Stream Flac files to Yamaha AVR - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 12 Old 04-23-2012, 11:01 AM - Thread Starter
gce

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok, here I go. I'm a total newbee at this so I'm hoping for detailed answers not just you need to get this or that. I would need to know how to configure all whatever I need step by step. I'm thinking others would benefit from this also.

I'm trying to stream Flac files to my Yamaha Aventage AVR. The AVR supports Flac files. The AVR manual says that I need some kind of server software for sharing Flac files via a DLNA/UPnP on my PC.

What I've done is download all kinds of media servers like J Rivers that are cool but I have no idea how to configure them for this and even if they are the right software. I downloaded a sample of Flac files from HDtracks.com. I had to get the codec so I could play them on my PC using WMP. All the media servers I tried play them because they all have the right codec in them. My AVR sees the Flac files through my network but won't play them.

I finally gave up and loaded the Flac files on a USB stick, stuck it in the front of my AVR and they played perfectly. So now that I've heard them I want to get this going the right way on a PC or some kind of storage devise so I can stream them to the AVR..

So what's the best way to go about this and how do I configure it???

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 04-23-2012, 05:25 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I had a very similar question a few weeks ago. I have a Denon 3808ci which can read FLAC files directly from a USB HDD. I used it for a few years, but my wife decided to try it and really hated the interface. It is slow and clunky, but I didn't really have an issue with it.