DVD File Format Question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 01-25-2012, 02:51 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings AVS forum - I'm new at this and I have a basic question. I want to rip my DVD's to stream from a media server (yet to be built) - What format is best for that? I've ripped several to .avi and they play well on the computer but I'm wondering if I should go to something else for the big screen. Thanks in advanced for any advice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 01-25-2012, 03:45 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 215
2 questions to answer:
1) How much space do you want a DVD to consume on HDD?
2) What format(s) will your device be able to handle?

If space is not a primary consideration, then a full-sized ISO or VIDEO_TS folder is the ticket. Simple and fast, and it preserves all DVD content, menus, extras, etc.

If space is an issue, then you can do several different things. The MPEG-2 (VOB files) can simply be put into an MKV container with original audio. This is a "movie only" approach and eliminates all other content on the disc. The main title can also be converted to MPEG-4 and put into a MKV container, again with original audio. This consumes a lot of time and CPU resources since the conversion is slow. Other formats are certainly possible, like MOV (Apple).

For the "big screen", the best option is one that does not degrade video quality, such as ISO or VIDEO_TS folders.
post #3 of 7 Old 01-25-2012, 04:40 PM

Liked: 22
For streaming, the simplest thing to do is use the DVD native MPEG-2 as your file format. It's not necessary to use proprietary container formats like AVI; most software reads MPEG-2 just fine.