that's easy for pretty much anyone one to use? I'm looking for something that functions more as an appliance than a computer.

No and yes. There is quite a bit of setup work needed for jukebox, but easy to manage after that. But, if you just need video playback w/o worrying about a jukebox, then yes, set it and forget it.
Quote:
I need something that can handle more codecs

PCH certainly fits the bill.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #114 of 425 Old 04-12-2012, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,582
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 86
You can pretty much make it as easy as you want it. I rip to a drive and play. Or you can fool with networking, compressing files, front ends and other stuff that I would rather not be bothered with.
Gary J is offline  
post #115 of 425 Old 04-12-2012, 11:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
scl23enn4m3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Great, thank you for the responses!

I don't mind an initial setup. I'm just trying to minimize the gadgets that require constant maintenance. I will use a jukebox just to make things look nice for the wow factor. Do the third party jukebox software require a separate computer? And do they need to be looked after?

The end result I'm looking for is:
I want to be able to rip or download a file (MKV or ISO mostly), add it to a folder via my network, and have it show up on the PCH. I currently manually scrape for art and data because I have a lot of international movies that automated scrapers usually don't get right.
scl23enn4m3 is offline  
post #116 of 425 Old 04-12-2012, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by detroit1 View Post

did anyone try to play the 96/24 Wav file that I posted the other day?

I downloaded it have not had a chance to test it yet
halfelite is offline  
post #117 of 425 Old 04-12-2012, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Do the third party jukebox software require a separate computer? And do they need to be looked after?

Yes, separate computer. No, only need to look after jukebox when your content changes (new movies or TV shows, or those deleted). But, you can automate when YAMJ runs on your computer & pushes the updates to the jukebox already built.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #118 of 425 Old 04-13-2012, 10:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
scl23enn4m3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Yes, separate computer. No, only need to look after jukebox when your content changes (new movies or TV shows, or those deleted). But, you can automate when YAMJ runs on your computer & pushes the updates to the jukebox already built.

B-e-a-utiful. Thanks! Some quick Googling shows that I can install YAMJ on my WHS. Now I just have to get my hand on one of these babies...
scl23enn4m3 is offline  
post #119 of 425 Old 04-13-2012, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,729
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I believe you can. It has a pretty small footprint. I just prefer to do it on my PC and only push updates when I want (to my WHS share folder where my videos are). But, if you like it more automated, that works too.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #120 of 425 Old 04-15-2012, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
detroit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I wanted to ask a couple more questions before deciding to buy the A300
If you play a blu-ray file with LPCM 5.1; does it play in full 5.1? do you have to change any settings? what are the hdmi settings; is it Raw, Bitstream, what are the choices on this unit?
also, if playing a video file; can you search forward by 30 seconds, 1 minute? etc

anyone try to play the 96/24 wav file that I posted?
detroit1 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Popcorn Hour A 300 Networked Media Jukebox , Popcorn Hour C 300 Extreme Networked Media Jukebox

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off