Is ethernet over coax dead for retail? - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Gaming & Content Streaming > Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming > Is ethernet over coax dead for retail?

Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

scottyja's Avatar scottyja
05:14 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 17
05-08-2012 | Posts: 123
Joined: Mar 2006
We're moving in to a new house at the end of the month and it is not prewired with Cat5e/6 - it might have Cat5 behind the phone outlets. I need to connect the office, which will have the cable modem, wireless router, NAS and office computer (plus laptop) with the basement which will have the Wii and Media Center PC and with the living room, which will have the Xbox 360, acting as a Media Center extender.

I originally thought about powerline adapters, but the basement is on a separate sub-panel and I don't think I would get great performance there. Someone recommended MoCA bridges, which I think will work well - there is no shortage of coax connections in the house.

The only problem is I can't find any retail store (local or online) that has them in stock. I'm looking for either the Actiontec, Netgear or D-link products. All 3 show out of stock at newegg, amazon, Walmart, Best-Buy, etc... all I see are off-sites I've never heard of. Am I missing something? Are all the main producers giving up on these in the retail market. If so, that's a shame, these seem to be exactly what I need. Are there other brands or retailers I should consider?
WS65711's Avatar WS65711
05:40 PM Liked: 102
post #2 of 17
05-08-2012 | Posts: 4,270
Joined: Mar 2003
I bought the NetGear adapters recently from Amazon seller Adams Cable Equipment in Kansas. They seller was great.. very fast shipping, careful packing. I think they go in and out of stock often there, check every day or two.
scottyja's Avatar scottyja
06:03 PM Liked: 10
post #3 of 17
05-08-2012 | Posts: 123
Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by WS65711 View Post

I bought the NetGear adapters recently from Amazon seller Adams Cable Equipment in Kansas. They seller was great.. very fast shipping, careful packing. I think they go in and out of stock often there, check every day or two.

That's good to know. I always hesitate making significant purchases from online-retailers I don't recognize. Amazon does have a Channel Master version (CM-6000) that seems to be MoCA 1.1, so I'd assume it's the same internals as the others.
b curry's Avatar b curry
06:34 PM Liked: 40
post #4 of 17
05-08-2012 | Posts: 2,689
Joined: Feb 2002
In general, inventory seem to sell out fast. I would go with Netgear or Actiontec. Actiontec is easer to find in stock for some reason.

The other point is that MoCA 2.0 will be coming to market probably 4Q this year. So I think inventories will start to dry up on current product. Netgear has become very difficult to find.

MoCA 2.0 will have:

• Two new performance modes with industry leading MAC
and PHY rates. — 400 Mbps and 800 Mpbs — “Turbo”
mode for each.
• Two new low power modes — sleep and standby —
addressing power consumption across entire network
• Expanded operating frequency from 500 MHz – 1650 MHz
• Improved reliability with one packet error in 100 million
packets, and a lower latency of 3.5ms
• Backward compatibility with 1.0 and 1.1 without
degradation in performance


EDIT: Just took a quick look, the Channel Master units look good.
aaronwt's Avatar aaronwt
08:21 PM Liked: 873
post #5 of 17
05-08-2012 | Posts: 22,346
Joined: Aug 2001
The Dlink MoCA adapters will work just as well as the Netgear or Actiontec ones. I've been using two of the Dlink ones for almost two years(I only use Dlink network equipment now) and have never had any issues. Plus they are smaller than some of the other brands. Like Actiontec. I already had three of the FiOS Actiontec routers gathering dust in my closet that I could have used for the MoCA connections, but they are so large. I needed something smaller.
fcwilt's Avatar fcwilt
08:57 AM Liked: 24
post #6 of 17
05-09-2012 | Posts: 1,154
Joined: Aug 2007
Sort of on topic - did you know that early implementations of ethernet WERE over coax?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/10BASE5

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/10BASE2
b curry's Avatar b curry
09:22 AM Liked: 40
post #7 of 17
05-09-2012 | Posts: 2,689
Joined: Feb 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by fcwilt View Post

Sort of on topic - did you know that early implementations of ethernet WERE over coax?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/10BASE5

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/10BASE2

Yes. But the bigger difference is Baseband vs. Broadband.
fcwilt's Avatar fcwilt
09:40 AM Liked: 24
post #8 of 17
05-09-2012 | Posts: 1,154
Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by b curry View Post

Yes. But the bigger difference is Baseband vs. Broadband.

Pardon?

I wasn't talking about any differences - just pointing out a bit of ethernet history.

Are you referring to MoCA being broadband?
scottyja's Avatar scottyja
10:08 AM Liked: 10
post #9 of 17
05-09-2012 | Posts: 123
Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by b curry View Post

Just took a quick look, the Channel Master units look good.

I was looking at the documentation for the CM600x and doesn't look like you can configure password protection/encryption or change the frequencies for the devices. I think all the other MoCA 1.1 devices I've looked at allow this. That's unfortunate.
b curry's Avatar b curry
11:12 AM Liked: 40
post #10 of 17
05-09-2012 | Posts: 2,689
Joined: Feb 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottyja View Post

I was looking at the documentation for the CM600x and doesn't look like you can configure password protection/encryption or change the frequencies for the devices. I think all the other MoCA 1.1 devices I've looked at allow this. That's unfortunate.

That's why you want to use a POE filter. The filter stops your network from leaking outside. You can change frequencies or put a password on but if the MoCA frequencies leak back up the provider side someone could still hack it.
b curry's Avatar b curry
11:23 AM Liked: 40
post #11 of 17
05-09-2012 | Posts: 2,689
Joined: Feb 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by fcwilt View Post

Pardon?

I wasn't talking about any differences - just pointing out a bit of ethernet history.

Are you referring to MoCA being broadband?

Your reference links were Baseband Ethernet over coax.

Sorry, I didn't think coax based Ethernet topology was unknown. Ethernet standards also included fiber optic and twisted pair. I guess I'm too old.
fcwilt's Avatar fcwilt
11:54 AM Liked: 24
post #12 of 17
05-09-2012 | Posts: 1,154
Joined: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by b curry View Post

Sorry, I didn't think coax based Ethernet topology was unknown. I guess I'm too old.

Well I'm 62 and I haven't run into too many young folk who know anything other then ethernet over TP.

Some of the first networks I worked on used a token passing protocol called ARCNET - nobody seems to have heard of that - but for the time it was fairly advanced.

Ahh... the good old days.
b curry's Avatar b curry
12:19 PM Liked: 40
post #13 of 17
05-09-2012 | Posts: 2,689
Joined: Feb 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by fcwilt View Post

Well I'm 62 and I haven't run into too many young folk who know anything other then ethernet over TP.

Some of the first networks I worked on used a token passing protocol called ARCNET - nobody seems to have heard of that - but for the time it was fairly advanced.

Ahh... the good old days.

Well, I'm younger by two years. Yes, I remember when voice over data with TP was a hard sell. People wanted coax.

ARCNET - hummm... I think I still have a book here someplace... My introduction to some of this stuff was from a guy in the Navy in that funny star shaped building.
WS65711's Avatar WS65711
12:36 PM Liked: 102
post #14 of 17
05-09-2012 | Posts: 4,270
Joined: Mar 2003
This has been sitting in a corner of my office for a VERY long time . . .


LL
b curry's Avatar b curry
12:46 PM Liked: 40
post #15 of 17
05-09-2012 | Posts: 2,689
Joined: Feb 2002
There you go...

All boiled down into an article that can be read in the time it takes to have a slow comfortable crap.
StratmanX's Avatar StratmanX
05:46 PM Liked: 23
post #16 of 17
05-09-2012 | Posts: 261
Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by b curry View Post

There you go...

All boiled down into an article that can be read in the time it takes to have a slow comfortable crap.

That was back in the day when PC Magazine was worth a crap. Dvorak was a hoot.
b curry's Avatar b curry
06:35 PM Liked: 40
post #17 of 17
05-09-2012 | Posts: 2,689
Joined: Feb 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by StratmanX View Post

That was back in the day when PC Magazine was worth a crap. Dvorak was a hoot.

As far as I know he still is... We share the same birth date and year.

I preferred the weekly InfoWorld.

Did you have an Osborne?

http://www.dvorak.org/blog/
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3