New Netgear Gigabit wireless router - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-27-2012, 05:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ToddUGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eastman, Georgia
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Anybody else excited to see what the new Netgear R6300 802.11ac gigabit WiFi router can do? I've been using MoCa to stream to my WMC PC but have never been able to stream full bitrate rips with lossless audio reliably. May give these a try when they are released in May.

ToddUGA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-27-2012, 05:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I am... even if they perform 1/2 as well as expected, it should be plenty fast for streaming 1:1 1080p BD rips. Did read range may be less than wireless G/N, so we'll have to see how that goes.

As it'll take a while for media streamers to add 'ac' or provide 'ac' USB dongles, I expect there will be 'ac' wireless access point devices available.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 04-27-2012, 06:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
mbryanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Some good info..probably already read by those here.
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wirel...ghz-wi-fi-band
mbryanr is online now  
post #4 of 6 Old 04-27-2012, 06:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ToddUGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Eastman, Georgia
Posts: 1,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbryanr View Post

Some good info..probably already read by those here.
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wirel...ghz-wi-fi-band

I haven't seen that before. Looks like interesting reading.

ToddUGA is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 04-27-2012, 04:40 PM
Senior Member
 
StratmanX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Don't put the cart before the horse. You need a client capable of 1300 Mbps on the 5 GHz band. There are only a handful capable of "only" 450 Mbps as of now, let alone any that can connect at 1300 Mbps.
StratmanX is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 04-28-2012, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
brickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: chicago
Posts: 6,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Agree, I have nothing in my house that will support this new standard. Also does suck that I just bought the N900,$20 cheaper 2 weeks ago. I will say that the n900 is an awesome router.Haven't lost the signal once since I installed it. I've got a 2 yr warranty on it which includes walking in store for comparable replacement so eventually I will try it out.LOL

brickie

AM I THE ONLY OASIS IN THE DESERT OF STUPIDITY......" SIR BRICKENBOCKER"
brickie is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off