Pivos AIOS HD Media Center: The *Semiofficial* Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 1117 Old 01-29-2012, 01:47 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

My Aios is connected to my avr. Under the Audio -->hdmi--> I can choose 2.1ch, 5.1ch/7.1ch, or multi-ch. I see no options for raw.

You are still under XtrAIOS I guess
My comments were about 2.8.3.2 (semi) official
aasoror is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 1117 Old 01-29-2012, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

You are still under XtrAIOS I guess
My comments were about 2.8.3.2 (semi) official

Yes, I am under XtraAIOS. I downloaded the aasoror.XtrAIOS-3.0.11.rar file. Should I be using something else? Would other firmware correct this issue?
audit13 is offline  
post #93 of 1117 Old 01-29-2012, 01:53 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

Yes, I am under XtraAIOS. Should I be using something else? Would other firmware correct this issue?

I wouldn't think you will get different results all firmwares are based on the same Realtek SDK at the end of the day, its some options are built up differently.

If you have the time try the official 2.8.3.2 or the semiofficial R15 audio options are organized as I detailed above, not sure if the end result would be any different though.
aasoror is offline  
post #94 of 1117 Old 01-29-2012, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

I wouldn't think you will get different results all firmwares are based on the same Realtek SDK at the end of the day, its some options are built up differently.

If you have the time try the official 2.8.3.2 or the semiofficial R15 audio options are organized as I detailed above, not sure if the end result would be any different though.

Do you mean the 2.8.3.2 Beta firmware from the Pivos forum located here: http://www.pivosforums.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=6 ?

In regards to your previous question re HD audio from mkv files, I am able to confirm that, with the 3.0.11 firmware, my avr indicates that it is receiving DTS-HD MA and TrueHD from mkv files.
audit13 is offline  
post #95 of 1117 Old 01-29-2012, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Thanks for the confirmation audit.
For the AIOS 2.8.3.2 either go from the official firmware you linked or try the semiofficial from here http://www.pivosforums.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=250
Would be great if you can report back the Audio testing results on the 2.8.3.2
TIA

Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

Do you mean the 2.8.3.2 Beta firmware from the Pivos forum located here: http://www.pivosforums.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=6 ?

In regards to your previous question re HD audio from mkv files, I am able to confirm that, with the 3.0.11 firmware, my avr indicates that it is receiving DTS-HD MA and TrueHD from mkv files.

aasoror is offline  
post #96 of 1117 Old 01-29-2012, 02:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

Thanks for the confirmation audit.
For the AIOS 2.8.3.2 either go from the official firmware you linked or try the semiofficial from here http://www.pivosforums.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=250
Would be great if you can report back the Audio testing results on the 2.8.3.2
TIA

With the official 2.8.3.2, I get the same results as with XtrAIOS 3.0.11.

Under hdmi audio wIth the official firmware, I can choose raw, lpcm, or multi lpcm. Raw sends 2.0 pcm to my avr from a 5.1 uncompressed soundtrack. TrueHD and DTS-HD MA are fine with raw.

I'll test the semi-official and report back.
audit13 is offline  
post #97 of 1117 Old 01-29-2012, 02:54 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

With the official 2.8.3.2, I get the same results as with XtrAIOS 3.0.11.

Under hdmi audio wIth the official firmware, I can choose raw, lpcm, or multi lpcm. Raw sends 2.0 pcm to my avr from a 5.1 uncompressed soundtrack. TrueHD and DTS-HD MA are fine with raw.

I'll test the semi-official and report back.

So MKV DTS-HD MA bitstreaming works under 2.8.3.2 ?! Thanks for confirming this
aasoror is offline  
post #98 of 1117 Old 01-29-2012, 03:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

So MKV DTS-HD MA bitstreaming works under 2.8.3.2 ?! Thanks for confirming this

Glad to help.

Just tried the semi-official and I have the same issues with 5.1 channel uncompressed audio.

I've decided to go back to XtrAIOS 3.0.11 because I am having major hdmi handshaking problems with the other firmware. Everytime I want to change something using the other firmware, my tv drops the signal and I get the dreaded "no signal" icon
audit13 is offline  
post #99 of 1117 Old 01-29-2012, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

Just tried the semi-official and I have the same issues with 5.1 channel uncompressed audio.

So just the recap the issue is you need to manually set output to Multi-LPCM else you will get stereo output on any other setting. right ?
aasoror is offline  
post #100 of 1117 Old 01-29-2012, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

So just the recap the issue is you need to manually set output to Multi-LPCM else you will get stereo output on any other setting. right ?

Here's a more detailed recap of the audio issue using XtrAIOS 3.0.11:

1) if the the input audio signal = 5.1/7.1 uncompressed hi-res audio, then:

a) hdmi audio set to 5.1ch/7.1ch sends 2.0 pcm signal to avr;

b) hdmi audio set to multi-lpcm sends 5.1/7.1 multichannel pcm to avr;

2) if the the input audio signal = 5.1/7.1 DTS-HD MA or TrueHD, then:

a) hdmi audio set to 5.1ch/7.1ch bitstreams DTS-HD MA or TrueHD to avr;

b) hdmi audio set to multi-lpcm sends 2.0 to avr.

Same results were obtained using a 5.1 channel flac file as well.

Again, the same results were obtained using the official and semi-official firmware. I think hdmi audio raw in the official and semi-official = 5.1ch/7.1ch in XtrAIOS 3.0.11.

There aren't many BRs with 5.1/7.1 uncompressed audio tracks but they do exist. Underworld, Underworld Evolution, and Replacement Killers have 5.1 uncompressed audio tracks.

Another thing I found using the official/semi official firmware was that pressing the skip forward (not fast forward) on my Harmony skips to the next chapter marker in the movie. With XtrAIOS 3.0.11, pressing skip forward (not fast forward) on my Harmony skips to the next movie on my drive.

The Pivos was able to play 24/192 2.0 and 24/96 5.1 flac files with no problem, unlike the PBO.
Hope this information is helpful.
audit13 is offline  
post #101 of 1117 Old 01-29-2012, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by audit13 View Post

There aren't many BRs with 5.1/7.1 uncompressed audio tracks but they do exist. Underworld, Underworld Evolution, and Replacement Killers have 5.1 uncompressed audio tracks.

But doesn't 1.b fixes this issue ? I am sorry audio isn't exactly my department.

Regardless this is excellent feedback, at least we know bitstreaming works in MKV container.

Now to figure out while HDMI output just have RAW and LPCM on my box.
aasoror is offline  
post #102 of 1117 Old 01-29-2012, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

But doesn't 1.b fixes this issue ? I am sorry audio isn't exactly my department.

Regardless this is excellent feedback, at least we know bitstreaming works in MKV container.

Now to figure out while HDMI output just have RAW and LPCM on my box.

Yes, 1.b fixes the issue.

I hoped that selecting 5.1ch/7.1ch in the Pivos would be like selecting Raw in my PBO. When set to raw in my PBO, the audio is passed to my avr without being altered by the PBO; that is, uncompressed 5.1/7.1, DTS-HD MA, and TrueHD are automatically sent to my avr without me having to go in and switch hdmi audio from raw to multi-lpcm.
audit13 is offline  
post #103 of 1117 Old 01-31-2012, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 592
After several days of trouble shooting, and Aasoror helping me out with pretty much every step, I have completed NFS Shares and the Jukebox for the AIOS.

I want to say that I am very please and happy with AIOS. If I didn't have a Mede8er in my living room already, I would have the AIOS. For $89.99 dollars it has been the best media player I've got for that kind of $$$. However, you will have to put some work into it to make it work, but it is doable and a lot easier than my ex-A300 I used to have.

It plays all my MKV, M2TS and ISO's files without issues (ISO are only SD TV Shows).

I am posting some pics of my final results.
LL

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #104 of 1117 Old 01-31-2012, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Another pic. It wouldn't let me upload the pics together since they've got the same name.
LL

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #105 of 1117 Old 01-31-2012, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 592
This is one of my wife's favorites
LL

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #106 of 1117 Old 01-31-2012, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 592
I used ThumbGen to do the scrapping for my movies. I should mention ThumbGen was 100% accurate after scraping my HD media. However, I did go into ThumbGen after doing the initial scraping and change some stuff around (background image) to my liking.

The other good thing is that my Mede8er can use ThumbGen as well, so I don't have to use two different scrapers/jukeboxes. So, what I see the same art in both media players

Now, to the sad part, I am running out of storage space. So, I have decided to build an unRaid server. The parts should start coming in today. So, I will have to re-do my shares after I complete the server, which shouldn't be anything different from what I did before with the help of Aasoror!

So, Aasoror I might be bugging you again

P.S. I updated to the new R16 FW, and I like the new blue UI. I still hate that horrible crackling sound whenever I move the selection thingie. I had to turn that off. Other than that excellent job!

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #107 of 1117 Old 01-31-2012, 09:13 AM
Senior Member
 
djc11369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Any issues with forced subtitles with this player such as in Avatar, Rise of the Planet of the Apes, etc. or seamless branch BD's if in an ISO structure?

I must say this player is looking alot better than it did when released.
djc11369 is offline  
post #108 of 1117 Old 01-31-2012, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Looks great GusGus748s. aasoror, I assume you can set up a jukebox for SMB share as well? Can you use YAMJ instead of ThumbGen? I've never used the latter.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #109 of 1117 Old 01-31-2012, 10:25 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

So, Aasoror I might be bugging you again

No problem GusGus

Quote:
Originally Posted by djc11369 View Post

Any issues with forced subtitles with this player such as in Avatar, Rise of the Planet of the Apes, etc. or seamless branch BD's if in an ISO structure?

Dartman has addressed Avatar BR ISO earlier in this thread.
For seamless branch it will work find on compatible menus (non BD 2.0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Looks great GusGus748s. aasoror, I assume you can set up a jukebox for SMB share as well? Can you use YAMJ instead of ThumbGen? I've never used the latter.

GusGus media were on his shared Win folders so technically SMB shares
The scrapper isn't important as long as the output files are kept consistent (naming wise).
aasoror is offline  
post #110 of 1117 Old 01-31-2012, 10:27 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Now that GusGus mentioned it ..

1/30/2012: AIOS_AASOROR-R16_2.8.3.2
Bug fixes:
- Fix weather KSA
- Replace "TureHD" with "TrueHD" in setup menus.
- Replace "Don't Care" in "DD TrueHD" setup options with "Default"

Extras:
- Remove redundant skin files
- Add weather for Canadian cities starting with letter V.
- Add picasa background*
- Add weather background*
- Add YT "Public" label for uploads and favorites.
- Include full YT region localizations (25 countries).
- Add BlueSteel* home icons and home menu.
- Add the previous FilmReel to the custom backgrounds selectable from setup menus (Spring background).

*: Credit SirReal

Download the file from here.

aasoror is offline  
post #111 of 1117 Old 01-31-2012, 10:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by aasoror View Post

GusGus media were on his shared Win folders so technically SMB shares
The scrapper isn't important as long as the output files are kept consistent (naming wise).

Good to hear about SMB. The reason I asked about YAMJ is that I already use it for my PopBox v8. The way I've set-up my movies is each title in its own folder with poster, fanart and NFO. TV shows are the same way with individual season folders. Basically, what I have works well with YAMJ and XBMC.

So, the question is whether I can use what I have with your custom firmware & the AIOS? If so, how?

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #112 of 1117 Old 01-31-2012, 11:48 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Good to hear about SMB. The reason I asked about YAMJ is that I already use it for my PopBox v8. The way I've set-up my movies is each title in its own folder with poster, fanart and NFO. TV shows are the same way with individual season folders. Basically, what I have works well with YAMJ and XBMC.

So, the question is whether I can use what I have with your custom firmware & the AIOS? If so, how?

The whole customization requires 5 files per title.

The following are built into the firmware and needed for the cover and poster modes and can't be edited.

poster.jpg
folder.jpg

The rest are used by the jukebox and can be modified to whatever when the jukebox it being built.

sheet.png
wall.png
moviename.info

Additionally the first (ordered alphabetically) image will be displayed in "thumbnail" view (so the I am creating an additional "0folder.jpg" file for that).
aasoror is offline  
post #113 of 1117 Old 01-31-2012, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Brajesh,

I was using YAMJ as well because I used to own a PCH A-300 and a Mede8er, and both of them worked with YAMJ. However, after setting up the AIOS with ThumbGen, returning the A300 and finding out that my Mede8er can also use ThumbGen, I decided to use it instead.

The other thing I've found is that ThumbGen was 100% accurate with all of the rips I've scrapped with it. As for YAMJ....well lets just said that English wasn't the primary language among other things. So, it didn't work well for me.

However, almost like 90% of the art that I had from YAMJ would show up on the AIOS. Like Aasoror said, the file format and naming is what matters. I had all my movies as "name (year)," and it worked fine.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #114 of 1117 Old 01-31-2012, 12:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Thanks, that's interesting. Is moviename.info basically like an NFO file as used by YAMJ, XBMC, etc.? Is sheet.png the entire details page, or just fanart? What about wall.png? Just trying to understand ThumbGen vs. YAMJ/XBMC. Maybe I can just copy/rename some files to make it work.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #115 of 1117 Old 01-31-2012, 01:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Gus, do you have any movies or TV shows that are not in imdb, thetvdb, etc. where metadata is scraped from? This is where custom NFO's help with YAMJ and XBMC. Otherwise, you're right that just naming the media files correctly should work with any scraper.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #116 of 1117 Old 01-31-2012, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Thanks, that's interesting. Is moviename.info basically like an NFO file as used by YAMJ, XBMC, etc.? Is sheet.png the entire details page, or just fanart? What about wall.png? Just trying to understand ThumbGen vs. YAMJ/XBMC. Maybe I can just copy/rename some files to make it work.

Yeah, you can create a NFO file with ThumbGen. They are similar. Mine has the poster.jpg, folder.jpg and a wall.png file. However, the folder.jpg and post.jpg files are the ones I use since it has all the information on it.

Just like the pics I've posted. That's what I get on the screen. I know when I used to use YAMJ, and I had to manually alter any of the files for example the wall.png, it was a combination of files. With ThumgGen is just one. I'm not sure if this helps or not.

I guess not a combination of files, but layered...

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #117 of 1117 Old 01-31-2012, 01:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,725
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I may just order the AIOS and give all this a whirl, thanks. Was waiting for Damian's Mede8er review, but I already know its jukebox doesn't support TV shows, only movies. I'm guessing ThumbGen/AIOS is only movies too, but at least its quite a bit cheaper.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #118 of 1117 Old 01-31-2012, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Gus, do you have any movies or TV shows that are not in imdb, thetvdb, etc. where metadata is scraped from? This is where custom NFO's help with YAMJ and XBMC. Otherwise, you're right that just naming the media files correctly should work with any scraper.

I haven't had to use custom NFO's with ThumbGen. I pretty much tell ThumbGen what to scrape, and it does it for me. I choose to do the manual option, it will show you what folder, poster, wall art it locatedg, and you can change it if you want. If not you just tell it to go to the next movie.

Or you can leave it automatic like YAMJ and just let it do its thing till its done scrapping everything.

If you go to ThumbGen website, they've got how to's. Also, google ThumbGen to Mede8er, and this will show pictures and steps on how it works. It pretty much similar to YAMJ, except better...at least in my opinion.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #119 of 1117 Old 01-31-2012, 01:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

I may just order the AIOS and give all this a whirl, thanks. Was waiting for Damian's Mede8er review, but I already know its jukebox doesn't support TV shows, only movies. I'm guessing ThumbGen/AIOS is only movies too, but at least its quite a bit cheaper.

I believe you can make ThumbGen work with TV shows and Mede8ers. That's my next project. Right now, I am getting anxious to get my unRaid server parts so I can star building it

Also AIOS only supports full menu TV show for SD Movies. So, I got lucky since my TV shows are DVDs. So, I just did ISO's for all of them.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #120 of 1117 Old 01-31-2012, 01:35 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
aasoror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 679
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Thanks, that's interesting. Is moviename.info basically like an NFO file as used by YAMJ, XBMC, etc.? Is sheet.png the entire details page, or just fanart? What about wall.png? Just trying to understand ThumbGen vs. YAMJ/XBMC. Maybe I can just copy/rename some files to make it work.

I am sorry its .nfo not .info so yes, its the same xml sheet that has the movie info.

The sheets are just info/fanart sheets for the jukebox menus .. look at the image in OP.
aasoror is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off