Roku is the best for internet streaming only... right? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 04-10-2012, 06:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Emerlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have spent some time looking streaming only devices, and have questions. I have a couple of HTPC and a WHS so I that covered with ripped movies, music, etc.... works great.

I would like to add an internet streaming only devices as a replacement to cable tv. I am hoping to get cable news, sports, and replace some cable channels. I have not closely looked at hulu + but I have a feeling that it will be something I subscribe to.

Am I correct in assuming Roku is the best solution for me? I have read about some private channels, but they seem dubious in nature. Justin.tv being one of them.

I guess I am a cable cutter - any advice?

tia
Emerlin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 04-10-2012, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
subavision212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I've had four Roku units for a little over two years and I think they are great little units. Check this link for listings of almost all the channels, both public, private and in the roku store, and if you do bit of research you can probably find out more info. I've never had a problem with them, three are wired and one is wireless.
http://streamfree.tv/apps/

subavision212 is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 04-11-2012, 07:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Roku is a good option. I have two (of the older ones) myself.

Just be aware that only the most expensive one has an ethernet port for wired internet connections.

There was a new player that was just announced the other day. No idea about it beyond the link I read below, but it does have a wired network connection and a low pricepoint ($48 online.)

http://www.engadget.com/2012/04/10/d...-media-player/

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 04-11-2012, 10:24 AM
Senior Member
 
rdb4133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Plex is also compatible with Roku
rdb4133 is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 04-11-2012, 10:43 AM
Senior Member
 
gmd024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suntan View Post

Roku is a good option. I have two (of the older ones) myself.

Just be aware that only the most expensive one has an ethernet port for wired internet connections.

There was a new player that was just announced the other day. No idea about it beyond the link I read below, but it does have a wired network connection and a low pricepoint ($48 online.)

http://www.engadget.com/2012/04/10/d...-media-player/

-Suntan

Picked one up at Walmart yesterday, returned it today - I misunderstood a review about the MovieNite - I thought it would stream local content - but of course it does not!

It does just what it's advertized to do and setting it up is quite simple and fast - although for using only 1A of power, the top of the case felt pretty warm (but not hot)

But IMO, purchase a Roku - it offers waaay more content/channels
gmd024 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 04-11-2012, 10:48 AM
Senior Member
 
gmd024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by subavision212 View Post

I've had four Roku units for a little over two years and I think they are great little units. Check this link for listings of almost all the channels, both public, private and in the roku store, and if you do bit of research you can probably find out more info. I've never had a problem with them, three are wired and one is wireless.
http://streamfree.tv/apps/

http://www.almostaccurate.com/roku/

http://jeffthomann.wordpress.com/201...-podcast-urls/

http://catastrophegirlsrokuchanneldata.blogspot.com/
gmd024 is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 04-11-2012, 10:57 AM
Senior Member
 
gmd024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've purchased four Roku 2's since the 1st of this year (3 XS's and an LT that came with a lifetime license for the PlayOn UPnP Server) - two of them were given to my daughter - and no problems with any of them

I've not tried the Plex channel, but I understand it works fine with the Roku - my Boxee Boxes serve me well for streaming a fairly large local media library
gmd024 is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 04-11-2012, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdb4133 View Post

Plex is also compatible with Roku

Could you elaborate? I've seen a few snippets about plex here and there, but I've never really looked into it.

What does it do for/with a roku? Is it just another channel you add that gives you access to local content or something?

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 04-11-2012, 08:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suntan View Post

Could you elaborate? I've seen a few snippets about plex here and there, but I've never really looked into it.

What does it do for/with a roku? Is it just another channel you add that gives you access to local content or something?

-Suntan

It's a channel. You need to run the Plex Media Server software on a PC that hosts your media. The software will then stream all your content to your Roku. If the video is in a file/format that the Roku does not support, then the software will transcode the file into something the Roku understands. It's a completely brilliant piece of software, and I recommend you try it out for yourself. Transcoding is a very processor intensive tasks, though, so slower computers might struggle.
lockdown571 is online now  
post #10 of 13 Old 04-12-2012, 04:16 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,416
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 636 Post(s)
Liked: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post

It's a channel. You need to run the Plex Media Server software on a PC that hosts your media. The software will then stream all your content to your Roku. If the video is in a file/format that the Roku does not support, then the software will transcode the file into something the Roku understands. It's a completely brilliant piece of software, and I recommend you try it out for yourself. Transcoding is a very processor intensive tasks, though, so slower computers might struggle.

I thought it didn't work with ISOs? Most of my content is in ISO containers.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 04-12-2012, 07:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post

It's a channel. You need to run the Plex Media Server software on a PC that hosts your media. The software will then stream all your content to your Roku. If the video is in a file/format that the Roku does not support, then the software will transcode the file into something the Roku understands. It's a completely brilliant piece of software, and I recommend you try it out for yourself. Transcoding is a very processor intensive tasks, though, so slower computers might struggle.

Eh. Doesn't sound that appealing if it is just another local content transcoder app setup. I have no need for that.

I guess I don't know what I was hoping it to be, but I have no need for accessing local content.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 04-12-2012, 09:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

I thought it didn't work with ISOs? Most of my content is in ISO containers.

That's true. It does not work with ISOs. I can definitely see the appeal of using ISOs, but once you convert everything to uncompressed mkv's, you can do so much more with your content. Plex lets you stream your content anywhere in the world, whether it be on your phone, laptop, Roku, or a number of other supported devices.
lockdown571 is online now  
post #13 of 13 Old 04-12-2012, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post

That's true. It does not work with ISOs. I can definitely see the appeal of using ISOs, but once you convert everything to uncompressed mkv's, you can do so much more with your content. Plex lets you stream your content anywhere in the world, whether it be on your phone, laptop, Roku, or a number of other supported devices.

Plex on the Roku is really very nice ( Plex in general is great). But, it seems to have problems for now with SD content. That seems to be a Roku firmware issue but it's been happening for a couple of months. HD is fine though.

philip
pmcd is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off