Which of these Synology NAS's would meet my media needs? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 40 Old 02-06-2012, 04:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
capaill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm considering getting a NAS for home media storage and streaming, needs are fairly simple but I'm trying to decide on the minimum specs needed.

Needs
-1-2 HD stream simultaneous or 1 stream while photo viewing
-3 PC's to backup
-Stream audio to apple expresses, (using a PC to run itunes), music may be on the NAS or the PC
-current storage needs are 200GB, so a 2TB drive should be sufficient for future proofing.
-I like the idea of mirroring drive 1 to drive 2.
-will use an external drive or NAS (USB or eSata) for backup

I've narrowed it down to a few of synology products and trying to find the min specs first, and then I can weigh up the cost of stepping up to 2 or 4 bays, USB 3.0, esata

DS110J; 800MHz, DDR2 128MB,USB2.0
DS111; 1.6GHz, DDR3 256MB,eSATA Port X 1

DS212J; 1.2GHz, DDR2 256MB,USB2.0
DS212; 1.6GHz, DDR3 256MB, USB3.0

DS411J; 1.2GHz, DDR2 128MB,USB2.0
DS411; 1.6 GHz, DDR3 512MB,eSATA Port X 1

Thanks

Capall
capaill is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 40 Old 02-07-2012, 06:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by capaill View Post

I'm considering getting a NAS for home media storage and streaming, needs are fairly simple but I'm trying to decide on the minimum specs needed.

Needs
-1-2 HD stream simultaneous or 1 stream while photo viewing
-3 PC's to backup
-Stream audio to apple expresses, (using a PC to run itunes), music may be on the NAS or the PC
-current storage needs are 200GB, so a 2TB drive should be sufficient for future proofing.
-I like the idea of mirroring drive 1 to drive 2.
-will use an external drive or NAS (USB or eSata) for backup

I've narrowed it down to a few of synology products and trying to find the min specs first, and then I can weigh up the cost of stepping up to 2 or 4 bays, USB 3.0, esata

DS110J; 800MHz, DDR2 128MB,USB2.0
DS111; 1.6GHz, DDR3 256MB,eSATA Port X 1

DS212J; 1.2GHz, DDR2 256MB,USB2.0
DS212; 1.6GHz, DDR3 256MB, USB3.0

DS411J; 1.2GHz, DDR2 128MB,USB2.0
DS411; 1.6 GHz, DDR3 512MB,eSATA Port X 1

Thanks

How about building your own unRaid server? It'd would be cheaper and you will be able to expand.

If I had the money, I would go with the fastest processor and most RAM. This will help you with multiple streaming and transferring speeds.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #3 of 40 Old 02-07-2012, 06:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Any of those will suffice for serving at least 3 HD streams
To meet all of your needs I'd go with the DS212j

unRAID is a good choice as well.
mbryanr is offline  
post #4 of 40 Old 02-07-2012, 09:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
capaill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys,
While I'm tech savy and could build a WHS or an UnRaid solution, I think I would prefer to buy an "appliance", which would probably cost more, but the adv is that I get support, some ready made apps for media distribution, and probably a slightly more stable box. I thought about whs, but there are no boxes other than the HP Proliant and it seems a bit underpowered for whs 2011, and whs might be replaced with windows 8 storage.

One question I have is, if I went with a 2 bay unit in a raid 1 mirror, up to the point when I fill drive 1, is it easier then to upgrade to a 4 bay unit or forget about mirroring (if I couldn't afford to buy a 4 bay), and have the mirrored drive reconfigured as a storage drive.

thanks

Capall
capaill is offline  
post #5 of 40 Old 02-07-2012, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by capaill View Post

Thanks guys,
While I'm tech savy and could build a WHS or an UnRaid solution, I think I would prefer to buy an "appliance", which would probably cost more, but the adv is that I get support, some ready made apps for media distribution, and probably a slightly more stable box. I thought about whs, but there are no boxes other than the HP Proliant and it seems a bit underpowered for whs 2011, and whs might be replaced with windows 8 storage.

One question I have is, if I went with a 2 bay unit in a raid 1 mirror, up to the point when I fill drive 1, is it easier then to upgrade to a 4 bay unit or forget about mirroring (if I couldn't afford to buy a 4 bay), and have the mirrored drive reconfigured as a storage drive.

thanks

It all depends on what you want. If you've got important files then I would suggest back up, but if all you are going to have are media files (movies, music, etc) then I wouldn't do mirror.

That's the reason why I went with unraid server.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #6 of 40 Old 02-07-2012, 11:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by capaill View Post

One question I have is, if I went with a 2 bay unit in a raid 1 mirror, up to the point when I fill drive 1, is it easier then to upgrade to a 4 bay unit or forget about mirroring (if I couldn't afford to buy a 4 bay), and have the mirrored drive reconfigured as a storage drive.
thanks

Easy to upgrade later...
Synology Migration

On the original question...re:212 vs 212j: you'll have to decide if USB transfer speeds are important to you for $100. I know USB 2.0 transfer speeds are marginal with the Synology, but how much data will you be transferring daily, and the schedule will affect your decision.
mbryanr is offline  
post #7 of 40 Old 02-07-2012, 02:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
capaill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
very little data being transferred, few meg of photos or a ripped dvd, so the USB 3.0 is probably not necessary, but there's a bump in the cpu from 1.2 top 1.6, and that's where I struggling on if its worth it.

but its beginning to seem that the 1.2Mhz is sufficient for 2 HD stream at the same time.

Capall
capaill is offline  
post #8 of 40 Old 02-07-2012, 03:19 PM
Member
 
mtrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have DS212 and I totally love it. It is fast. I backup 2 computer and stream music and video and it handles everything w/o any issues. Synology really did a great job with their software, it has anything you can think of. I even have another USB drive attached to my DS212 to backup my DS212 which is already running in Raid configuration so its more of insurance for insurance
mtrx is offline  
post #9 of 40 Old 02-07-2012, 04:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by capaill View Post

but its beginning to seem that the 1.2Mhz is sufficient for 2 HD stream at the same time.

The DS-210j (800MHz) does it easily. The processor speed does help with SABnzbad/CouchPotato/Sickbeard though running on my 411j (1.2GHz)
mbryanr is offline  
post #10 of 40 Old 02-07-2012, 04:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
capaill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks, and thanks for the 3 programs you listed

Capall
capaill is offline  
post #11 of 40 Old 02-07-2012, 05:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Link to the custom spk for the Synology (SB/Couch/Sab/Transmission/Headphone)..

http://synoblog.superzebulon.org/
mbryanr is offline  
post #12 of 40 Old 02-07-2012, 05:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
RaggedEdge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Springfield, TN
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Check out QNAP also. I have the 459-Pro II and love it. It runs Sabnzbd, Sickbeard and Couchpotato without a problem.

Alex
RaggedEdge is offline  
post #13 of 40 Old 02-08-2012, 06:59 AM
Member
 
treefrog100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Will a 411j run 3 BD rip streams with HD audio simultaneously, or do I need to bump up to the 411 or the 411+II?

If I want to run it in RAID 5 does that affect the HD read speeds?

Is there a site that benchmarks these values for these model numbers?

Thanks!
treefrog100 is offline  
post #14 of 40 Old 02-08-2012, 07:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yes...a BD doesn't take much bandwidth, at max for 3 HD streams ~20MB/s (including spikes). Probably a more likely bottleneck will be your ethernet network.

Best I could find is this tomshardware comparison (only includes <2010 models)
http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/n...x838,1906.html

and this comparison
http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/436...ew/index7.html
mbryanr is offline  
post #15 of 40 Old 02-09-2012, 07:38 AM
Member
 
treefrog100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbryanr View Post

Yes...a BD doesn't take much bandwidth, at max for 3 HD streams ~20MB/s (including spikes). Probably a more likely bottleneck will be your ethernet network.

Best I could find is this tomshardware comparison (only includes <2010 models)
http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/n...x838,1906.html

and this comparison
http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/436...ew/index7.html

Great thanks! I think you mean "Mbps." There are reports in the Ripping Blu-Rays II" forum of Star Trek 2009 and a couple other movies being in the high 30Mbps.

Couple more questions to all you whizes out there:

1. Is the Synology considered hardware or software RAID?
2. What is the best RAID configuration if the usage is going to be primarily read-based Blu-ray rip streaming? 5, 6, or 10?

Thanks,
TF
treefrog100 is offline  
post #16 of 40 Old 02-09-2012, 09:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by treefrog100 View Post

Great thanks! I think you mean "Mbps." There are reports in the Ripping Blu-Rays II" forum of Star Trek 2009 and a couple other movies being in the high 30Mbps.

Couple more questions to all you whizes out there:

1. Is the Synology considered hardware or software RAID?
2. What is the best RAID configuration if the usage is going to be primarily read-based Blu-ray rip streaming? 5, 6, or 10?

Thanks,
TF

3 streams x ~54Mbps (or 6.75MB/s) = ~20MB/s (Max)

Software, mdadm
Hmmm...don't know. In Reads, I'd expect Raid 10~=Raid5>Raid6, and take a hit with Raid5 writes.
mbryanr is offline  
post #17 of 40 Old 02-09-2012, 09:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
capaill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So in the case of the 212j vs 212, it comes down to; is the bump to 1.6Mhz and usb 3.0 worth the extra $100.

If doing backups of the primary NAS via USB3.0 is the main use for 3.0 and you do this at night, then 3.0 seems unneeded.
And same argument for 1.2 vs 1.6, if 1.2 can handle 3 HD streams and thats my max, then 1.6 is slight overkill. Although a tougher predicament might be what apps I might want to run on the NAS in the near future, where the 1.6 would probably help make it run a bit snappier.

Tough call, if it was $50 then no brainer, but $100 needs to be justified.

Capall
capaill is offline  
post #18 of 40 Old 02-09-2012, 09:27 AM
Member
 
treefrog100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbryanr View Post

3 streams x ~54Mbps (or 6.75MB/s) = ~20MB/s (Max)

My mistake. I didn't follow the math correctly. Thanks for the clarification.
treefrog100 is offline  
post #19 of 40 Old 02-09-2012, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Another consideration you will likely have the server for at least three years...

$33/year.
mbryanr is offline  
post #20 of 40 Old 02-09-2012, 11:42 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
capaill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
$33/year for??

Capall
capaill is offline  
post #21 of 40 Old 02-09-2012, 11:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
the upgrade
mbryanr is offline  
post #22 of 40 Old 02-09-2012, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
While unRAID is great the latest stable version doesn't support 3TB drives yet. The beta they have which has been a beta for a very long time supports a lot more features and 3TB support. Really for a media center/streaming server you can't go wrong with unRAID. Also what I like about it, is it completely runs off a USB flash drive. No need to spend time updating or taking care of an operating system.
Opentoe is offline  
post #23 of 40 Old 02-09-2012, 12:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
capaill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
must have killed some brain cells last night..what upgrade costs?

Capall
capaill is offline  
post #24 of 40 Old 02-09-2012, 01:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
upgrade between the 212j and 212.
mbryanr is offline  
post #25 of 40 Old 02-09-2012, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
capaill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've seen a few posts mention that DS photo station is quite taxing.

Is a 1.2 mhz cpu going to have problems if viewing photos while something else is going on, such a a stream or torrent download?

Capall
capaill is offline  
post #26 of 40 Old 02-09-2012, 01:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
capaill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mbryan, sorry can you clarify
where are you getting $33/year ...is it from $100/3 yrs , where 3 years is the expected lifespan of the 210j?

thanks

Capall
capaill is offline  
post #27 of 40 Old 02-09-2012, 01:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Their photo station is just slow. I tried to use it once or twice. I have media players/tablets/phones that can access my photos through my local network or DDNS if I want to pull up a photo or run a slide show. And a webserver if I wanted to create a site for photos.

Uploading and thumbnail generation is the painful part IIRC. Probably the only part of the UI/OS that I would never use.

Edit: LOL...correct. Makes the investment for the upgrade to appear smaller. ;-) btw, I'd expect it to last longer, just with newer, faster, better...if I get 3 years I'm happy.
mbryanr is offline  
post #28 of 40 Old 02-09-2012, 01:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
capaill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
all clear now, tks, brain still works then!

if viewing photos then, are you using native apps on those devices?..such as?

tks

Capall
capaill is offline  
post #29 of 40 Old 02-09-2012, 01:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
capaill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry to drag on..so with not using photo station, any real world examples where I might see the difference using the 1.6mhz cpu?

tks

Capall
capaill is offline  
post #30 of 40 Old 02-09-2012, 01:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
I see some people banging the unRAID drum.

Look, unRAID is great, as long as you are willing to live with limited support, deal with your own hardware issues that may arise, and deal with a more limited feature set when it comes to things like backing up computers with Time Machine, serving a music library, etc.

Honestly if your time is valuable, there are few better NAS appliances out on the market than Synology (QNAP is very good also). I have a DS1511+ and love it, it has never given me a lick of trouble, it's essentially maintenance free other than me making an offsite backup once every 8-12 weeks.

On the other hand if you want to save $150, and that's a big deal to you, then by all means, spec out some parts and go the unRAID route.
jmpage2 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off