Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 24 Old 03-12-2012, 08:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all,
I'm new to this space, so my knowledge is limited to some brands/models and what I need so I'll try best to explain what I want.

I currently have a Netgear NV+ NAS and had recently purchased the WDTV Live. It kind of worked the first day over my wired network using UPnP - readydnla. This eventually proved to be an issue as the Live would not display all of the folders residing my NAS, and then it started losing files. So after a few sessions with it, it would only show 15% of my movies and 1 out of 10 folders. The Live would lock up if I tried using to access my NAS as a shared library over NFS. I do not want to use my mac as a server so I had to return it.

To eliminate potential networking issues, I'm thinking about a media player with HDD included for local playback. However, I would still like to be able to access my NV+ over NFS/CIFS/something other than readydlna. I want to stream/play 1080p mkv, mv4 and mp4 for the most part. I don't rip, so menus and chapters aren't important. I just want to hit play on a movie and have it play 1080p without stuttering. I would also like a ********** client as an added bonus.

My budget is $300 (more or less).

First choice- Dune HD Smart H1
I've increased my budget after ready about the Dune HD Smart H1. I assume I could add a 4TB sata drive without issues? I read 5400 was the best since it ran cooler and didn't pose a heat issue for the fanless H1. It seems to have good reviews and seems to network without much issue and I can add an external drive or another H1/D1 in the future for more space. But that's the extent of my knowledge with this unit.