Official unRAID Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 761 Old 02-28-2012, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisx510 View Post

Well the last 6 movies didn't transfer at all.. Looks like the rest of the movies did. Over 100 Blu-Rays..

Yes those speeds are without a parity drive. I plan to have a Cache drive so we'll see what kinda speeds I get with that.

Yeah, I kind of miss the speed too. I'm thinking of using a cache drive too, but right now I can only afford data drives...hoping for the drives to go down in price soon. I need one more 2tb drive since I am running out of space , and I need to buy the unRaid license too.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 761 Old 02-28-2012, 12:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Chrisx510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unfortunately I had a handful of movies that weren't playing right on my last transfer. So I'll have to redo the transfer. Don't really want to go through a 150 movies to see which ones play fine.

My First Home Theater

300 Blu-Rays, 150 DVD's loaded in my Movie Server!

Thanks AVS for making me addicted to this hobby!
Chrisx510 is offline  
post #273 of 761 Old 02-28-2012, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisx510 View Post

Unfortunately I had a handful of movies that weren't playing right on my last transfer. So I'll have to redo the transfer. Don't really want to go through a 150 movies to see which ones play fine.

That sucks. Hopefully this next one will work.

I got lucky today. I went to lime tech forum and found someone selling a new 5x3 icy box cage. I was lucky to get it for $90 shipped . Now ill be able to hot swap my first 5 drives.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #274 of 761 Old 02-28-2012, 12:52 PM
Member
 
jeff.lebowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisx510 View Post

Unfortunately I had a handful of movies that weren't playing right on my last transfer. So I'll have to redo the transfer. Don't really want to go through a 150 movies to see which ones play fine.

I use a program called FreeFileSync to compare files across directories. I wonder if the bad files are different in size, and this program should help you identify which files are different, then replace them.
jeff.lebowski is offline  
post #275 of 761 Old 02-28-2012, 12:55 PM
Member
 
jeff.lebowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

That sucks. Hopefully this next one will work.

I got lucky today. I went to lime tech forum and found someone selling a new 5x3 icy box cage. I was lucky to get it for $90 shipped . Now ill be able to hot swap my first 5 drives.

Hot swap? Do you mean quick swap? Last I knew, disks could not be removed unless the server was powered off.
jeff.lebowski is offline  
post #276 of 761 Old 02-28-2012, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff.lebowski View Post

Hot swap? Do you mean quick swap? Last I knew, disks could not be removed unless the server was powered off.

Dude, I've been drinking since I got home from work hot, quicky whatever. Im just happy i got one lol. I wont have to take my case apart anymore .

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #277 of 761 Old 02-28-2012, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Chrisx510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

That sucks. Hopefully this next one will work.

I got lucky today. I went to lime tech forum and found someone selling a new 5x3 icy box cage. I was lucky to get it for $90 shipped . Now ill be able to hot swap my first 5 drives.

Yea I tried transferring 4tb all at once. I'll just do 1tb at a time. Thats a good price on an ice dock. I would of jumped on it too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff.lebowski View Post

I use a program called FreeFileSync to compare files across directories. I wonder if the bad files are different in size, and this program should help you identify which files are different, then replace them.

I'll look into that program.

My First Home Theater

300 Blu-Rays, 150 DVD's loaded in my Movie Server!

Thanks AVS for making me addicted to this hobby!
Chrisx510 is offline  
post #278 of 761 Old 02-28-2012, 01:09 PM
Member
 
jeff.lebowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

Dude, I've been drinking since I got home from work hot, quicky whatever. Im just happy i got one lol. I wont have to take my case apart anymore .

There ya go!

I just didn't want any incorrect information to get out there. I have hot swap cages for the same reason.
jeff.lebowski is offline  
post #279 of 761 Old 02-28-2012, 01:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Chrisx510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The swap cages are a must have. Makes everything so much easier.

My First Home Theater

300 Blu-Rays, 150 DVD's loaded in my Movie Server!

Thanks AVS for making me addicted to this hobby!
Chrisx510 is offline  
post #280 of 761 Old 02-28-2012, 01:21 PM
Member
 
jeff.lebowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisx510 View Post

The swap cages are a must have. Makes everything so much easier.

A big issue can be cost. At my current build state, to add two new disks and 4tb of space would cost $550. (2*140)+(2*135).

I can't justify it. Yet...
jeff.lebowski is offline  
post #281 of 761 Old 02-28-2012, 02:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dan4081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisx510 View Post

We're getting increased speeds now. Took 15 minutes to transfer a 31GB movie from whs to the iMac. Speeds are between 28-29mb/s.

Then copied the file from iMac to whs and have had peaks of 51mb/s. Its jumping around 9,20,31mb/s but 51mb/s has been the peak so far during the transfer.

I copied the same file from iMac to unRAID and have had a peak of 45mb/s. It's been steady at 40-43mb/s pretty much. Took 11 minutes to transfer a 31GB movie.

24GB file from WHS to unRAID took 12 minutes. It doesn't tell me how many mb/s I'm getting though.

WHS to unRAID using Teracopy with Test copy selected I'm getting 89MB/s. Took 6 minutes to transfer a 30GB file.

Now I'm transferring 1TB of files from whs to unRAID with Teracopy with Test Copy selected and I'm getting 67mb/s. Should be done in a little over 4hr's it says.

Attach pic is of the whs to iMac transfer[/b]

I'm jealous of your speeds!
My speeds are so slow and I've just convinced myself to live with it because I really wasnt sure how to trouble shoot the network.
Guess Ill have to bite the bullet and figure out what my issues are.

Revo Ion...XBMC For Windows...Dharma RC2
dan4081 is online now  
post #282 of 761 Old 02-28-2012, 03:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Chrisx510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's your speed?

When you're ready to start troubleshooting start posting on here. I'm sure we'll figure out the problem.

My First Home Theater

300 Blu-Rays, 150 DVD's loaded in my Movie Server!

Thanks AVS for making me addicted to this hobby!
Chrisx510 is offline  
post #283 of 761 Old 02-29-2012, 06:48 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1046 Post(s)
Liked: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisx510 View Post

Well the last 6 movies didn't transfer at all.. Looks like the rest of the movies did. Over 100 Blu-Rays..

Yes those speeds are without a parity drive. I plan to have a Cache drive so we'll see what kinda speeds I get with that.

Shouldn't it be the same speeds as without a parity drive? Without the parity drive isn't it just writing straight to the one drive selected? I know with my current unRAID build I get 85MB/s(680mb/s) to 100MB/s(800mb/s) speeds to the cache drive from my SSDs on my main PC(with a 7200rpm cache drive it was around 10% faster, I plan on using that drive as a parity drive in my new build). But any transfers from my WHS is much slower. And then transferring from my cache drive to the data array is around 25MB/s speeds. When I get my second unRAID setup I will start off using a parity and cache drive from the beginning.

I got held up on my second unRAID build. I had to order another case since my old case was damaged on the front and the power button was messed up. At least I hope that was the issue. I couldn't get it to boot up. I'll put a new Thermaltake Power supply I've had sitting in the closet in the new case, and transfer the Asus mother board and ICY Dock into the new case. So hopefully everything works because I really don't feel like having to buy another MB and CPU. I thought my old PC had a core2duo but it was a dual core AMD chip. Hopefully the case will arrive in a couple of days and I'll have time to mess with it this weekend.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #284 of 761 Old 02-29-2012, 07:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Chrisx510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post


Shouldn't it be the same speeds as without a parity drive? Without the parity drive isn't it just writing straight to the one drive selected? I know with my current unRAID build I get 85MB/s(680mb/s) to 100MB/s(800mb/s) speeds to the cache drive from my SSDs on my main PC(with a 7200rpm cache drive it was around 10% faster, I plan on using that drive as a parity drive in my new build). But any transfers from my WHS is much slower. And then transferring from my cache drive to the data array is around 25MB/s speeds. When I get my second unRAID setup I will start off using a parity and cache drive from the beginning.

I got held up on my second unRAID build. I had to order another case since my old case was damaged on the front and the power button was messed up. At least I hope that was the issue. I couldn't get it to boot up. I'll put a new Thermaltake Power supply I've had sitting in the closet in the new case, and transfer the Asus mother board and ICY Dock into the new case. So hopefully everything works because I really don't feel like having to buy another MB and CPU. I thought my old PC had a core2duo but it was a dual core AMD chip. Hopefully the case will arrive in a couple of days and I'll have time to mess with it this weekend.

Yes I believe you are correct about the same speeds with a cache drive. Reason I said we'll see what kind of speeds I'll be getting is because I will then be transferring from my pc to the cache. As of right now I am transferring from whs to unRAID.

On the Lime Tech Forums I asked if having a SSD in my PC and a SSD as my Cache if I would see increased speeds. I was told that it would be a waste of money. They recommended I get a WD Black drive as my cache if I want faster speeds.

My First Home Theater

300 Blu-Rays, 150 DVD's loaded in my Movie Server!

Thanks AVS for making me addicted to this hobby!
Chrisx510 is offline  
post #285 of 761 Old 02-29-2012, 08:24 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrlittlejeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Memphis
Posts: 4,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff.lebowski View Post

A big issue can be cost. At my current build state, to add two new disks and 4tb of space would cost $550. (2*140)+(2*135).

I can't justify it. Yet...

That's one reason I went with the 20 drive Norco case. I think it was only around $200-$300 when I bought it.

Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence

mrlittlejeans is offline  
post #286 of 761 Old 02-29-2012, 08:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Chrisx510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe that case is still $299. Great price for that size case.

My First Home Theater

300 Blu-Rays, 150 DVD's loaded in my Movie Server!

Thanks AVS for making me addicted to this hobby!
Chrisx510 is offline  
post #287 of 761 Old 02-29-2012, 08:44 AM
Member
 
jeff.lebowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I thought 15 disks would be enough. Famous last words...
jeff.lebowski is offline  
post #288 of 761 Old 02-29-2012, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 607
My case holds 15 drive, and it const me $77 dollars Norco are great case, but too expensive for me.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #289 of 761 Old 02-29-2012, 11:50 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1046 Post(s)
Liked: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

My case holds 15 drive, and it const me $77 dollars Norco are great case, but too expensive for me.

Only $77? Where did you pick that up?

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #290 of 761 Old 02-29-2012, 12:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Chrisx510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post


Only $77? Where did you pick that up?

I think he means it can hold 15 drives with 3-in-5 drive cages installed.

My First Home Theater

300 Blu-Rays, 150 DVD's loaded in my Movie Server!

Thanks AVS for making me addicted to this hobby!
Chrisx510 is offline  
post #291 of 761 Old 02-29-2012, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisx510 View Post

I think he means it can hold 15 drives with 3-in-5 drive cages installed.

It will hold the 15 drives without the drive cages...I believe...may be i'm wrong. I bought the Azza Helios 910, which was recommended from Lime Tech forums.

Here you go the specs:

Model Name: Helios 910
Model Number: CSAZ-910
Type: ATX Mid Tower
Color: Black/black interior
Material: Japanese SECC Steel
With Side Panel Window: No
With Power Supply: No
Motherboard Compatibility: ATX, E-ATX, Micro ATX
Expansion
External 5.25" Drive Bay: 9
External 3.5" Drive Bay: 1
Internal 3.5" Drive Bay: 4
Expansion: 7
Front Ports
Front Ports 4 x USB, Audio, Mic
Cooling System
230mm Fan: 1 x 230mm red LED silent fan (24DBA) on side
140mm Fan: 1x140mm red LED silent fan (19DBA) in front
1x140mm red fan on the top
120mm Fan: 1x120mm fan in rear
Physical Spec
Dimensions (H x W x D): 19.7" (500mm) x 8.1" (205mm) x 18.1" (460mm)

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #292 of 761 Old 02-29-2012, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 607
Here's my low cost and 1st UnRaid set up:

CPU: AMD Athlon II X2 250 Dual Core
Mobo: Biostar A760G M2
Cooler: Thermaltake Copper AMD RX K8
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 1066 Dual Channel F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro Power Supply - 600-Watt, Modular, Dual +12V Rails, SATA, 80Plus
HDD: 1 X Seagate Barracuda Green 2TB SATA 6Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5-Inch Internal Bare Drive ST2000DL003 (PARITY DRIVE)
2 X Seagate Barracuda 2 TB 5900RPM SATA 3Gb/s 32 MB Cache 3.5-Inch Internal Desktop Hard Drive ST320005N4A1AS-RK-Retail Kit

PICS:



Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #293 of 761 Old 02-29-2012, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 607
I will be getting two more hard drive over the weekend...may be 3

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #294 of 761 Old 02-29-2012, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisx510 View Post

I think he means it can hold 15 drives with 3-in-5 drive cages installed.

Correct...like this one.

http://lime-technology.com/forum/ind...6593#msg166593
mbryanr is offline  
post #295 of 761 Old 02-29-2012, 01:07 PM
Member
 
jeff.lebowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

It will hold the 15 drives without the drive cages...I believe...may be i'm wrong. I bought the Azza Helios 910, which was recommended from Lime Tech forums.

Here you go the specs:

Model Name: Helios 910
Expansion
External 5.25" Drive Bay: 9
External 3.5" Drive Bay: 1
Internal 3.5" Drive Bay: 4

9 external 5.25" devices OR 5 external 5.25" devices + 4 internal 3.5" devices. You can see the configuration in the pic I attached.

The 9 external 5.25" slots are what make it a great choice for unRAID. Any multiple of 3 is what's best to work with the 5 in 3 drive cages. Add in 3 drive cages for another $270 and it will hold 15 disks. Some people use single 5.25 to 3.5 converters for a while until they have enough disks to fill those slots, then make the big purchase to a drive cage. Three disks previously in three 5.25 bays, are now in a cage occupying the same physical space, with room for two more disks.
LL
jeff.lebowski is offline  
post #296 of 761 Old 02-29-2012, 01:35 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mrlittlejeans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Memphis
Posts: 4,759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 203
So it ends up being more expensive than the larger Norco once you add the drive cages?

Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence

mrlittlejeans is offline  
post #297 of 761 Old 02-29-2012, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Chrisx510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

Here's my low cost and 1st UnRaid set up:

CPU: AMD Athlon II X2 250 Dual Core
Mobo: Biostar A760G M2
Cooler: Thermaltake Copper AMD RX K8
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 1066 Dual Channel F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro Power Supply - 600-Watt, Modular, Dual +12V Rails, SATA, 80Plus
HDD: 1 X Seagate Barracuda Green 2TB SATA 6Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5-Inch Internal Bare Drive ST2000DL003 (PARITY DRIVE)
2 X Seagate Barracuda 2 TB 5900RPM SATA 3Gb/s 32 MB Cache 3.5-Inch Internal Desktop Hard Drive ST320005N4A1AS-RK-Retail Kit

PICS:




You will need cages to make that case hold 15 drives.

My First Home Theater

300 Blu-Rays, 150 DVD's loaded in my Movie Server!

Thanks AVS for making me addicted to this hobby!
Chrisx510 is offline  
post #298 of 761 Old 02-29-2012, 02:03 PM
Member
 
jeff.lebowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrlittlejeans View Post

So it ends up being more expensive than the larger Norco once you add the drive cages?

Cost is not the only factor. Some people have no use/need for a tower configuration, so a rackmount case is the only option. The opposite can also be true. Some people will never expand beyond 15 disks, so the capacity and footprint of a rackmount case would get in the way.

Myself, I can utilize either, and I'm definitely at a spot where I need to decide to continue expanding the tower I have now to hold all 15 disks (another $180 + cost of disks), or do I switch to a rackmount system.
jeff.lebowski is offline  
post #299 of 761 Old 02-29-2012, 03:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Chrisx510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What did you guys set your Split Level in User Shares to for Movies,Music and Pics?

My First Home Theater

300 Blu-Rays, 150 DVD's loaded in my Movie Server!

Thanks AVS for making me addicted to this hobby!
Chrisx510 is offline  
post #300 of 761 Old 02-29-2012, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Somewhatlost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: some small blue-green planet thingy...
Posts: 1,793
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrisx510 View Post

What did you guys set your Split Level in User Shares to for Movies,Music and Pics?

depends...
usually 1 though...
2 for TV shows(dvd)...
for TV, I like having each episode be separate... but to each their own...

NOTE: As one wise professional something once stated, I am ignorant & childish, with a mindset comparable to 9/11 troofers and wackjob conspiracy theorists. so don't take anything I say as advice...
Somewhatlost is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Popcorn Hour C 200 Networked Media Tank Black , The Boxee Box By D Link Hd Streaming Media Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off