Best setup for streaming HD content from Laptop/External Hard Drive - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 05-08-2012, 06:18 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey guys,

I am a noob to the HT enthusiast arena and I've been lurking around avs for some time now and thanks to the great deal of info discussed already, I never had the need to post anything on here. Almost all my questions have been answered already except one. I know my title may sound like something that's been asked a thousand times before but even after using the search function and checking other sources online, I've not been able to find a proper solution to my conundrum. It's actually more of a "what do you suggest/recommend" kinda question rather than a problem. And before I go on I apologize if this has been discussed already but my "not-so-comprehensive" search did not lead me anywhere decisive so here it goes.

Being a noob to the HT scene, I only recently bought most of my equipment including towers, receiver, sub and center channels. I am also looking at a pair of bookshelfs for surrounds. As a result, I am somewhat limited on my budget (probly 200 max for what I am looking-discussed further down)

My current setup for streaming
Laptop : a not very impressive HP dv6 with a 4gb ram and a dual core processor

Streaming device : PS3

Streaming server : PS3 media server on my laptop

I just ordered a belkin dual-band N router and a set of Cat6 cables (I'm assuming this setup should be sufficient enough for smooth streaming provided everything else is perfect)

When I stream the HD files from my laptop, there is considerable stuttering that occurs like 5-6 times during a movie. I know that my current setup is not ideal for streaming and that is why I'm seeking you guys' help on what I could do to make it better.