good wireless hd setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 35 Old 02-03-2012, 07:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so im looking to stream HD wirelessly from about 20 ft (or less)..from my computer room..where i have comcast..to my 50 inch panasonic hd/3d tv. ill need a good dongle as well..any recomendations? thanks in advance
1python1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 Old 02-03-2012, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Cat5e or Cat6 cable will do the trick.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #3 of 35 Old 02-03-2012, 09:34 AM
 
streamerlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

Cat5e or Cat6 cable will do the trick.

Hahahaha! That's EXACTLY what I was going to post!
For streaming HD, forget about wireless, really...
You will not be happy..
streamerlover is offline  
post #4 of 35 Old 02-03-2012, 06:48 PM
Member
 
travanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I can stream Bluray isos in Truehd wirelessly from my PC to my Dune player no problem over my WNDR3700 router and generic cheap Edimax 5ghz adapter. No problems at all.

Not sure why people say wireless can't stream HD?
travanx is offline  
post #5 of 35 Old 02-03-2012, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mayhem13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: nj
Posts: 3,958
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by travanx View Post

I can stream Bluray isos in Truehd wirelessly from my PC to my Dune player no problem over my WNDR3700 router and generic cheap Edimax 5ghz adapter. No problems at all.

Not sure why people say wireless can't stream HD?

Because it can't be done consistently. Sorry.
mayhem13 is offline  
post #6 of 35 Old 02-03-2012, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by streamerlover View Post

hahahaha! That's exactly what i was going to post!
For streaming hd, forget about wireless, really...
You will not be happy..

+1
blackssr is offline  
post #7 of 35 Old 02-03-2012, 08:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayhem13 View Post

because it can't be done consistently. Sorry.

+1
blackssr is offline  
post #8 of 35 Old 02-03-2012, 08:47 PM
 
streamerlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post

+1

+2! Although you KNOW I was waiting for the one guy who claims he CAN stream via wireless with no issues...
streamerlover is offline  
post #9 of 35 Old 02-03-2012, 09:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by streamerlover View Post

+2! Although you KNOW I was waiting for the one guy who claims he CAN stream via wireless with no issues...

I know huh! It would be nice if he would tell us how he rips his movies, because I know having a 30 gb 1080p movie it pretty much next to impossible to stream without any issues.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #10 of 35 Old 02-03-2012, 09:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Xylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Liecheinstein
Posts: 7,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1python1 View Post

so im looking to stream HD wirelessly from about 20 ft (or less)..from my computer room..where i have comcast..to my 50 inch panasonic hd/3d tv. ill need a good dongle as well..any recomendations? thanks in advance

It will take the energy of a black hole to power blu-ray wireless streaming.
Xylon is offline  
post #11 of 35 Old 02-03-2012, 11:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 28
oh no, not ANOTHER wireless HD thread.

20 ft is practically in the same room, any dongle difference is inconsequential.

So everybody said it. If u want consistent quality, go wired. If you are OK with the occasional drop out, stutter *maybe* and don't care to throw away the dongle if it doesn't work, try it out. The learning process maybe fun.
MrBobb is online now  
post #12 of 35 Old 02-04-2012, 03:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks...cant go underneath the house and i would have to get a 50 ft cable to route to the tv. thanks ill figure out something.
1python1 is offline  
post #13 of 35 Old 02-04-2012, 06:52 AM
 
streamerlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
a 50 ft cable is what like $10 nowadays?
GET THE CABLE! :-)
streamerlover is offline  
post #14 of 35 Old 02-04-2012, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
monoprice.com You are welcome!

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #15 of 35 Old 02-06-2012, 07:40 AM
Member
 
Kurtz9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by streamerlover View Post

a 50 ft cable is what like $10 nowadays?
GET THE CABLE! :-)

Yup.


Failing that, either 500mb powerline or MOCA will both likely give you better results than wifi will.
Kurtz9 is offline  
post #16 of 35 Old 02-08-2012, 02:18 PM
Newbie
 
thecableguy67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rocketfish makes a super high quality Wireless HD kit, which sells for $199 at Best Buy. This kit transmits in the 60GHz frequency range, so there is no concern about interference with 2.4 or 5 GHz networks. Also, the latency is less that 4ms, so you can use it with any type of source, including fast-action gaming. The 60GHz frequency allows for the full HDMI signal to be transmitted wirelessly with absolutely no signal compression or bit dropping - every bit of data is transmitted just as if the source was connected directly to the TV with a HDMI cable. The only downside of 60GHz is that the range is limited to about 30ft within the same room - does not travel well through walls; but sounds like that will not be an issue for you.

The kit comes with two 4ft HDMI cables, one to connect the receiver to and HDMI input on the TV, the other to connect one source device to the transmitter. The transmitter accommodates up to 4 HDMI source components, and an IR remote to switch from one input to another. The Rocketfish model number for this product is RF-WHD210, and the Best Buy sku number is 2893101.
thecableguy67 is offline  
post #17 of 35 Old 02-08-2012, 02:44 PM
Member
 
tonyjur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Altos Hills, California
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
`

Tony
tonyjur is offline  
post #18 of 35 Old 02-08-2012, 10:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 4,953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Wow - spend $199 instead of $4.95? Run the cable and have consistent quality and spend the other $194.05 on content.
Matt L is offline  
post #19 of 35 Old 02-09-2012, 01:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 28
This is completely uninformed of course but am afraid of being "bathed" in the room with 60ghz radio waves.
MrBobb is online now  
post #20 of 35 Old 02-09-2012, 06:31 AM
 
streamerlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecableguy67 View Post

Rocketfish makes a super high quality Wireless HD kit, which sells for $199 at Best Buy. This kit transmits in the 60GHz frequency range, so there is no concern about interference with 2.4 or 5 GHz networks. Also, the latency is less that 4ms, so you can use it with any type of source, including fast-action gaming. The 60GHz frequency allows for the full HDMI signal to be transmitted wirelessly with absolutely no signal compression or bit dropping - every bit of data is transmitted just as if the source was connected directly to the TV with a HDMI cable. The only downside of 60GHz is that the range is limited to about 30ft within the same room - does not travel well through walls; but sounds like that will not be an issue for you.

The kit comes with two 4ft HDMI cables, one to connect the receiver to and HDMI input on the TV, the other to connect one source device to the transmitter. The transmitter accommodates up to 4 HDMI source components, and an IR remote to switch from one input to another. The Rocketfish model number for this product is RF-WHD210, and the Best Buy sku number is 2893101.

This is interesting to me as I do use a wirless hdmi setup from my living room where my equipment is to my bedroom tv which is about 30ft away in the second story. I have been using the iTrio aka HDFLOW to transmit HDMI signals from the living room to the bedroom and wonder if this is based on similar architecture..


Ok, just found an open box unit on the bay for $50. Will give it a go and report in a new thread about how well it works..
streamerlover is offline  
post #21 of 35 Old 02-09-2012, 07:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
streamlover leave a link here to the new thread..thanks guys
1python1 is offline  
post #22 of 35 Old 02-13-2012, 11:22 AM
Newbie
 
thecableguy67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by streamerlover View Post

This is interesting to me as I do use a wirless hdmi setup from my living room where my equipment is to my bedroom tv which is about 30ft away in the second story. I have been using the iTrio aka HDFLOW to transmit HDMI signals from the living room to the bedroom and wonder if this is based on similar architecture..


Ok, just found an open box unit on the bay for $50. Will give it a go and report in a new thread about how well it works..

It will be interesting to hear how it worked for you, but keep in mind the 60GHz frequency does not go through walls, floors, etc. very well (if at all). Please post a link to the new thread here. The customer reviews on bestbuy.com are all very positive.
thecableguy67 is offline  
post #23 of 35 Old 02-14-2012, 02:45 PM
 
streamerlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecableguy67 View Post

It will be interesting to hear how it worked for you, but keep in mind the 60GHz frequency does not go through walls, floors, etc. very well (if at all). Please post a link to the new thread here. The customer reviews on bestbuy.com are all very positive.

I am aware of the limitation, but if it goes through one interior wall less than 20 feet away from the sending unit I will be happy! Will post up when it arrives
streamerlover is offline  
post #24 of 35 Old 02-26-2012, 04:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so i bought a netgear n600 wndr3700..this thing rocks! streams seamlessly..no dropped signals,no pixelating, no interference..ive streamed netflix 1080p without 1 hiccup and i have 2 pcs,a laptop and my printer all on the network. my 3d blue ray is wired to my tv through a hdmi cable..btw, my dongle was in the packaging from the tv,
a panny 50 inch st30

http://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-Wirele.../dp/B002HWRJY4

next up...roku 2 xs
1python1 is offline  
post #25 of 35 Old 02-27-2012, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Kurtz9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1python1 View Post

so i bought a netgear n600 wndr3700..this thing rocks! streams seamlessly..no dropped signals,no pixelating, no interference..ive streamed netflix 1080p without 1 hiccup and i have 2 pcs,a laptop and my printer all on the network. my 3d blue ray is wired to my tv through a hdmi cable..btw, my dongle was in the packaging from the tv,
a panny 50 inch st30

http://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-Wirele.../dp/B002HWRJY4

next up...roku 2 xs

FWIW Netflix 1080 is about 1/10th the bandwidth that "real" HD video like a full bluray ISO rip uses... so it's not surprising it works fine on wireless.

Max bitrate for a bluray disc is 54 mb/sec... which is why most wireless fails at this (since in real life most 802.11n doesn't get above 30-40 mb max for sustained throughput)

Netflix max bitrate for "HD" streaming is 4.8 mb/sec... which even older 802.11 G can do just fine.
Kurtz9 is offline  
post #26 of 35 Old 02-27-2012, 10:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtz9 View Post

FWIW Netflix 1080 is about 1/10th the bandwidth that "real" HD video like a full bluray ISO rip uses... so it's not surprising it works fine on wireless.

Max bitrate for a bluray disc is 54 mb/sec... which is why most wireless fails at this (since in real life most 802.11n doesn't get above 30-40 mb max for sustained throughput)

Netflix max bitrate for "HD" streaming is 4.8 mb/sec... which even older 802.11 G can do just fine.

Ditto. You can stream Vudu HD sound/video as well due to their lower bitrate.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #27 of 35 Old 02-28-2012, 07:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
all im using it for, so all is good..thanks guys
1python1 is offline  
post #28 of 35 Old 02-28-2012, 10:38 AM
Senior Member
 
brettwf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Huntsville, AL (Monorovia area)
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I bought the kit for around $50 including shipping. Transmitter sits inside my A/V cabinet approximately 18' away from TV. Receiver sits on top of Sony 60-A2000 (approx 6' off floor). The only interference that I get is from moving directly in front of the transmitter. Picture will flicker from walking by and total loss of picture from standing against cabinet directly in front of the transmitter. Signal regained when stepping a foot away from cabinet. Can see no difference in the wireless PQ vs the PQ of the 50' of flat HDMI cable from Monoprice. Looks like I will be able to remove the HDMI cable from off the floor. The price was cheaper than buying a cable run baseboard to hide the HDMI cable. I am only using one source (Denon A/V receiver) so I am not having the video delay due to switching sources. I have also had to turn the transmitter off twice to get it and the receiver to re-sync. Those are the only two glitches that I have notices so far.

Brettwf
brettwf is offline  
post #29 of 35 Old 02-29-2012, 03:22 AM
Member
 
travanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A sample movie and it's stats. 1920x1080 at data rate of 42615kbps total bitrate of 42871kbps 23 frames/second. Audio is TrueHD. The rip is approx 40GB.

Streaming off of my PC with the 5ghz band USB adapter to my WNDR3700 with Openwrt firmware. This would not work on the 2.4ghz Wireless-N band.
Radio Info:
Mode: Master
Channel: 36 (5.18 GHz)
Bitrate: 104 Mb/s
BSSID: xxxxxx
Encryption: WPA2 PSK (CCMP)

What exactly is my Dune player playing then if the movie is playing without skipping or pausing?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mayhem13 View Post

Because it can't be done consistently. Sorry.

travanx is offline  
post #30 of 35 Old 02-29-2012, 01:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
1python1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone use roku 2 xs or xd?
1python1 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off