Media player with wmv8 support - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 03-19-2012, 04:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ninguno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi! I'm looking for a new media player, do you know any new player that supports wmv8 codec? I currently have an argosy HV335T but it doesn't support that codec and I have a lot of videos encoded I can't watch.

Preferably I'd like it to have an internal HDD.

Thanks in advance!
ninguno is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 03-19-2012, 05:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 59
A lot of players will not have WMV8 was locked by Microsoft they never licensed it out its why people only support WMV9+. Good luck searching but I know of none
halfelite is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 03-19-2012, 08:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
sgvroadster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ninguno View Post

Hi! I'm looking for a new media player, do you know any new player that supports wmv8 codec? I currently have an argosy HV335T but it doesn't support that codec and I have a lot of videos encoded I can't watch.

Preferably I'd like it to have an internal HDD.

Thanks in advance!

I don't know of any media player that supports wmv8 codecs either...

Your best bet is to re-encode them in to a codec that is supported in media players today... no USA media player brand is going to create a firmware to support wmv8 codec without MS Licensing nor are any overseas brand (it is not that popular) going to create it unless there is enough demand - if it was in high demand they would've invested the time to do it already...

Cheers!

Cameron
sgvroadster is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 03-20-2012, 04:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ninguno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thats a pitty. Thanks mates!
ninguno is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 03-20-2012, 06:29 PM
Member
 
Magoo30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Boxee Does.
Magoo30 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 03-20-2012, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magoo30 View Post

Boxee Does.

You sure it supports WMV8 according to the forums here

http://forums.boxee.tv/showthread.php?t=22756

it says only WMV9 like everyone else. Hard to support a format that was never seen outside a Microsoft product
halfelite is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 03-20-2012, 09:19 PM
Member
 
Magoo30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very sure, I play them all the time, Check out Anandtech's review, he even mention's it.
Magoo30 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 03-20-2012, 09:21 PM
Member
 
Magoo30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Magoo30 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 03-20-2012, 09:46 PM
Member
 
blimey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I seem to remember all of my old novatron (iamm) players (those with Sigma 8621) played both wmv7 and wmv8.

I had a bunch of academic videos from ffh films that were in wmv8, and the novatron players of the day were the only ones I could find that played them.

The novatron Sigma 8621 reference design was found under brands such as mvix, klegg, cibox and others.

I don't know if current novatron players will play them, as novatron kinda lost their way and isn't so popular anymore.

If you have a sample, I could test it to be sure.
blimey is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 03-25-2012, 07:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ninguno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, thanks for your responses. Anyone of these can have an HDD inside?
ninguno is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off