WMP12 flac streaming - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 03-12-2012, 08:43 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mipuglie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
I have a problem to share the flac files with windows media player 12.
Initially I could not even locally read .flac, but then installing the codecs and WmptagPLUS I was able to open them and WMP was able to recognize the tags.

The problem arise with my receiver (Yamaha rx v771), which is DLNA certified, supports flac (so much that I can easily open them locally, such as via USB), supports playback of remote FLAC but in practice, when I browse the multimedia library, I can see the mp3 files but I can't see the FLAC files.

The manual of the receiver, regarding the reproduction of FLAC "remote", shows the following note: "to play FLAC, install the server software that supports file sharing via DLNA flac on PC." I imagine that the note has been inserted because WMP 12 does not do it natively ... how can I fix it?
Thanks to all
mipuglie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 03-13-2012, 10:42 AM
Newbie
 
DragonZX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary Alberta Canada
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^^ As Windows Media 12 does not support FLAC natively you will need to install a decoder, Something like Madflac and M4a/Flac/Ogg/Ape/Mpc Tag Support Plugin for Windows Media Player once this has been done you should be able to stream your music to your Yammy
Good Luck & Best Regards
DragonZX is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-16-2012, 10:50 PM
Member
 
AVGeek99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Has anyone been able to stream FLAC to any AV Receiver using WMP as the DLNA server?

AVGeek99 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 03-17-2012, 08:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Michael Sargent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I don't know if anyone has, but I couldn't. I used dbPoweramp's Asset UPNP instead and that worked well.

But in the end I ditched DLNA and went with a Squeezebox Touch. It works perfectly, since it's not saddled with DLNA restrictions. In fact, it works so well I now have two of them.

Highly recommended.

Mike
Michael Sargent is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-20-2012, 08:29 PM
Member
 
AVGeek99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Sargent View Post

I don't know if anyone has, but I couldn't. I used dbPoweramp's Asset UPNP instead and that worked well.

But in the end I ditched DLNA and went with a Squeezebox Touch. It works perfectly, since it's not saddled with DLNA restrictions. In fact, it works so well I now have two of them.

Highly recommended.

Mike

Thanks for pointing me toward the Asset UPNP. It works perfectly for what I need!

AVGeek99 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off