Micca EP950! - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1656 Old 01-06-2012, 04:34 PM
Member
 
f1shtaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yes, it was $149. Why the price hike to $199?
Edit: nevermind...$199 is the price by Xtreamer. Miccastore must have ran out of stock.
f1shtaco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1656 Old 01-06-2012, 04:37 PM
Senior Member
 
DraZtiK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I was ready to buy it for 149. guess I have to wait for it to be back in stock...
DraZtiK is offline  
post #33 of 1656 Old 01-06-2012, 04:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jim tressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
is there any difference between the guts of the 350,600 and 950 other than gigabit lan speeds? Not interested in the hard drive option as all my blu ray rips are on a nas.
jim tressler is offline  
post #34 of 1656 Old 01-06-2012, 05:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Richard Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DraZtiK View Post

wasn't the price on this 149?

Don't tell anyone.

"With Liberty, HDTV and Justice for all."
Richard Adams
Richard Adams is offline  
post #35 of 1656 Old 01-06-2012, 05:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Richard Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim tressler View Post

is there any difference between the guts of the 350,600 and 950 other than gigabit lan speeds? Not interested in the hard drive option as all my blu ray rips are on a nas.

The himedia 900A is due out this month, and is $99 without a hard drive bay. At least that's what I read.

"With Liberty, HDTV and Justice for all."
Richard Adams
Richard Adams is offline  
post #36 of 1656 Old 01-08-2012, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Richard Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack@Micca View Post

There are extra files/steps needed to flash the boot code, so as long as you are just flashing the firmware itself, the boot code will be intact. So there is nothing to worry about for most people.

Before cross flashing with another Realtek 1186 vendor's firmware, it would be a good idea to make sure you already have the .img file for the exact replacement firmware that matches your player. This would allow a "safe mode recovery" if that is ever needed. The safe mode replaces the boot code that Jack@Micca mentioned.

Here's a link to helpful info I collected for the Realtek 1186 box firmware.

Especially see the section titled, "important Consideration."

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4#post21461204

"With Liberty, HDTV and Justice for all."
Richard Adams
Richard Adams is offline  
post #37 of 1656 Old 01-09-2012, 09:16 AM
Member
 
sigteacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Omicron Persei 8
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DraZtiK View Post

wasn't the price on this 149?

It was. Now it appears to be out of stock on Amazon.
sigteacher is offline  
post #38 of 1656 Old 01-10-2012, 06:29 AM
Newbie
 
tico2209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if I connect an external hard drive (WD MyPassport) using one of the usb ports in the EP950, I can successfully play all my media files? or I necessarily need a sata external drive?
tico2209 is offline  
post #39 of 1656 Old 01-10-2012, 10:16 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jack@Micca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The EP950 is current out of stock on Amazon but should be available again within the next week or so. They are on American soil.

Both the EP350 and EP600 uses the 1185 chip while the EP950 uses 1186. All of which will support external hard drives attached via USB. The EP600 and EP950 has an external SATA connector, and the EP950 further has an internal SATA bay. It's not necessary to install a hard drive in the EP950 to use it.

Jack@Micca
Micca Support Specialist
Jack@Micca is offline  
post #40 of 1656 Old 01-10-2012, 01:46 PM
Newbie
 
yyy123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. When I merge two 1080p AVCHD .MTS files together into a MKV file by using mkvtoolnix tool, the merged video plays but not smooth anymore - for every few second, it jumps 1 second. The original 1080p MTS file plays smoothly.

2. The player popped up error message saying audio is too slow and not recoverable when I play 720p MKV files with AC3 audio stream.

3. The home screen splashes during reboot or return from previous screen.

4. The last is I was hoping the box can play Panasonic MOD files as I have lots of videos from my old Panasonic camcorder. The .MOD file format is similar to .MPG file format as if you change the file extension from .MOD to .MPG, it plays fine. But why not directly adding support? Just a suggestion.

Haven't tried networking functions...
yyy123 is offline  
post #41 of 1656 Old 01-10-2012, 02:04 PM
Newbie
 
Hawkster13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For $149 im def. buying the Micca EP950.

Please let us know when the Micca EP950 is available on Amazon again.
Hawkster13 is offline  
post #42 of 1656 Old 01-10-2012, 09:23 PM
Newbie
 
chkfried's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack@Micca View Post

Once you turn on SAMBA file sharing and have a drive installed/attached to the EP950, it should show up on your network. In Windows 7, it should show up when you click on Network in file manager.

Thanks for your response, Jack. I can actually access the EP950 by way of "\\\\ip-address", but I cannot see it from my Windows 7 Explorer's Network view, as you described. Any thoughts?

Anyhow, I am getting Samba transfer rate (write) of around 11 MB/sec from my PC. I've got a Cisco E3000 (Gigabit) running between my PC and EP950. Is it possible to achieve a faster speed?
chkfried is offline  
post #43 of 1656 Old 01-11-2012, 10:51 AM
Member
 
nu.klear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack@Micca View Post

and the EP950 further has an internal SATA bay. It's not necessary to install a hard drive in the EP950 to use it.

Jack, has anyone ever reported stuttering while playing MKVs off the hard drive? That is what I have experienced with my player when I installed an 1Tb Hitachi drive in it. The playback stuttered to the point the movie was totally unwatchable... When played from the network that same file has been played more or less fine...
nu.klear is offline  
post #44 of 1656 Old 01-12-2012, 07:18 PM
Member
 
Electron Mover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Central VA
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jack@Micca:
I've had two of my .iso backups play director's commentary with no access to the feature. The offending files are Sherlock Holmes and Watchmen.

I've seen workarounds using tsmuxer and others, but I got this player to play .iso files...

Thanks for your and the development team's efforts.
Electron Mover is offline  
post #45 of 1656 Old 01-13-2012, 07:04 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jack@Micca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by chkfried View Post

Thanks for your response, Jack. I can actually access the EP950 by way of "\\\\ip-address", but I cannot see it from my Windows 7 Explorer's Network view, as you described. Any thoughts?

Anyhow, I am getting Samba transfer rate (write) of around 11 MB/sec from my PC. I've got a Cisco E3000 (Gigabit) running between my PC and EP950. Is it possible to achieve a faster speed?

That's strange, it sounds as if the player's host name isn't being broadcasted by the DHCP server. Does the EP950 list out the other devices on your network when you go to browse the network connections?

The transfer speed sounds about right. This is a few MB/s faster than players with a 100mbps link. The gigabit connection does make transfers faster, but it will not be as fast as a computer. I would compare this to the USB port on certain WiFi routers that let you attach and share a disk out. Those devices also are limited to transfers in the 10-15MB/s range.

Jack@Micca
Micca Support Specialist
Jack@Micca is offline  
post #46 of 1656 Old 01-13-2012, 07:06 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jack@Micca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nu.klear View Post

Jack, has anyone ever reported stuttering while playing MKVs off the hard drive? That is what I have experienced with my player when I installed an 1Tb Hitachi drive in it. The playback stuttered to the point the movie was totally unwatchable... When played from the network that same file has been played more or less fine...

Can you provide a MediaInfo output of the MKV that exhibits this issue? Is it all files or just specific ones? Also, try connecting the HDD to the external SATA port to see if the behavior changes.

Jack@Micca
Micca Support Specialist
Jack@Micca is offline  
post #47 of 1656 Old 01-13-2012, 07:08 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jack@Micca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electron Mover View Post

Jack@Micca:
I've had two of my .iso backups play director's commentary with no access to the feature. The offending files are Sherlock Holmes and Watchmen.

I've seen workarounds using tsmuxer and others, but I got this player to play .iso files...

Thanks for your and the development team's efforts.

Hi,

Are the director's commentary included as a separate audio track like it typically is?

Jack@Micca
Micca Support Specialist
Jack@Micca is offline  
post #48 of 1656 Old 01-13-2012, 09:11 AM
Member
 
nu.klear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack@Micca View Post
Can you provide a MediaInfo output of the MKV that exhibits this issue?
Please see attached.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack@Micca View Post
Is it all files or just specific ones?
I've tested only with few, but it was observed for all of them...

 

Red Riding Hood.txt 4.21484375k . file
Attached Files
File Type: txt Red Riding Hood.txt (4.2 KB, 0 views)
nu.klear is offline  
post #49 of 1656 Old 01-13-2012, 01:18 PM
Member
 
Electron Mover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Central VA
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack@Micca View Post

Hi,

Are the director's commentary included as a separate audio track like it typically is?

I believe in both cases the director's commentary is a completely different video file with a matching audio track. There is no way to exit this file to a menu. The .iso files in question play with menus from a server to a different media player, but I am playing them in the ep950 through an internal sata hdd, if that makes a difference.

Thanks again.
Electron Mover is offline  
post #50 of 1656 Old 01-13-2012, 02:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electron Mover View Post

I believe in both cases the director's commentary is a completely different video file with a matching audio track. There is no way to exit this file to a menu. The .iso files in question play with menus from a server to a different media player, but I am playing them in the ep950 through an internal sata hdd, if that makes a difference.

Thanks again.

Is the ISO main movie only or 1:1 rip? If it is a main the find the correct video file to rip and re-rip it.

If it is a 1:1 rip then you can change the soundtrack. If you don't have a secondary sound track then re-rip the ISO file with HD and AC3 track.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #51 of 1656 Old 01-14-2012, 07:16 PM
Newbie
 
PhaserOnStun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Folks!

(sorry I cant post the url yet...but it's on Micca's website...)

Some improvements...HiTV is it's own catagory but still offline.


LL&P

John
PhaserOnStun is offline  
post #52 of 1656 Old 01-15-2012, 08:14 PM
Member
 
f1shtaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
that's not new
that's the firmware that it comes with
their website has not been up to speed until now (a month later)
f1shtaco is offline  
post #53 of 1656 Old 01-16-2012, 10:54 AM
Newbie
 
PhaserOnStun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well...it is newer than the firmware that came on MY unit just received from Amazon.
PhaserOnStun is offline  
post #54 of 1656 Old 01-16-2012, 11:05 AM
Newbie
 
Hawkster13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I am planning on purchasing the Micca EP950 media player as soon as it comes available online.

I would want to use it wirelessly. So my question is which adapters are compatible with Micca's Media players? Im pretty sure I found a list in the past but now I can not find it anymore. Also I dont want to buy Micca's own Wireless N adapter.
Hawkster13 is offline  
post #55 of 1656 Old 01-16-2012, 11:09 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Jack@Micca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi,

Take a look at the list of possibly compatible dongles here.

http://content.miccastore.com/node/232

Jack@Micca
Micca Support Specialist
Jack@Micca is offline  
post #56 of 1656 Old 01-16-2012, 01:55 PM
Newbie
 
Hawkster13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack@Micca View Post

Hi,

Take a look at the list of possibly compatible dongles here.

Thank you!
Hawkster13 is offline  
post #57 of 1656 Old 01-16-2012, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Richard Adams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack@Micca View Post

Thanks so much, I will forward this.

Thank you for the reply several weeks ago.

I previously submitted a sample 3D file from my Sony HDR-TD10 camcorder. Here is a link to that same file I already submitted
http://st7.us/mvc-sample0011.mts

As of today, the Micca EP950 only plays these in 2D. So the 950 offers no better ability for 3D playback of these 3D-HD files than 2D players that cost half as much.

With the introduction of the new, more compact, 2nd year model of Sony's 3D camcorder, that uses the same file format as my sample above, the quantity of 3D generated by home video will far exceed the limited number of 3D Hollywood movies, and probably has already done this.

This segment should not be ignored, since there a many potential sales missed currently. Options available to play these files would be greatly improved if this product could support these 3D files.

Can you please ask the people that have knowledge of firmware updates if they intend to make improvements to support 3D playback of Sony 3D camcorder files in actual 3D, and if so, when?

"With Liberty, HDTV and Justice for all."
Richard Adams
Richard Adams is offline  
post #58 of 1656 Old 01-16-2012, 09:47 PM
Newbie
 
Patrickof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi jack,
I just got the 950 .......
Which is the procedure to access BT client ?
I would like to download some torrents (movies) from internet
Thanks.

PD : I already tried "http://EP950 IP"
"http://EP950 IP:9091"
"http://EP950 IP/unicgi"
"http://EP950 IP/account_login.html"
, Nothing happend
Patrickof is offline  
post #59 of 1656 Old 01-18-2012, 01:49 PM
Newbie
 
Hawkster13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is amazon.com the only US seller that sells the Micca EP950?

If you know of another please let me know.

Thanks in advance.
Hawkster13 is offline  
post #60 of 1656 Old 01-21-2012, 09:18 AM
Newbie
 
Hawkster13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Micca EP950 is back in stock on Amazon.com

Selling for $149.95

Finally bought one
Hawkster13 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off