eGreat or MPLAY-HD or something else? I'm just lost. - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 48 Old 04-23-2012, 02:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt_Stevens View Post

I had tried talking with the manufacturer (eGreat) and the seller, but neither would respond. So today I went to Amazon to do a return.

So I am back to square one.

What should I choose?

I don't want 1024/24 stuttering (I would settle for proper 1080p/60Hz playback though, since I would have little 24fps content).

I need proper subtitle playback.

I need proper audio playback (not just stereo).

And I need the price to be under $200 shipped. Under $125 would be great.

Maybe I just order another R6B and see if it has the same issue?

It's hard to find an inexpensive media player that can do "most of the things right." PCH-A300 its about $250 shipped. Mede8er?

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 48 Old 04-23-2012, 03:19 PM
LVS
Advanced Member
 
LVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Popbox V8 is working well for me. DVD video_ts, Blu-ray mkv and iso with hd audio, and at $149 shipped is isn't too bad. I found one on here for a bit less.
LVS is offline  
post #33 of 48 Old 04-23-2012, 03:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Hey LVS, glad it's working out for you. So, I'm guessing you solved your earlier issues with ISO's and MKV's.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #34 of 48 Old 04-23-2012, 05:41 PM
Member
 
PawPawDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt_Stevens View Post

Well, as stated, I chose the eGreat R6B. it's plays mkv files and some AVI's. But anything NOT an mkv can result in the pink color of the main menu not going away during playback.

My R100 (Realtek 1185) does not have pink problem. If you don't want to try Egreat again may be Himedia.
PawPawDog is offline  
post #35 of 48 Old 04-23-2012, 05:43 PM
Member
 
PawPawDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

It's hard to find an inexpensive media player that can do "most of the things right." PCH-A300 its about $250 shipped. Mede8er?

PCH would not meet his subtitle requirement. I have PCH A200 and find it wanting on subtitle.
PawPawDog is offline  
post #36 of 48 Old 04-23-2012, 05:55 PM
Member
 
PawPawDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by perchancetodream View Post

I completely disagree!

Well, that depends. I have players based on Sigma 864X, Realtek 1073 and 1185. While Sigma is superior in PQ and AQ, and possibly better BD ISO support but its compatibility in video formats is less than Realtek. Also ,for better for worst, most the Realtek players are more or less based on Realtek's reference design but the Sigma players can be very different from one and other. For example my Egreat S1 (Sigma 8643) has excellent subtitle support while Netgear NeoTV 550 (Sigma 8642) is THE worst on subtitle.
PawPawDog is offline  
post #37 of 48 Old 04-24-2012, 02:04 AM
Member
 
perchancetodream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by PawPawDog View Post

For example my Egreat S1 (Sigma 8643) has excellent subtitle support while Netgear NeoTV 550 (Sigma 8642) is THE worst on subtitle.

You mean your Egreat S2 or S5A, right?
perchancetodream is offline  
post #38 of 48 Old 04-24-2012, 09:47 AM
Member
 
PawPawDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by perchancetodream View Post

You mean your Egreat S2 or S5A, right?

Sorry, I meant S100 not S1. S100 is the last Egreat Sigma 864X player.
PawPawDog is offline  
post #39 of 48 Old 04-25-2012, 02:29 AM
Member
 
Arslanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dune or Xtreamer, imho egreat - BS.
Arslanx is offline  
post #40 of 48 Old 04-25-2012, 02:32 AM
Member
 
Arslanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
or popcornhour, but since I sold my PCH I prefer dune or xtreamer
Arslanx is offline  
post #41 of 48 Old 04-25-2012, 08:28 AM
LVS
Advanced Member
 
LVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Hey LVS, glad it's working out for you. So, I'm guessing you solved your earlier issues with ISO's and MKV's.

Brajesh, just now saw this sorry... Well, yes and no. Not sure why the Drive Angry bluray is stuttering because it wasn't 3D as I ripped the 2d version only but the other one was because it was ripped as 3D MKV. I got audio but just a blank screen. My boxee box extracts the 2d rip fine from the 3D MKV and plays Drive Angry as well so not exactly sure, however everything else has played.

I noticed last night though that it won't pass PCM through, but takes the AC3 secondary audio instead and selecting Audio shows 2 tracks but both play AC3 instead of PCM, and again the boxee box plays the pcm fine on the same rips.
LVS is offline  
post #42 of 48 Old 04-25-2012, 11:29 AM
Member
 
PawPawDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arslanx View Post

or popcornhour, but since I sold my PCH I prefer dune or xtreamer

Did you read what OP wants the player be able to do with foreign subtitles?
PawPawDog is offline  
post #43 of 48 Old 04-27-2012, 04:42 AM
Member
 
Arslanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd never seen problems with with foreign subtitles. By the way I'm Ukrainian so sometimes I see Russian and English subtitles, so I'm sure this is not a problem for described players.
Now I recommend this: Xtreamer Sidewinder 3rd
Arslanx is offline  
post #44 of 48 Old 04-27-2012, 06:22 AM
Member
 
Arslanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt_Stevens View Post

Thanks, but that is not very specific. Both have multiple models, most I see way out of my price range. None of the Dune's are under $200 that I can see.

Dune HD TV-101: http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from...Dune+HD+TV-101 ?
Arslanx is offline  
post #45 of 48 Old 04-27-2012, 10:04 AM
Member
 
PawPawDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arslanx View Post

I'd never seen problems with with foreign subtitles. By the way I'm Ukrainian so sometimes I see Russian and English subtitles, so I'm sure this is not a problem for described players.
Now I recommend this: Xtreamer Sidewinder 3rd

Just take PCH for example. Can it handle foreign subtilte? Sure it can but not nearly as easy as Egreat in the sense that 1. It can not handle multi external subs. It can only handle ONE and that has to has the same name as the vidoe. 2. It does not auto detect the encodeing of the sub. You have to change it on the setting which is a pain if you costantly use differnt encoding for different languages. This same probelm can be said for many if not most the common brands sold in US.
PawPawDog is offline  
post #46 of 48 Old 04-27-2012, 10:08 AM
Member
 
Arslanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, i sold my PCH. Now I use Dune/Xtreamer and I do not see described problems.
Arslanx is offline  
post #47 of 48 Old 04-27-2012, 10:34 AM
Member
 
PawPawDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arslanx View Post

Dune HD TV-101: http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from...Dune+HD+TV-101 ?

The spec did not mention any thing on HD audio passthrough. I have not seen players based on Sigma 867x can passthrough all HD audio formats.
PawPawDog is offline  
post #48 of 48 Old 04-27-2012, 10:45 AM
Member
 
Arslanx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do not know. I prefer Dune HD Smart B1. May be you find something interesting here: http://www.avforums.com/forums/strea...une-tv101.html
Arslanx is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off