Problems with MKV audio - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-24-2012, 09:41 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
geoff2664's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Need some expert advice here. I'm converting a standard DVD collection to MKV files. My external hard drive is connected to a BluRay player via USB. The files play just fine but the audio is not as good as when played directly from the DVD. In some cases the background noise on the soundtrack is much louder than the dialogue and in others the surround just doesn't seem to be as full and balanced vs playing the actual disc. My goal is for a lossless conversion so I'm not concerned about file size.

Here are the settings I've been using in Handbrake:
  • Audio: AC3 5.1ch passthru
  • Video:
    - H.264
    - Framerate: same as source
    - Quality: constant
  • Advanced settings: not messing with any of these
I figure the issue has to be one of the following:
  1. I'm using the wrong conversion settings
  2. Need to find a different program than Handbrake
  3. The BluRay player doesn't do as well playing the MKV audio vs DVDs.
    - In this case, would a media player do any better playing the audio from an MKV file? Or do I just accept the fact that the actual DVD will have a better audio balance?
Thoughts? Recommendations?
geoff2664 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-24-2012, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoff2664 View Post

Need some expert advice here. I'm converting a standard DVD collection to MKV files. My external hard drive is connected to a BluRay player via USB. The files play just fine but the audio is not as good as when played directly from the DVD. In some cases the background noise on the soundtrack is much louder than the dialogue and in others the surround just doesn't seem to be as full and balanced vs playing the actual disc. My goal is for a lossless conversion so I'm not concerned about file size.

Here are the settings I've been using in Handbrake:
  • Audio: AC3 5.1ch passthru
  • Video:
    - H.264
    - Framerate: same as source
    - Quality: constant
  • Advanced settings: not messing with any of these
I figure the issue has to be one of the following:
  1. I'm using the wrong conversion settings
  2. Need to find a different program than Handbrake
  3. The BluRay player doesn't do as well playing the MKV audio vs DVDs.
    - In this case, would a media player do any better playing the audio from an MKV file? Or do I just accept the fact that the actual DVD will have a better audio balance?
Thoughts? Recommendations?

Use MakeMKV. That's what I use for all of my SD DVD, and I haven't had a issue with them. For BD movies, I use clownbd. I have about two BD movies, that I've ripped with MakeMKV, and they play without issues.

I only use Handbrake if I want to make a MP4 / M4V file to play in my Atrix 2 phone.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-24-2012, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pbmpharmacist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I agree with Gus. I have used Handbrake but it was a pain. MakeMKV is the easiest program to use ever and the rips are always perfect.
pbmpharmacist is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 03-24-2012, 05:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
geoff2664's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just tried MakeMKV. The program is great -- easy and quick. However, my BluRay doesn't like that file format for some reason. It will play MKVs from Handbrake but not MakeMKV. Thoughts? Any easy fixes or do I need to get a media player?
geoff2664 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-25-2012, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoff2664 View Post

I just tried MakeMKV. The program is great -- easy and quick. However, my BluRay doesn't like that file format for some reason. It will play MKVs from Handbrake but not MakeMKV. Thoughts? Any easy fixes or do I need to get a media player?

MKV is just a container. So, it keeps everything original from the movie without the extras. Handbrake is transcoding the movie. So if you want the movie's original video /sudio you will need a different media player. Unless your bluray player has other formats it can recognize.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-25-2012, 08:57 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
geoff2664's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

MKV is just a container. So, it keeps everything original from the movie without the extras. Handbrake is transcoding the movie. So if you want the movie's original video /sudio you will need a different media player. Unless your bluray player has other formats it can recognize.

Awesome. Makes perfect sense Gus. Thanks for breaking it down for the layman!
geoff2664 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 03-25-2012, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoff2664 View Post

Awesome. Makes perfect sense Gus. Thanks for breaking it down for the layman!

No problem. I learned all this from reading posts and asking questions on this forum. If you have any other questions let us know.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-25-2012, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
geoff2664's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

No problem. I learned all this from reading posts and asking questions on this forum. If you have any other questions let us know.

In fact I do... Just went out and bought the Boxee Box. Works great for what I need. I have to ask though, if it can play the VOB files is there any benefit to converting to MKV? Will the resolution and audio be the same? Any reason I'd want to choose one over the other? If I'm ripping the main title from the DVD to my hard drive and there's no quality advantage for either, it seems like I'd want to stick with the VOB in case I ever want to burn a duplicate disc. Or am I missing something?
geoff2664 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-25-2012, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,431
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoff2664 View Post

In fact I do... Just went out and bought the Boxee Box. Works great for what I need. I have to ask though, if it can play the VOB files is there any benefit to converting to MKV? Will the resolution and audio be the same? Any reason I'd want to choose one over the other? If I'm ripping the main title from the DVD to my hard drive and there's no quality advantage for either, it seems like I'd want to stick with the VOB in case I ever want to burn a duplicate disc. Or am I missing something?

You can do that as well, and keep them as VOB. I use ClownBD for bluray main movie only and MakeMKV for SD main movies only. I've got two different media player, and they both play those files without issues.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off