ClownBD or DVDFAB or MakeMKV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 02-09-2012, 01:00 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've used all three, but was wondering if anyone prefers one over the other? Make MKV does seem the easiest. Put the disc in and hit the button. Clown BD doesn't work %100 of the time for some reason for me and DVDFab actually works pretty good and has gotten much better since older versions. What I forgot, does any of these software titles NEED to have AnyDVD running?
Opentoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 02-09-2012, 01:11 PM
 
streamerlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opentoe View Post

I've used all three, but was wondering if anyone prefers one over the other? Make MKV does seem the easiest. Put the disc in and hit the button. Clown BD doesn't work %100 of the time for some reason for me and DVDFab actually works pretty good and has gotten much better since older versions. What I forgot, does any of these software titles NEED to have AnyDVD running?

makemkv doe not require anydvd and dvdfab tells you to turn it off when you launch dvdfab. clown is the only one that does require it. For 99% of my rips I use IMGburn with anydvd running in the background and create an iso...
streamerlover is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 02-09-2012, 09:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
kneedragger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Make MKV and DVDfab are great. DVDfab seems cleaner and easier though..
kneedragger is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 02-10-2012, 03:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 71
I have used all three programs but Clown_BD is my program of choice (the disc needs to be un-encrypted so you need either DVDFab passkey or AnyDVD running in the background). If you want a full disc rip then Clown_BD is out of the running (you can actually make a full disc rip with MakeMKV). If you want a main movie rip MakeMKV is great for an mkv and Clown_BD for a folder structure. You can create a main movie rip with DVDFab but I think if this movie is a seamless branch when DVDFab rips it keeps it as a seamless branch (which many players seem to have issues with)

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 02-10-2012, 03:47 AM
Member
 
Slosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I've been using the free version of DVDfab-HD for 1:1 Blu-ray rips. I haven't looked into it yet but I'll probably need something else to remove the trailers, special feature, foreign language track, subs, and lossy audio tracks. I have MakeMKV and ImgBurn also. Will either of these let me do this?
Slosh is online now  
post #6 of 12 Old 02-10-2012, 04:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slosh View Post

I've been using the free version of DVDfab-HD for 1:1 Blu-ray rips. I haven't looked into it yet but I'll probably need something else to remove the trailers, special feature, foreign language track, subs, and lossy audio tracks. I have MakeMKV and ImgBurn also. Will either of these let me do this?

MakeMKV will allow you to do this, as long as you are fine with the resulting mkv.

DVDFab allows this as well, but I guess only the paid version?

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 02-10-2012, 04:33 AM
Member
 
Slosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

MakeMKV will allow you to do this, as long as you are fine with the resulting mkv.

As long as the video is uncompressed and I still have lossless audio the container format doesn't matter to me (I have a NeoTV 550).
Slosh is online now  
post #8 of 12 Old 02-10-2012, 04:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slosh View Post

As long as the video is uncompressed and I still have lossless audio the container format doesn't matter to me (I have a NeoTV 550).

Correct, we aren't talking about encoding here, only lossless

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 02-10-2012, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Swampfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 3,711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slosh View Post

I've been using the free version of DVDfab-HD for 1:1 Blu-ray rips. I haven't looked into it yet but I'll probably need something else to remove the trailers, special feature, foreign language track, subs, and lossy audio tracks. I have MakeMKV and ImgBurn also. Will either of these let me do this?

The commercial version of DVDfab is fairly robust and can remove trailers, subs, menus, audio tracts, etc. It also supports a command line, which can be handy. I've had some issues with using the command line and the way it takes control of the optical drives, but I'm trying to do something 'out of the box'.

I find ClownBD to be quirky with how it handles temp files, batch jobs, and how it deals with directory names. Plus it requires AnyDVD.

I'm currently playing with anyDVD because it is essentially a drive filter. Thus standard Win copy methods work for moving movies around, although it's ability at managing trailers, special features, audio tracks and subs is extremely limited.
Swampfox is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 02-10-2012, 12:05 PM
Senior Member
 
mifronte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Somewhere in the US of A
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slosh View Post

As long as the video is uncompressed and I still have lossless audio the container format doesn't matter to me (I have a NeoTV 550).

My NeoTV 550 is unable to bitstream Dolby TrueHD in the MKV container on the current firmware. Full support for MKV on the NeoTV 550 is still buggy.

Still Learning
mifronte is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 02-10-2012, 12:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 592
I used ClownBD with AnyDVD HD for my blu-ray rips. I use MakeMKV for SD movies, and I use AnyDVD HD to make ISO's for SD TV Shows for full menus.

Both my media player cannot play full menus with BD ISOs. Since, I only buy SD TV shows dvds it isn't a problem

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #12 of 12 Old 02-10-2012, 01:16 PM
Member
 
Slosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mifronte View Post

My NeoTV 550 is unable to bitstream Dolby TrueHD in the MKV container on the current firmware. Full support for MKV on the NeoTV 550 is still buggy.

Thanks for the tip. I guess I'll stick to m2ts or ISO (both of which work fine with TrueHD and DTS MA). The only mkv files I have are friends' rips with DTS or Dolby Digital core tracks so I've never encountered that issue.
Slosh is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off