Pivos AIOS HD Media Center: The *Semiofficial* Thread - Page 38 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1111 of 1128 Old 05-06-2014, 12:34 PM
Member
 
leo5111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what format does the aios format a internal HD into? trying to see if i can pull drive out of aios put it in pc and convert it to GPT without losing my movies but not sure if that can be done
leo5111 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1112 of 1128 Old 05-06-2014, 01:06 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by leo5111 View Post

what format does the aios format a internal HD into? trying to see if i can pull drive out of aios put it in pc and convert it to GPT without losing my movies but not sure if that can be done
You can't switch from MBR to GPT without losing your data.
If you need to backup, then if you formatted the HDD inside your AIOS using the stock firmware it will be formatted in NTFS.
If you have used the ext3 option in the semiofficial firmwares then it will be in EXT3.
If you want to backup the HDD I suggest you just connect the AIOS via the blue USB 3.0 data port and back it up that. Additionally, you can also switch to GPT without moving the HDD out of the AIOS (using something like partition wizard).
aasoror is offline  
post #1113 of 1128 Old 05-06-2014, 01:09 PM
Member
 
leo5111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok thanks smile.gif
leo5111 is offline  
post #1114 of 1128 Old 05-31-2014, 05:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,569
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Wanted to thank aasoror for all his hard work. I am leaving the PIVOS family of products. Looks like their more powerful quad core units not arriving even this year. Great stuff on paper but vapor ware is simply that, vapor.

Would like to have stayed simply because of aasoror. But this is just too long of a delay even with his excellent support.

As they say in the movies,

"So long and thanks for all the fish"

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #1115 of 1128 Old 07-06-2014, 12:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have had a pivos Aios since it came out and wondered if the ds gives you more or better content or if there is something new out there that is better than this. Mine works good but some of the good sites are either removed or don,t work any longer. I have been a member for about 2 years here but use the other site most of the time but haven't seen any change since Jan 2014 and wondered if they have gave up on it.I got fast internet but getting a lot of 404s lately so maybe time to upgrade to something better.thanks guysgod bless
Charles D Norman is offline  
post #1116 of 1128 Old 07-06-2014, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I think the Aios is pretty much at the end of it's life now, they have moved on to the Android based media player things with quad core CPU's and stuff more like a mini tablet/TV/media player thing and I think there are quite a few good ones out there, I know Pivos makes one and aasoror helps support it but not sure how much it does like this guy, and how much is more like a good tablet that does everything.
I still use mine to play all my networked TV captures and things, plus some of the extras still work when I get bored and hunt around for things.
Don't think they updated the firmware for a while but hope they do at least fix bugs and maybe still add things once and a while.
I might do some research and get one of those android based units when enough money pops up and see how they do, I really like my Tablet and everything it can do for free.
Dartman is online now  
post #1117 of 1128 Old 07-16-2014, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mastermaybe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7,448
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 211
I have to say- after owning a half dozen different media players- some in excess of $200- I have to say that my only regret is I didn't build a $170 NUC like I am now to run xbmc sooner. Would've saved me a lot of time and money, lol. Beautiful. Reliable. Flexible. Here to stay.

What else can you ask for?

Good luck men.

James
mastermaybe is offline  
post #1118 of 1128 Old 03-05-2015, 10:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
ScottS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: On the East Coast
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Question Is Pivos out of business?

Hey guys, is Pivos out of business? Their website (www.pivosgroup.com) and forums (www.pivosforums.com) were up yesterday, but they're down today.

Bummer. I was just trying to setup a media server for my Aios.
ScottS is offline  
post #1119 of 1128 Old 03-05-2015, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Vishwa Somayaji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Edmonton,Alberta Canada
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Works fine for me. Might have been a temporary maintenance related shutdown.
Vishwa Somayaji is offline  
post #1120 of 1128 Old 03-05-2015, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
ScottS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: On the East Coast
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yup. They're back up for me as well. That's a relief!
ScottS is offline  
post #1121 of 1128 Old 03-05-2015, 03:45 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottS View Post
Hey guys, is Pivos out of business? Their website (www.pivosgroup.com) and forums (www.pivosforums.com) were up yesterday, but they're down today.

Bummer. I was just trying to setup a media server for my Aios.
lol .. no Pivos is not out business (yet)
aasoror is offline  
post #1122 of 1128 Old 03-05-2015, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 3,848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 471 Post(s)
Liked: 199
^^ yet?

Al
Al Sherwood is offline  
post #1123 of 1128 Old 03-06-2015, 12:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Vishwa Somayaji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Edmonton,Alberta Canada
Posts: 370
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Good to see aasoror back here. He has been very helpful over the years. If he says no, then it is a no!
Vishwa Somayaji is offline  
post #1124 of 1128 Old 04-01-2015, 08:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
ScottS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: On the East Coast
Posts: 545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Does any know if I want to stream movies to my Aios from a (Windows) server, does that server need to provide the data via an NFS? If not, what other options do I have?

Thanks,
Scott
ScottS is offline  
post #1125 of 1128 Old Today, 07:26 PM
Member
 
RomanB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Blinking screen / network problems - please advise!
My AIOS has stopped seeing my mediaserver PC on my network (but sees other PC and notebook just fine!) so I flashed in with xtraios. It works fine with the network, but now the TV occasionally blinks to black and back. I remember there was similar problem when I bought the AIOS, and it was solved by setting something like "10-bit" or "true color" option to off, or something like that. But I don't see that option anywhere in Xtraios settings.

Anyone knows where it is, or what else can be done? It's definitely not the HDMI cable, as it works fine with semi-official firmware, it just has network problems...
RomanB is offline  
post #1126 of 1128 Old Today, 07:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Could the occasional black screen be due a defective HDMI cable or handshaking problem?
audit13 is offline  
post #1127 of 1128 Old Today, 08:12 PM
Member
 
RomanB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post
Could the occasional black screen be due a defective HDMI cable or handshaking problem?
It looks like it, but it works just fine with the other firmware...
RomanB is offline  
post #1128 of 1128 Old Today, 10:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have a few cables that I got cheap that will work fine with one unit, and not work or have issues like your seeing with another so might be worth trying any other cable JUST in case.
I also have a few cables and a HDMI switch for sure that work nicely with 1080i, but start dropping the screen and other issues when they get a 1080p feed.
Especially with the switch if I take the unit that has the 1080p problems and plug it directly into my TV then it works fine, even with most of my cables.
I always try to get the better quality thicker gauge ones with the RF chokes on both ends, they seem to be better made and have less issues.
Dartman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off