Micca EP950! - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 1655 Old 03-20-2012, 08:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
mkoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokeySmoke View Post

Auto-detecting the frame rate requires an application like MediaInfo running on the box. It cannot be found from the header but must instead be determined from the time stamps of the M2TS/SSIF container over a period of time. This may not be an easy thing to accomplish if the function does not already exist. So I would be perfectly happy with either manually setting the frame rate or simply running it at 23.976 always.

What about 23.98? I played a movie last night Samy that had this frame rate.
Just one comment. it seems people are expecting a lot from a box that cost 150 dollars. Items that are easily implimented fine. but those that are not well good luck.
mkoss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 1655 Old 03-20-2012, 08:47 AM
Senior Member
 
HokeySmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkoss View Post

What about 23.98? I played a movie last night Samy that had this frame rate.
Just one comment. it seems people are expecting a lot from a box that cost 150 dollars. Items that are easily implimented fine. but those that are not well good luck.

There are only two 24Hz frame rates allowed in the Blu-ray standard. 24.000 and 23.976 (actually 24/1.001). It also makes no sense that there would be any others, unless the encoding is done by mistake. If the frame rate was indeed 23.980Hz, then there was likely an error when the file was multiplexed into its container.

I have two 3D Blu-ray players that cost much less than $150, both of which play back the correct frame rate.
HokeySmoke is offline  
post #543 of 1655 Old 03-20-2012, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eagle_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I could be wrong but I think I remember the Micca always displayed the framerate as 23.98 under info which I assumed it was just rounding up from 23.976.
eagle_2 is offline  
post #544 of 1655 Old 03-20-2012, 08:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
mkoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokeySmoke View Post

There are only two 24Hz frame rates allowed in the Blu-ray standard. 24.000 and 23.976 (actually 24/1.001). It also makes no sense that there would be any others, unless the encoding is done by mistake. If the frame rate was indeed 23.980Hz, then there was likely an error when the file was multiplexed into its container.

I have two 3D Blu-ray players that cost much less than $150, both of which play back the correct frame rate.

They will play the disc at the correct frame rate but will not play iso's. Ther you need an oppo bdp93 that cost 500.
mkoss is offline  
post #545 of 1655 Old 03-20-2012, 08:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
mkoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eagle_2 View Post

I could be wrong but I think I remember the Micca always displayed the framerate as 23.98 under info which I assumed it was just rounding up from 23.976.

No if info button is used it will also show 23.976 fgfor movies at this frame rate.
mkoss is offline  
post #546 of 1655 Old 03-20-2012, 09:01 AM
Senior Member
 
HokeySmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkoss View Post

They will play the disc at the correct frame rate but will not play iso's. Ther you need an oppo bdp93 that cost 500.

Yes, and it will probably go up in price soon since that feature has been removed from the newest version. This is why we're all here.
HokeySmoke is offline  
post #547 of 1655 Old 03-20-2012, 02:50 PM
Member
 
Mick*Atlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkfuzz View Post

A few things I think would make the Ep950 even better:

I think Micca should implicate an option where different media can have a specified setting. When I play music I use the LPCM audio setting and when I play video I use the RAW audio setting. There should be a way the player can have specified settings in Music and a separate setting in Movies that way I would not have to change from LPCM to RAW every time I switch between the two. Make sense?

And to make the EP950 extra special:

It would be awesome if there was a way to change the backrounds in the device. The home seems a bit generic and could use a makeover (though better than a lot of others). I think it would be great to be able to change the icons and backgrounds. Also, when I am playing music I think it would be so cool to have music visualizer! My xbox has a pretty descent one. I love jamming and having a visualizer play on my 52inch, I LOVE THAT! These are just a couple ideas that would make this player a top pick for any music/movie lover. Jack, if you could just share this with Micca, it would be much appreciated! Thanks a lot.

I have no idea what the difference is between RAW and LPCM - do you think you could provide a brief explanation? Thanks
Mick*Atlanta is offline  
post #548 of 1655 Old 03-20-2012, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 43
RAW is basically passthrough (bitstreaming) of LPCM, Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD MA as is to your receiver. LPCM is decoding to LPCM before sending to your receiver.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #549 of 1655 Old 03-21-2012, 05:55 AM
Member
 
Mick*Atlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

RAW is basically passthrough (bitstreaming) of LPCM, Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD MA as is to your receiver. LPCM is decoding to LPCM before sending to your receiver.

So if the receiver is doing all the decoding is it best to make all the audio settings RAW or is the answer not that simple?
Mick*Atlanta is offline  
post #550 of 1655 Old 03-21-2012, 09:43 AM
Member
 
sparkfuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Pretty much yes. In order for me to get DTS HD and Dolby HD signals to work correctly I also had to set HD audio core output setting to 7.1 even though I have a 5.1 setup. I was kind of confused at first too but in order for my reciever to output the true audio formats this is the settings I need them on. Even though it is says 7.1 setting your reciever will know you only have a 5.1 setup. Do not leave it on 5.1 core only. Hope this helps.
sparkfuzz is offline  
post #551 of 1655 Old 03-21-2012, 10:35 AM
Member
 
Mick*Atlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkfuzz View Post

Pretty much yes. In order for me to get DTS HD and Dolby HD signals to work correctly I also had to set HD audio core output setting to 7.1 even though I have a 5.1 setup. I was kind of confused at first too but in order for my reciever to output the true audio formats this is the settings I need them on. Even though it is says 7.1 setting your reciever will know you only have a 5.1 setup. Do not leave it on 5.1 core only. Hope this helps.

Thanks everyone. I've changed all my audio settings to RAW. My HD audio core was already set to 7.1 as my system is 7.1. Thanks again.
Mick*Atlanta is offline  
post #552 of 1655 Old 03-22-2012, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eagle_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Sparkfuzz is correct. Your receiver will know how your speakers are set up, so you want to output full 7.1 and let your receiver distribute the sound correctly depending on your setup.
eagle_2 is offline  
post #553 of 1655 Old 03-22-2012, 09:14 PM
Member
 
NanoElement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Russian, Magnitogorsk
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry for offtopic, but HokeySmoke previously wrote that:
Quote:


But the 1185 had a similar 24Hz issue that was resolved by one of the OEMs (DViCo TViX)

But it's incorrect, because fix were in TVIX HD M-6600 series (RTD1283) / TVIX HD N1 (RTD1073), in FW 2.0.5 :
Code:
2. Supports True Cinema Frame-Rate (23.976Hz)
 - Supports exact 23.976Hz of frame-rate, so remove the un-natural artifact of frame insertion.
 - Automatic detection of 24/ 23.976Hz.
I didn't find at DViCO RTD1185 based players.

Also Richard Adams wrote:
Quote:


Realtek should have known they were releasing the 1186 product with the same stutter problem that the 1185 based players have.

Can you give links where stated?
NanoElement is offline  
post #554 of 1655 Old 03-22-2012, 10:30 PM
Senior Member
 
HokeySmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by NanoElement View Post

Sorry for offtopic, but HokeySmoke previously wrote that:


But it's incorrect, because fix were in TVIX HD M-6600 series (RTD1283) / TVIX HD N1 (RTD1073), in FW 2.0.5 :
Code:
2. Supports True Cinema Frame-Rate (23.976Hz)
 - Supports exact 23.976Hz of frame-rate, so remove the un-natural artifact of frame insertion.
 - Automatic detection of 24/ 23.976Hz.

You're right, it was the predecessor to the 1185, the 1283. TVIX did not use the Realtek chip after that. However, it does not really matter since the 1186 has been proven to work at 23.976Hz regardless of what happened with the 1185 boxes.
HokeySmoke is offline  
post #555 of 1655 Old 03-23-2012, 01:09 AM
Member
 
NanoElement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Russian, Magnitogorsk
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HokeySmoke
Nevertheless, it's very interesting to know, whether has a bug the predecessor to the 1186. About 1073/1283 there are many facts (for example Mede8er). And with regards 1185 I didn't find any confirmation for stuttering, even here.
As I said, I have created the thread of stuttering in the iXBT Russian forum to at least warn about the problem (now the first page of which appeared on a fake site with machine translation into English). And there were assumptions that 1055/1085/1185 based boxes has no bug, that's why I had to focus on your post with the words "1185".
NanoElement is offline  
post #556 of 1655 Old 03-23-2012, 05:31 AM
Member
 
Mick*Atlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eagle_2 View Post

Sparkfuzz is correct. Your receiver will know how your speakers are set up, so you want to output full 7.1 and let your receiver distribute the sound correctly depending on your setup.

I found I had to leave the 'HDMI Output' set to Auto, if I changed it to RAW I got no sound at all. I've also noticed now that there's a slight pause (maybe 2 seconds) before the sound starts to play after the video appears.
Mick*Atlanta is offline  
post #557 of 1655 Old 03-23-2012, 06:08 AM
Newbie
 
NewPirate13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yyy123 View Post

Added my feature list:
1. Support for TrueCrypt volume mounting/unmounting;
2. Copying files from Windows 7 64bit to EP950 device through network sometimes not working for big files.

how do you have this set up? it isn't recognized on my network.
NewPirate13 is offline  
post #558 of 1655 Old 03-24-2012, 10:16 PM
Newbie
 
yyy123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After turned on Samba server from EP950 device, you can check for volume called "Venus" from you Windows 7 Network. If you haven't turned on Samba security, you should be able to directly read from or write to Venus on your EP950. If you cannot find it, you may have to reboot EP950 and Windows 7.
yyy123 is offline  
post #559 of 1655 Old 03-26-2012, 12:22 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jack@Micca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Guys, I have an update regarding the 23.976fps issue.

A new firmware version of 1.0.3.9 has been posted, which changes the 60p video output to 59.94Hz instead of 60Hz. When 23.976fps material is played without switching to 24p mode, the proper 3:2 pull down occurs with no extra/skipped frames.

The 24p output mode is more complicated. The frequency for this output mode is burned into the chip at manufacturing time. We continue to work with Realtek to see if there is a firmware solution to this but. For the time being, the first batch of EP950's will only output 24Hz when a 23.976fps or 24fps video is played and the 24p mode is turned on.

The new production batch of EP950, with serial numbers EP9501208XXXX have the 24p mode burned as 23.976Hz and will therefore correctly playback 23.976fps videos without extra/skipped frames. The new EP600 G2 units also have true 23.976Hz output.

Again, we will continue to work with Realtek to see if a the 23.976fps output issue can be resolved through firmware for the first batch of EP950 players.

Edit: I may have spoken too soon. 1.0.3.9 works for 1080p/60->59.94Hz on the EP600 G2, but not the EP950. The EP950 with 1.0.3.9 continues to output 60Hz in 1080p/60 mode.

Jack@Micca
Micca Support Specialist
Jack@Micca is offline  
post #560 of 1655 Old 03-26-2012, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,145
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack@Micca View Post

Guys, I have an update regarding the 23.976fps issue.

A new firmware version of 1.0.3.9 has been posted, which changes the 60p video output to 59.94Hz instead of 60Hz. When 23.976fps material is played without switching to 24p mode, the proper 3:2 pull down occurs with no extra/skipped frames.

The 24p output mode is more complicated. The frequency for this output mode is burned into the chip at manufacturing time. We continue to work with Realtek to see if there is a firmware solution to this but. For the time being, the first batch of EP950's will only output 24Hz when a 23.976fps or 24fps video is played and the 24p mode is turned on.

The new production batch of EP950, with serial numbers EP9501208XXXX have the 24p mode burned as 23.976Hz and will therefore correctly playback 23.976fps videos without extra/skipped frames. The new EP600 G2 units also have true 23.976Hz output.

Again, we will continue to work with Realtek to see if a the 23.976fps output issue can be resolved through firmware for the first batch of EP950 players.

Thanks

So are you swapping existing units for this issue if Realtek
Doesn't have an update path? And when will amazon have new inventory
With the issue corrected (serial numbers starting
Point you referenced?)
thrang is online now  
post #561 of 1655 Old 03-26-2012, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
mattmarsden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Slough, UK
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does this fix include 3D?
mattmarsden is offline  
post #562 of 1655 Old 03-26-2012, 01:18 PM
Newbie
 
NewPirate13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yyy123 View Post

After turned on Samba server from EP950 device, you can check for volume called "Venus" from you Windows 7 Network. If you haven't turned on Samba security, you should be able to directly read from or write to Venus on your EP950. If you cannot find it, you may have to reboot EP950 and Windows 7.

thanks. i had yet to upgrade the firmware, so that was my issue.
NewPirate13 is offline  
post #563 of 1655 Old 03-26-2012, 01:45 PM
Senior Member
 
HokeySmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack@Micca View Post

The 24p output mode is more complicated. The frequency for this output mode is burned into the chip at manufacturing time. We continue to work with Realtek to see if there is a firmware solution to this but. For the time being, the first batch of EP950's will only output 24Hz when a 23.976fps or 24fps video is played and the 24p mode is turned on.

Jack, I'm confused. I admit that I have an HD900A, so something might be different, but there are two versions of firmware, one of which plays back 24Hz content at 23.976Hz, and one of which plays it back at 24.000Hz. How can that be if it's a factory operation to "Burn" this?
HokeySmoke is offline  
post #564 of 1655 Old 03-27-2012, 05:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Sarcoptic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Ok wow I just want to be clear on your statements...all EP600 G2 have the correct frame output already "burned" in? Meaning if I order one from amazon today I should be set?
Sarcoptic is offline  
post #565 of 1655 Old 03-27-2012, 08:07 AM
Member
 
ehb224's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jack@Micca,

Concerining firmware update 1.0.3.9 has been posted for the EP950. Is this for the older unit with the "problems" or also for the newer ones when they become available (and I am waiting on)?

Thanks!
ehb224 is offline  
post #566 of 1655 Old 03-27-2012, 08:51 AM
Senior Member
 
HokeySmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattmarsden View Post

Does this fix include 3D?

When the HD900 had its (momentary) firmware fix for 24Hz, it was only fixed in 2D, not 3D. Both 23.976Hz and 59.94Hz operated correctly in 2D, but 3D was still stuck at 24.000Hz.

3D 1080p@23.976Hz has exactly the same pixel clock as 2D 1080p@59.94Hz so I have no idea what would need to be "burned" to fix one but not the other.
HokeySmoke is offline  
post #567 of 1655 Old 03-27-2012, 11:33 AM
Member
 
Mick*Atlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eagle_2 View Post

Sparkfuzz is correct. Your receiver will know how your speakers are set up, so you want to output full 7.1 and let your receiver distribute the sound correctly depending on your setup.

I've had to set the HDMI output to anything but RAW, if I leave it at RAW everything is fine for all files but AVI, for those there is no sound at all. Any idea why that would be?
Mick*Atlanta is offline  
post #568 of 1655 Old 03-28-2012, 10:30 AM
Member
 
sparkfuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jack@Micca: Can I send my current EP950 with the power issue in to be replaced by the new batch ones? I want the unit with no problems.

And Mick*Atlanta, I will assume the .avi files are not supported by your receiver. Whatever the audio output signal is, it must be supported by your receiver. Does it play the .avi sound when you switch the settings to LPCM? IF it plays then this is the best your gonna get, unless you go inside the receiver to find a setting to resolve it. Receivers can be tricky, I know. Don't be surprised if you have to read the whole manual before you feel comfortable with it. To me it sounds like you need to read up on your receiver and understand what it is doing. Good luck
sparkfuzz is offline  
post #569 of 1655 Old 03-28-2012, 07:20 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jack@Micca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Instead of replying to individual posts, I will address all of the questions in one post. I apologize if I missed anyone's question - feel free to point out my omission.

Currently, the EP600 G2 and the next batch of EP950 players will have 59.94Hz/23.976Hz output when used with the new 1.0.3.9 firmware. We continue to work on figuring out a way to do this through firmware updates for the first batch of EP950s. As of now, they are still generating 60Hz/24Hz output even with the new 1.0.3.9 firmware.

The EP600 G2 and next batch of EP950 will also have the correct 23.976 for 3D videos. I've asked the firmware team to reconfirm this.

We are on schedule to finish the production of EP950 second batch players in the next two weeks, with players scheduled to arrive sometime in mid to late April. We can arrange for exchanges for the power-on issue by then.

Jack@Micca
Micca Support Specialist
Jack@Micca is offline  
post #570 of 1655 Old 03-28-2012, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eagle_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Jack, this is very good news to hear. Very exciting. May I ask, how will the player now handle videos that are encoded in 24.000 or 60.000 fps? Will it play them at 59.94Hz/23.976Hz also or will it know when a file is 23.976 and when it is 24.000 and output the correct framerate accordingly?
eagle_2 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off