New Dune HD Sigma 8910 anticipation thread Q2 2012 - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 409 Old 02-09-2012, 06:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablozoe View Post

I had a long talk with Mike at Dune and he told me basically the 8910 will be offered in the pro and out possibly in the first half of next year. He said also possibly the 86xx series will get the 3D and possible the VXP processing. And this is what's likely to go into the smart series and max series players.


Im starting to think Dune is just blowing hot air. This 8910 was supposed to be out november 2011 then its going to be q2 of 2012. Now you are saying they said next year would make it 2013. So going on a year+ of its coming its coming in a couple months makes it seem even more like its not going to happen. Vaporware for the time being.
halfelite is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 409 Old 02-09-2012, 07:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 974
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 79
I agree its ridiculous... First half of next year, come on!

PANASONIC VT50 FOR SALE!!!!

Panasonic 60VT60 3DTV
Denon AVR 4311CI
Klipsch F-30 Fronts
Klipsch C-20 Center
Klipsch S-20 Sides
Klipsch B-20 Rears
PA 120 12" Sub
Dune HD Smart D1
PS3 Slim
DirecTV HR34 DVR

jconjason is offline  
post #123 of 409 Old 02-09-2012, 07:25 PM
Senior Member
 
DiabloZoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post


Im starting to think Dune is just blowing hot air. This 8910 was supposed to be out november 2011 then its going to be q2 of 2012. Now you are saying they said next year would make it 2013. So going on a year+ of its coming its coming in a couple months makes it seem even more like its not going to happen. Vaporware for the time being.

It's not Dune....as you can see no player has the 8910! If the other players that use the Sigma chip has them already then yeah I would say Dune dropped the ball! I would rather wait for the tested chip then get a POS unit like the HiMedia 900B. Which I own too!
DiabloZoe is offline  
post #124 of 409 Old 02-09-2012, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Killroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ninth Circle of Hell
Posts: 1,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Nobody listens to Killroy™... THe Dune Pro will not see the light of day. Will we see a 8910 player any time soon with 3D? Maybe...but I doubt it will be this year by the sounds of the rumor mill. But the Dune Pro is that one product that every single manufacturer has that never really comes out. Dune has had 2 already shown and neither one was brought to consumers.
Killroy is offline  
post #125 of 409 Old 02-09-2012, 08:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablozoe View Post

It's not Dune....as you can see no player has the 8910! If the other players that use the Sigma chip has them already then yeah I would say Dune dropped the ball! I would rather wait for the tested chip then get a POS unit like the HiMedia 900B. Which I own too!


Its dunes fault on the empty promises of it coming oh its coming. Other sources at the time of IFA said dune is lying there is no way it will be November 2010 and sure enough they were right then after ces again they said NO way it wont be happening and sure enough it happened again. If other people knew it wasnt coming dune did also. Now we all know Sales and marketing people like to blow smoke so giving them the doubt that maybe they did know but they wanted to hype it up that's fine but dont keep putting a few months date at every show.
halfelite is online now  
post #126 of 409 Old 02-09-2012, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

Its dunes fault on the empty promises of it coming oh its coming. Other sources at the time of IFA said dune is lying there is no way it will be November 2010 and sure enough they were right then after ces again they said NO way it wont be happening and sure enough it happened again. If other people knew it wasnt coming dune did also. Now we all know Sales and marketing people like to blow smoke so giving them the doubt that maybe they did know but they wanted to hype it up that's fine but dont keep putting a few months date at every show.

On a lighter note, they aren't getting any money from you beforehand like what Xtreamer did It is us journalists who are actually tricked into giving them free publicity!!!

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #127 of 409 Old 02-09-2012, 08:54 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
sigma is holding things up and I am sure dune and others would like to get the new chips.Sigma keeps dragging their feet.I am sure dune would love to have the chips now--maybe sigma are having some issues with the new chip.

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is offline  
post #128 of 409 Old 02-09-2012, 08:58 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablozoe View Post

It's not Dune....as you can see no player has the 8910! If the other players that use the Sigma chip has them already then yeah I would say Dune dropped the ball! I would rather wait for the tested chip then get a POS unit like the HiMedia 900B. Which I own too!

I have the 900b too and its a piece of crap compared to my dune.I dont mind waiting for ages as long as the new sigma chips work as advertised and not having no support like that from himedia

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is offline  
post #129 of 409 Old 02-09-2012, 09:01 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

On a lighter note, they aren't getting any money from you beforehand like what Xtreamer did It is us journalists who are actually tricked into giving them free publicity!!!

Precisely why I wont buy Xtreamer.

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is offline  
post #130 of 409 Old 02-10-2012, 07:00 AM
Senior Member
 
DiabloZoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by denass View Post


I have the 900b too and its a piece of crap compared to my dune.I dont mind waiting for ages as long as the new sigma chips work as advertised and not having no support like that from himedia

It basically why the Dune cost more all around then the 900! Because it just works! You get what you paid for!
DiabloZoe is offline  
post #131 of 409 Old 02-10-2012, 07:44 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would kill for a Dune that played 3d BD ISO though Got to figure out how to convert my collection to SBS.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #132 of 409 Old 02-10-2012, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by madpoet View Post

Would kill for a Dune that played 3d BD ISO though Got to figure out how to convert my collection to SBS.

DVDFab
mlknez is online now  
post #133 of 409 Old 02-10-2012, 09:30 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, I was looking at that. Which tool is it specifically I need? THey have all these bundles Already have AnyDVD.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #134 of 409 Old 02-10-2012, 01:51 PM
Member
 
drm870's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote from Hi-Jack on MPC Club (emphasis added):

Quote:


Hi sonofzorro, too bad about the silence huh... also means not much interesting going on to make me make time for it We hope 2012 will become a better year but this is doubtful as latest rumors have it that also SMP8910 is suspended and will never launch (in favor of yet another chip).

http://www.mpcclub.com/forum/showpos...6&postcount=10

He is known for having inside sources, but I really hope this isn't true.
drm870 is offline  
post #135 of 409 Old 02-10-2012, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
DiabloZoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by madpoet View Post

Yeah, I was looking at that. Which tool is it specifically I need? THey have all these bundles Already have AnyDVD.

That is what I use and the movies I converted to MKV play perfect! I did avatar drive angry and POTC. Its the 3D bluray ripper module. If you have any questions I'll walk you through it!
DiabloZoe is offline  
post #136 of 409 Old 02-14-2012, 09:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
babgvant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by drm870 View Post

Quote from Hi-Jack on MPC Club (emphasis added):



http://www.mpcclub.com/forum/showpos...6&postcount=10

He is known for having inside sources, but I really hope this isn't true.

My contact at SIGMA just confirmed that the SMP8910 isn't suspended.
babgvant is offline  
post #137 of 409 Old 02-14-2012, 09:56 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thats great news

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is offline  
post #138 of 409 Old 02-14-2012, 10:32 AM
Senior Member
 
iboum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sigma Design's stock price tells a story.

Pure speculation but I suspect that there is trouble at Sigma.
iboum is offline  
post #139 of 409 Old 02-14-2012, 10:47 AM
Senior Member
 
DiabloZoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I don't know if the issue with cinavia in every BR player manufactured after Feb 2012 has any play on this? I have been told that Sigma will release a chip in the 86XX series that will support 3D bluray and HDMI 1.4
DiabloZoe is offline  
post #140 of 409 Old 02-14-2012, 11:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mathelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by iboum View Post

Sigma Design's stock price tells a story.

Pure speculation but I suspect that there is trouble at Sigma.

Taking a closer look at their financials you can see that SIGMA is in trouble. Big losses and their revenue is way down. I wonder what is driving that?

Louis
Mathelo is online now  
post #141 of 409 Old 02-14-2012, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
DiabloZoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathelo View Post


Taking a closer look at their financials you can see that SIGMA is in trouble. Big losses and their revenue is way down. I wonder what is driving that?

Louis

They have not brought a chip with 3D bluray capabilities and HDMI 1.4 to production yet!
DiabloZoe is offline  
post #142 of 409 Old 02-14-2012, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablozoe View Post

They have not brought a chip with 3D bluray capabilities and HDMI 1.4 to production yet!

Even if thats true, they need to start making some moves and come out with something new. I just wonder how long we have to wait until they come out with their new player.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #143 of 409 Old 02-14-2012, 12:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 16,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathelo View Post

Taking a closer look at their financials you can see that SIGMA is in trouble. Big losses and their revenue is way down. I wonder what is driving that?

Louis

Quote:
Originally Posted by diablozoe View Post

They have not brought a chip with 3D bluray capabilities and HDMI 1.4 to production yet!

Those 2 things may well be related. If there's no money for R&D, new products may be put on the sideline or greatly slowed. Stiff competition for chip sales makes profit margins pretty slim. One of those chicken - egg things.

BD players are eating into the market too, having popular media file support. There may not be room in the media box market for 2 chip makers.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #144 of 409 Old 02-14-2012, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post

Those 2 things may well be related. If there's no money for R&D, new products may be put on the sideline or greatly slowed. Stiff competition for chip sales makes profit margins pretty slim. One of those chicken - egg things.

BD players are eating into the market too, having popular media file support. There may not be room in the media box market for 2 chip makers.

why true sigma supplies a lot of the bd players the chips they use. I think the biggest thing is sigma let their product line go stale and the bigger issue is the huge push of ARM based chips hitting the market at a lower cost is making investors and other companies think twice about going with sigma.
halfelite is online now  
post #145 of 409 Old 02-14-2012, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
[my Speculation]

Sigma has bitten off more than they could chew with the 8910. Trying to roll VXP and dual-core, as well as other new features may have sapped resources that should have gone to upgrading the current family of chips. It's not uncommon for a company to try to make a giant lead, and come up short.

As far as the "suspension" of the 8910, I suspect they are simply going for a silicon re-spin. On such an ambitious project, you would expect to need more than one iteration, but with the changes in the market, I suspect they are tweaking the feature-set as well. New features might require a different part-number, hence the "8910 is suspended in favor of a new chip". Products currently in development, like Dune-Pro, may end up with a "8920" instead. It's just normal silicon-evolution.

[/my Speculation]
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #146 of 409 Old 02-14-2012, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

. . . the huge push of ARM based chips hitting the market at a lower cost is making investors and other companies think twice about going with sigma.

. . . especially since Sigma still doesn't support HDMI 1.4 or 3D.
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #147 of 409 Old 02-16-2012, 02:08 AM
Senior Member
 
iboum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathelo View Post

Taking a closer look at their financials you can see that SIGMA is in trouble. Big losses and their revenue is way down. I wonder what is driving that?

Louis

Sigma's revenue from media player chipsets fell drastically from 2009 and is falling still. Think back to 2007/8/9.. The Sigma 863x was the only chipset in town. Syabas were able to sell big quantities of the A-100/A-110 at a high price. The originally WDTV also sold well, again with the 8635. There was a rash of Chinese 8635 based Popcorn Hour clones, all paying royalties to Sigma (if not Syabas!).

The margin on these players and the 8635 chipset used by all of them was large. Sigma effectively controlled the market.

Then the Realtek 1073 chipset happened and suddenly most players were based on it and much cheaper (Xtreamer mk1 onwards). Nearly all the Chinese manufacturers switched to Realtek and new strong products emerged like ACRyan and Xtreamer, again based on Realtek.

The market for Sigma's big revenue producer suddenly collapsed.

They've struggled since then. Only a loyal vanguard of companies have stuck with them (who also happen to be some of the biggest names, but whose sales will have also suffered from new cheap competition). Sigma have tried to diversify, notably into the 'connected home' and powerline networking but these appear to not be generating the kind of revenue the 8635 chipset did in the glory years.

At this stage Sigma need a big product. Something to create big sales and big revenue. The 8910 is never going to be that, so it's development is on a backburner.

Sigma know they will never make big money with the 8910 because it's a niche product in a niche market. It will never compete on price with Realtek (or indeed new ARM chips) and the benefits are something only a few people will be willing to pay a premium for..

I should say that Realtek face a similar challenge, only from ARM based chips and Android. The mass market is where the money is, and in that mass market picture quality is not the paramount factor. Price and increasingly additional features (web browsers / on-demand / games) are.
iboum is offline  
post #148 of 409 Old 02-16-2012, 07:49 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
well it will be a sad state for sigma then and hope they do get an upgrade chip from what they have.Will be interesting next few months for sure.I hope dune comes up with a 3d player this year and then my 900b is gone.I will will be keeping my original dune regardless. Its a bugger things are so topsy tervy at the moment.I am sure alot would be all over a quality product including good support and thats what I am hoping for..

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is offline  
post #149 of 409 Old 02-16-2012, 09:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

LOL. I'm hoping for just the middle one at $400 or less.

$400 for a Sigma chipset player. What is going on here?
Opentoe is offline  
post #150 of 409 Old 02-16-2012, 09:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I bought a Dune Prime 3.0 for like $249 or whatever it was a year/longer ago. What will be replacing this type unit in the new Dune's? Don't tell me it went from $249 to $1500 in two years. There has to be some models for the working people here. If you take one of those new players and take it apart you'll be surprised how little there is inside. Small little Sigma chipset.
Opentoe is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off