Pivos AIOS HD Media Center: The *Semiofficial* Thread - Page 18 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #511 of 1116 Old 05-11-2012, 07:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

Use the cover mode (press one of the coloured buttons on the remote ... green ?) and it will pickup and display folder.jpg within each folder and it will be considerably larger.

That's what I used to use. Press the blue button and it will come up. The only problem with this the movies won't be in alphabetical order. So, I stopped using it that due to that reason.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #512 of 1116 Old 05-14-2012, 07:33 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Guys, I am compiling a list of messed up BR titles due to the Java incompatibilities and the tendency of the player to pickup the longest track (when menus isn't supported), hopefully Pivos would "attempt" to resolve it with Realtek.

If you any titles that exhibited such behavior, please name them.
TIA.


Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

That's what I used to use. Press the blue button and it will come up. The only problem with this the movies won't be in alphabetical order. So, I stopped using it that due to that reason.

They "supposedly" working on that.
aasoror is offline  
post #513 of 1116 Old 05-14-2012, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

Guys, I am compiling a list of messed up BR titles due to the Java incompatibilities and the tendency of the player to pickup the longest track (when menus isn't supported), hopefully Pivos would "attempt" to resolve it with Realtek.

If you any titles that exhibited such behavior, please name them.
TIA.




They "supposedly" working on that.

Wondering when that's going to finally get fixed though!

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #514 of 1116 Old 05-21-2012, 07:43 PM
Member
 
bigspud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
transfered 1080 .mov (AVC1) files from canon elph 300 to pivos with 320gb hdd,. playback is very choppy. not enough cpu in pivos? any settings to tweak, or should i return it? have latest update installed.
bigspud is offline  
post #515 of 1116 Old 05-21-2012, 07:59 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigspud View Post

transfered 1080 .mov (AVC1) files from canon elph 300 to pivos with 320gb hdd,. playback is very choppy. not enough cpu in pivos? any settings to tweak, or should i return it? have latest update installed.

well, it depends on the encode settings, pass the file through mediainfo and post the output here.
aasoror is offline  
post #516 of 1116 Old 05-21-2012, 08:33 PM
Member
 
bigspud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

well, it depends on the encode settings, pass the file through mediainfo and post the output here.

General
Complete name MVI_0562.MOV
Format : MPEG-4
Format profile : QuickTime
Codec ID : qt
File size : 1.11 GiB
Duration : 4mn 33s
Overall bit rate : 34.9 Mbps
Encoded date : UTC 2011-08-09 18:00:33
Tagged date : UTC 2011-08-09 18:00:33

Video
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : Baseline@L5.0
Format settings, CABAC : No
Format settings, ReFrames : 1 frame
Format settings, GOP : M=1, N=12
Codec ID : avc1
Codec ID/Info : Advanced Video Coding
Duration : 4mn 33s
Bit rate : 33.3 Mbps
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : Constant
Frame rate : 23.976 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.671
Stream size : 1.06 GiB (96%)
Language : English
Encoded date : UTC 2011-08-09 18:00:33
Tagged date : UTC 2011-08-09 18:00:33
Color primaries : BT.709-5, BT.1361, IEC 61966-2-4, SMPTE RP177
Transfer characteristics : BT.709-5, BT.1361
Matrix coefficients : BT.601-6 525, BT.1358 525, BT.1700 NTSC, SMPTE 170M

Audio
ID : 2
Format : PCM
Format settings, Endianness : Little
Format settings, Sign : Signed
Codec ID : sowt
Duration : 4mn 33s
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 1 536 Kbps
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Channel positions : Front: L R
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth : 16 bits
Stream size : 50.2 MiB (4%)
Language : English
Encoded date : UTC 2011-08-09 18:00:33
Tagged date : UTC 2011-08-09 18:00:33
bigspud is offline  
post #517 of 1116 Old 05-21-2012, 08:40 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigspud View Post

General
Complete name MVI_0562.MOV
Format : MPEG-4
Format profile : QuickTime
Codec ID : qt
File size : 1.11 GiB
Duration : 4mn 33s
Overall bit rate : 34.9 Mbps
Encoded date : UTC 2011-08-09 18:00:33
Tagged date : UTC 2011-08-09 18:00:33

bit rate is too high for the mov container (on the AIOS).
At this bitrate I would stick with M2TS (or set your camera to lower bitrate if you can't change container)
aasoror is offline  
post #518 of 1116 Old 05-21-2012, 08:50 PM
Member
 
bigspud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

bit rate is too high for the mov container (on the AIOS).
At this bitrate I would stick with M2TS (or set your camera to lower bitrate if you can't change container)

seems pivos not up to spec for use with 2 year old point and shoot camera, will look for better media player.
bigspud is offline  
post #519 of 1116 Old 05-21-2012, 08:57 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigspud View Post

seems pivos not up to spec for use with 2 year old point and shoot camera, will look for better media player.

Its not specs related (45mbps AVC streams runs butter smooth on the AIOS in M2TS containers, which is the bluray container and the default for more recent camcorders out there), mov is one of the most resource consuming containers out there, its not that surprising its being "phased out" as a recording formate for many camcorders out there.

There is a reason these boxes are being sold for less than $100, its optimized for the more popular demands.
aasoror is offline  
post #520 of 1116 Old 05-22-2012, 11:23 AM
Member
 
whipdancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigspud View Post

seems pivos not up to spec for use with 2 year old point and shoot camera, will look for better media player.

I would say pivos has moved beyond that outdated spec.
whipdancer is offline  
post #521 of 1116 Old 05-22-2012, 12:49 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by whipdancer View Post

I would say pivos has moved beyond that outdated spec.

not at all 1185 isn't outdated in any way (its still challenging to find a chip that would cost less and offer more), it services well for Pivos (and other providers) as cheap entry level boxes.

Speaking of moving forward, Pivos has created a landing page for the XIOS DS.
http://www.pivosgroup.com/#!vstc3=products/vstc0=xios
aasoror is offline  
post #522 of 1116 Old 05-22-2012, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

not at all 1185 isn't outdated in any way (its still challenging to find a chip that would cost less and offer more), it services well for Pivos (and other providers) as cheap entry level boxes.

Speaking of moving forward, Pivos has created a landing page for the XIOS DS.
http://www.pivosgroup.com/#!vstc3=products/vstc0=xios

Nice looking unit. Hope if comes in black because it would look weird among my black ht equipment.

Hopefully, bitstreaming of HD audio will not be a problem.
audit13 is offline  
post #523 of 1116 Old 05-22-2012, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Has anyone tried installing Mede8er's 500X2/450X2 firmware on the AIOS? Curious if it would work.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #524 of 1116 Old 05-22-2012, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

Nice looking unit. Hope if comes in black because it would look weird among my black ht equipment.

Hopefully, bitstreaming of HD audio will not be a problem.

No black (yet).
I will be able to confirm bitstreaming shortly as finally upgraded my receiver.
aasoror is offline  
post #525 of 1116 Old 05-22-2012, 01:04 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Has anyone tried installing Mede8er's 500X2/450X2 firmware on the AIOS? Curious if it would work.

Nope, wont install.
The whole firmware is AES encoded so one can't even go on and try unlocking it.
aasoror is offline  
post #526 of 1116 Old 05-22-2012, 01:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Figured that, but thought I'd ask. Thanks.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #527 of 1116 Old 05-22-2012, 04:37 PM
Member
 
bigspud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

Its not specs related (45mbps AVC streams runs butter smooth on the AIOS in M2TS containers, which is the bluray container and the default for more recent camcorders out there), mov is one of the most resource consuming containers out there, its not that surprising its being "phased out" as a recording formate for many camcorders out there.

There is a reason these boxes are being sold for less than $100, its optimized for the more popular demands.

i see, mov container is no good.
found canon camera hack on utube, to reduce 1080 bitrate.
bigspud is offline  
post #528 of 1116 Old 05-22-2012, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigspud View Post

i see, mov container is no good.
found canon camera hack on utube, to reduce 1080 bitrate.

Good to know, keep us updated about your results.
aasoror is offline  
post #529 of 1116 Old 05-23-2012, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Also try MKV container. I've had success with my 1080p/60 camcorder clips playing back fine after demuxing, then remuxing via MKVMerge as MKV's.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #530 of 1116 Old 05-23-2012, 09:52 AM
Member
 
bigspud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Also try MKV container. I've had success with my 1080p/60 camcorder clips playing back fine after demuxing, then remuxing via MKVMerge as MKV's.

i just want to transfer movies and pics from camera to pivos, then watch them. re-encoding them is not an option.
bigspud is offline  
post #531 of 1116 Old 05-23-2012, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

No black (yet).
I will be able to confirm bitstreaming shortly as finally upgraded my receiver.

Cool. Keep us informed.
audit13 is offline  
post #532 of 1116 Old 05-23-2012, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigspud View Post

i just want to transfer movies and pics from camera to pivos, then watch them. re-encoding them is not an option.

Not suggesting you re-encode, simply that you might want to try MKV for the container. It works better for me for 1080p/60 camcorder files that otherwise don't play in some streamers.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #533 of 1116 Old 05-23-2012, 01:14 PM
Member
 
bigspud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Not suggesting you re-encode, simply that you might want to try MKV for the container. It works better for me for 1080p/60 camcorder files that otherwise don't play in some streamers.

so how do i get the .MOV video into a mkv container without using a computer?
bigspud is offline  
post #534 of 1116 Old 05-24-2012, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Moved from an Argosy 335T to the Pivos AIOS. Liking it so far. Way more flexible. The Argosy is a good unit, rock solid, just not up to date on interface and flexibility. The Linux kernel enables lots of possibilities.

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #535 of 1116 Old 05-25-2012, 05:14 PM
Member
 
GeorgeM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLBENEDICT View Post

So far, so good after a week of owning my AIOS.
Setting up the jukebox / moviesheets wasn't too difficult and looks really good.

.

I just installed R-19. How did you set up Jukebox for movies. My movies are on a PC.
GeorgeM is offline  
post #536 of 1116 Old 05-25-2012, 08:39 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeorgeM View Post

I just installed R-19. How did you set up Jukebox for movies. My movies are on a PC.

Check here for a how too (little involved though)
http://www.pivosforums.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=299
aasoror is offline  
post #537 of 1116 Old 05-30-2012, 01:44 PM
Member
 
blunt_eastwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is on sale today at newegg for $66 ($94-$9 discount-$20 MIR + FS).

Do you guys think it's worth it at that price?

The $9 discount expires today 5/30.
blunt_eastwood is offline  
post #538 of 1116 Old 05-31-2012, 12:25 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by blunt_eastwood View Post

This is on sale today at newegg for $66 ($94-$9 discount-$20 MIR + FS).

Do you guys think it's worth it at that price?

The $9 discount expires today 5/30.

I hope you jumped on it, I think the lowest price to date was $60
aasoror is offline  
post #539 of 1116 Old 06-07-2012, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
The remote has been updated (shipping for some time already),

aiosirs.th.jpg

Glow in the dark buttons, and WAY BETTER button placement.

Pivos will start an replacement initiative soon where customers only pay for shipping and handling to replace their "non-defective" old remotes (only one free replacement per box is allowed though).
aasoror is offline  
post #540 of 1116 Old 06-07-2012, 06:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
vega509's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Northeast
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 34
aasoror, will Pivos contact us, or do we have to request the remote?

thanks
vega509 is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off