*Official* Pioneer N-50 Network Audio Player Thread - Page 13 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 383 Old 01-27-2015, 12:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have tried to turn off the firewall and it doesn't seem to be anything wrong with the mac address. Didn't help.
Maybe something with the ISP. I give up for now.

If I ever find the problem I'll write it here.

Thanks for your help!
dizzy1024 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 383 Old 02-01-2015, 01:06 AM
Senior Member
 
67 - 427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does anybody know if the new Pioneer N 50A or N 70 streamers that are on the pioneer Europe site will be coming to the US?
67 - 427 is offline  
post #363 of 383 Old 02-05-2015, 06:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi there, I recently bought the N50 and am having server connection issues.

I have wired the N50 directly to my Cisco EPC 3925 Modem. The cable works fine when it goes to my PC and xbox one. But when I plug back into the N50, the light on the modem goes orange (not green), and the display on the N50 says server error.

I'm a little lost, have gone through many pages online. No answers...

Wondering if anyone can share their experience or give me a hand

Many thanks
chrisgareth is offline  
post #364 of 383 Old 02-06-2015, 03:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Cebolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Hi

I think the orange/amber led on the Cisco EPC 3925 modem/router is just to tell you that the N-50 has connected at the lower speed of up to 100Mbps (as opposed to the full speed of up to 1000Mbps with the green led). 100Mbps is the fastest the N-50 can go via ethernet, so this should actually be ok.

When does the N-50 display the 'Server Error' message?
What are all the Setup>System Info values/settings on your N-50, eg, Network State, MAC, IP, DHCP, Release ID, etc?

John

Last edited by Cebolla; 02-06-2015 at 03:23 PM.
Cebolla is offline  
post #365 of 383 Old 02-06-2015, 03:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Cebolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by dizzy1024 View Post
I have tried to turn off the firewall and it doesn't seem to be anything wrong with the mac address. Didn't help.
Maybe something with the ISP. I give up for now.

If I ever find the problem I'll write it here.

Thanks for your help!
Sorry you still haven't sorted it out. Please do let us know if you resolve this and how.
Cebolla is offline  
post #366 of 383 Old 03-04-2015, 02:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cebolla View Post
Hi cmgam,

It could be the UPnP/DLNA media server application that you are using that's causing the problem. Which one are you using, what version and where are you running it? It usually runs on the same device that the music files' storage drive is installed in (eg internal HDD) or connected to (eg USB HDD).

If your music files are stored on a computer or you can copy your hi-res music to one for a test, you could try the excellent free music dedicated UPnP media server, MinimServer, which should have no such problems:

John
Hi John

As I said, and after some emails and phone talks with Pioneer and as it was still under warranty, I sent it to the store where I bought it (FNAC).
After more than 30 days with no news from Pioneer , FNAC returned back the money so I ordered the new n-50A .
I hope that within 2/3 weeks I'll have it.
Thanks
Regards
cmgam is offline  
post #367 of 383 Old 04-04-2015, 11:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Volume Control (or Preamp?) - Signed up just to ask - Help!

Hi!

I signed up just to ask a very n00b question -- I just bought one of these online today (N-50) but can't figure out how to control the volume after skimming this entire thread and the manual...


My stereo 2.0 setup would be this:

MacBook Pro (2014) -> Airport Extreme (2014) -> Network Ethernet -> Pioneer N50 (Airplay Only) -> Musical Fidelity M1PWR -> Audioquest Rockefeller -> Paradigm Signature S2's.

Is there any way to physically control the volume output (there is no gain or volume switch on my power amp) via the Pioneer N50? Or do I just have to do it off my Macbook ( = more limitations)?


... or has anyone connected a preamp with success? And if so, how? I have a NuForce HDP headphone amp/dac/preamp which has a volume control, but the DAC chip in the NuForce isn't as good, defeating the purpose of having the Pioneer N-50.

P.S. - Just to confirm, the DAC in the N-50 is still being utilized via Airplay, correct? Or is just if you have a wired USB connection?

Apologies in advance for the dumb questions. I should shame myself.
broke-audiophile is offline  
post #368 of 383 Old 04-04-2015, 03:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Cebolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Hi broke-audiophile,

Yes, the N-50's DAC can be used for all its inputs, including the network streaming AirPlay & UPnP/DLNA, so not just the USB DAC input. Unfortunately, there's no preamp section in the Pioneer N-50, so no volume control. It's DAC output is designed for the 'traditional' components stack, so output to an attached preamp's or integrated amp's analogue line input.

Doesn't your NuForce HDP have an analogue line in, so by-passing its internal DAC and therefore direct access its preamp from the N-50 (ie uses the N-50's DAC, not the NuForce's)?

John

Last edited by Cebolla; 04-04-2015 at 03:54 PM.
Cebolla is offline  
post #369 of 383 Old 04-05-2015, 08:02 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cebolla View Post
Hi broke-audiophile,

Yes, the N-50's DAC can be used for all its inputs, including the network streaming AirPlay & UPnP/DLNA, so not just the USB DAC input. Unfortunately, there's no preamp section in the Pioneer N-50, so no volume control. It's DAC output is designed for the 'traditional' components stack, so output to an attached preamp's or integrated amp's analogue line input.

Doesn't your NuForce HDP have an analogue line in, so by-passing its internal DAC and therefore direct access its preamp from the N-50 (ie uses the N-50's DAC, not the NuForce's)?

John
Hi John,

Thanks for the quick answer -- given the reviews of the N50 I'm super excited to add it to my system! Yes I could do that with the HDP but it's a waste because the HDP has more functionalities.

Anyways, I think the answer is a $49 Schiit SYS Passive Preamp, more or less what you suggested doing with the HDP. Gonna need more interconnects though..

Thanks!!
broke-audiophile is offline  
post #370 of 383 Old 05-04-2015, 08:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmgam View Post
Hi John

As I said, and after some emails and phone talks with Pioneer and as it was still under warranty, I sent it to the store where I bought it (FNAC).
After more than 30 days with no news from Pioneer , FNAC returned back the money so I ordered the new n-50A .
I hope that within 2/3 weeks I'll have it.
Thanks
Regards
Can you use the new n-50A in USA? This is 220V! Can you purchase it in USA?
jgmdv is offline  
post #371 of 383 Old 05-04-2015, 08:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgmdv View Post
Can you use the new n-50A in USA? This is 220V! Can you purchase it in USA?
Hi

I don't know because I live in Europe.
Regards
cmgam
cmgam is offline  
post #372 of 383 Old 07-04-2015, 01:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
iOS 8.4 incompatbility

It looks like there is a serious incompatibility between the N-50, F/W version 1.038, and the AirPlay implementation in the iPhone/iPad iOS 8.4. Sending any signal over AirPlay from an iOS 8.4 device to the N-50 results in instant reboot of the N-50. Happens every time, there is no workaround, there is no way to send AirPlay data from iOS 8.4 to N-50. I've used these devices (iPad 3, iPhone 6) for a long time with the N-50, years in the case of the iPad. This failure showed up immediately upon updating to iOS. Both iOS devices can still send AirPlay data to other devices. Send to the N-50 and the N-50 reboots.

Anyone else seeing this?
dmitch77 is offline  
post #373 of 383 Old 07-08-2015, 09:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmitch77 View Post
Anyone else seeing this?
Same here.
First of all only my iPad3, failed.
Then after sync of 2 new Albums (ALAC) to my iPhone 5s, this one also fails.
The problem only occurs with local music from the iTunes Library on the iOS device.
Airplay with YouTube or Spotify still works. Airplay with third party players (Onkyo HF player) also works.
The problem also only appears with Apple formats (AAC, ALAC), MP3 still works.

To me it seems, that either iTunes or iOS has added some DRM-Information to the music, wich makes it impossible for the N-50 to playback. Thats annoying!

I have already contacted Pioneer Germany, but they said i was the first one with this problem and didn't have a solution so far.

p.s. I have not activated Apple Music
PBW_N50 is offline  
post #374 of 383 Old 07-14-2015, 09:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by PBW_N50 View Post
The problem also only appears with Apple formats (AAC, ALAC), MP3 still works.
Alas, here, even MP3s cause the N-50 to reboot.
dmitch77 is offline  
post #375 of 383 Old 07-14-2015, 01:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmitch77 View Post
Alas, here, even MP3s cause the N-50 to reboot.
Have you already tried an other music player?
I tried DJay, Ecoute and Onkyo HF Player. They all work fine with my music files, no reboot of the N-50.
So it seems to be a problem either with iTunes synchronization or with the Apple Music App.
I have opened a case at Apple support, but they did not have a solution so far.
PBW_N50 is offline  
post #376 of 383 Old 07-15-2015, 09:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by PBW_N50 View Post
Have you already tried an other music player?
No, I don't have any others. But several iPhones and and iPad running iOS 8.3 worked with the N-50 just fine. Clearly something changed in iOS 8.4. But rebooting is a rather unfriendly reaction on the part of the N-50. :-) Also note that iTunes has nothing to do with this. It's not in the loop when the failure occurs. It's iPhone directly to the N-50 via AirPlay.
dmitch77 is offline  
post #377 of 383 Old 07-26-2015, 02:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys im looking for a network player and i need your advice, mainly i will play flacs, mp3 and spotify, and my choises are pioneer n-50, the new n-50a and the last is olive one. Which one have better sound quality in this options?

Regards
fpizarroi is offline  
post #378 of 383 Old 08-05-2015, 12:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Ann Arbor, MI. USA
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
A brief question...

Can anyone tell me what the N50 can maintain as a database in terms of the number of tracks? I have to start replacing my TB Audiotron units (which have served me well), as I have breached the 'over 30,000 song' limit which is now causing odd behavior on them. In other words, when the N50 reads the directory and builds a database (I assume it does so for quick indexing) what is the limit of tracks that the N50 can support? I downloaded the manual but could not seem to find that in the specs.

I am interested in this but only if the limit is somewhere around 50,000 or 60,000 songs as I have no intention of slowing down my music collecting.

If anyone knows, I would appreciate it.

Thanks,

Mark
immersifi is offline  
post #379 of 383 Old 08-05-2015, 03:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Cebolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Hi Mark,

Unfortunately, not so brief answer.

The N-50, in common with most other UPnP/DLNA supporting network audio players/streamers/renderers, does not maintain the music library database (linking to the network available stored music file tracks). That is the job of the UPnP/DLNA media server, running on a different device on the network (eg, computer, NAS, etc). All the N-50 gets presented with is the relatively few tracks that are contained in one lowest level music category subfolder from the music library, if you are using its own app/remote control/buttons on the box. If instead you use a third party UPnP/DLNA controller app, the N-50 gets presented with even less, ONE track - the current track that it's instructed to play by the UPnP controller app.

Hence the reason why you couldn't find the answer in the N-50's specs, as it entirely depends on the UPnP media server you are using with it. Most decent UPnP media servers should certainly far exceed that ~60,000 music file/track limit you're looking for.
For example, the excellent free music dedicated MinimServer UPnP media server's limit is expressed in terms of the storage drive's filing system folders containing the music file tracks - 65,000 folders. So if you have ripped one storage folder per CD, that's 65,000 CDs worth! See:
http://forum.minimserver.com/showthread.php?tid=431

The UPnP/DLNA media server application usually runs on the same network device that has direct access to the storage drive containing the music files. Exactly what device are you currently using on the network to store & supply your music files? It will most likely determine what UPnP media server you can use.

John

Last edited by Cebolla; 08-05-2015 at 03:26 PM.
Cebolla is offline  
post #380 of 383 Old Yesterday, 12:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
DSD support for N-50-K

Hello guys! I own N-50-K and I like the product. Today I found that there is a Pioneer product which is very similar by functions to N-50 but with DSD support on board (N-50A). I thought if these products are so similar, can it be possible to activate DSD support in N-50 by flashing a firmware for N-50A into N-50? How the DSD support is implemented in 50A - is it just some addition in firmware or a hardware support?
Let me know if some of you have such knowledge. Thanks, Dmitry
Dmitry Frolov is online now  
post #381 of 383 Old Today, 01:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Cebolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Hi Dmitry,

Unfortunately the two streamers use totally different DAC chips from different manufacturers: Sabre32 ESS9011 in the N-50A and AKM's AK4480 in the N-50. So would definitely not advise flashing the N-50A's firmware into the N-50!

The AK4480 DAC chip does actually support DSD, but this was never implemented by Pioneer for the N-50. Shame they didn't do so, as I believe it's the same DAC chip used by Pioneer's PD-50 SACD player, which can play DSD files from its USB memory/HDD input.

You could try using the UPnP/DLNA media server to trasnscode the DSD file to PCM file format while network streaming instead. For example, the excellent free MinimServer UPnP media server can transcode dsf type DSD files to PCM in wav file format, by using its optional MinimStreamer component:
http://minimserver.com/index.html

John
Dmitry Frolov likes this.
Cebolla is offline  
post #382 of 383 Old Today, 01:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hi John,
thank you very much for detailed answer. It's not a big deal if I never get DSD support in N50, because my musical collection is in flac in 99 percent.
And yes, I use minim during an year and like it too. It is installed on my wd cloud, configured for my needs and works great.
Cebolla likes this.
Dmitry Frolov is online now  
post #383 of 383 Old Today, 02:39 PM
Senior Member
 
Cebolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Wow, definitely a MinimServer expert user! The WD My Cloud install of MinimServer is one of the most complicated of those that are possible.
Cebolla is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Pioneer Network Audio Player N 50



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off