Popbox or Dune? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 04-02-2012, 09:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tulsaweather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a boxee and am sick and tired of the inability to play HD audio without dropouts.

I'm after a media player that will:
-play .mkvs from my server over network
-must have HD audio flawlessly
-wired network (is 100bt fast enough?)
-IR remote.

wondering if popbox v8 will be fine, or if I should spend 3x more for the Dune D1...

thoughts?
tulsaweather is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 04-02-2012, 09:27 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,922
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 907 Post(s)
Liked: 808
What about an A300? My old C200 still works well but I like my Boxee interface much better.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 04-02-2012, 10:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 59
yes v8 will do what you want it to do.
halfelite is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 04-02-2012, 11:31 PM
 
streamerlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
if you can afford it buy a dune and be done with wondering. 'nuff said.
streamerlover is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 04-03-2012, 12:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Litlgi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Spend 3X more!

The world ends when you're dead. Until then, you got more punishment in store. Stand it like a man -- and give some back.

~ Swearengen
Litlgi74 is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 04-03-2012, 07:28 AM
LVS
Advanced Member
 
LVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

yes v8 will do what you want it to do.

How is the UI on the V8, as far as downloading thumbs and metadata and presenting it? Does it compare to Boxee Box?
LVS is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 04-03-2012, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,919
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 68
PopBox v8's own movie jukebox is very limited, so you'll want to opt for the Eversion/YAMJ app, which gives you a great, full-featured jukebox. Much better than Boxee's.

By the way, I'm selling my barely used v8 if someone's interested. I got an A-300, and don't need the v8 as well. PM me if interested.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 04-03-2012, 08:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
I love my Dune D1 combine with Zappiti, "it just works." Easy, fast, simple and reliable. I was thinking of buying another Dune player to replace my AIOS, which has become too much work to maintain, but the price increase on the Dune has made me look else where.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #9 of 18 Old 04-03-2012, 09:08 AM
LVS
Advanced Member
 
LVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
^ I agree, I would love to have a Dune but they were priced high to begin with before the price increase. If Boxee would just fix the HD Audio issue I would be happy with it for now.
LVS is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 04-03-2012, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by LVS View Post

^ I agree, I would love to have a Dune but they were priced high to begin with before the price increase. If Boxee would just fix the HD Audio issue I would be happy with it for now.

Does boxee box recognize full BD ISO menu?

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #11 of 18 Old 04-03-2012, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,919
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:


Does boxee box recognize full BD ISO menu?

Nope. It'll play the main movie, but no BD menus.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 04-03-2012, 09:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Nope. It'll play the main movie, but no BD menus.

Darn it I guess is back to either buying a PCH or Dune...better start saving

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #13 of 18 Old 04-03-2012, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by LVS View Post

How is the UI on the V8, as far as downloading thumbs and metadata and presenting it? Does it compare to Boxee Box?

The v8 is very basic UI, you can do filemode/display cover in you can see it in action here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cxeAN...eature=related its not near the boxee UI, if you want something like the boxee UI you have to do like the other user said and go with a yamj/eversion setup, which is a jukebox that runs on your pc to create the metadate and eversion is a flash app the popbox runs.
halfelite is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 04-03-2012, 01:40 PM
LVS
Advanced Member
 
LVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
^thanks for the link and the info. latest fireside chat with Avner of Boxee shows no hope for a boxee fix for the audio issue, so I guess I am looking for a new player. Dang, I like the simplicity of the boxee box. Does the A300 support 3d blu-ray (frame packed)? I don't believe the Dune players do currently.
LVS is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 04-03-2012, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,919
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Only the Realtek 1186-based streamers support frame-packed 3D Blu-rays. So, HiMedia HD900B, Micca EP600 G2 & EP950, etc.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 04-03-2012, 02:04 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,922
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 907 Post(s)
Liked: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Nope. It'll play the main movie, but no BD menus.

It does allow you to select a different video from the BD ISO. But it isn't listed by a name based title. There are only a handful of titles that require full BD menu capability for playback. For those few titles I use my C200, otherwise I prefer to use my Boxee Boxes since it does a great job with aggregating my content plus has a quick interface.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 04-03-2012, 02:21 PM
Member
 
Eric Porter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Downers Grove IL
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Keep an eye on ebay for a used Dune. I was thinking about getting Boxee or some other streamer for my new setup in my bedroom but was able to snag a H1 for under 200.00 a couple of weeks ago and just missed out on a max for 150.00
Eric Porter is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 04-03-2012, 06:29 PM
 
streamerlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Porter View Post

Keep an eye on ebay for a used Dune. I was thinking about getting Boxee or some other streamer for my new setup in my bedroom but was able to snag a H1 for under 200.00 a couple of weeks ago and just missed out on a max for 150.00

saw those. I wish I would have seen them when they were listed. the b1 was a steal as well..
streamerlover is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off