Exhaustive Micca EP600 G2 review - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 132 Old 05-13-2013, 03:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 592
I had high hopes for Micca, but I just can't buy a media player that does not support a jukebox, which is something I was told Micca / HiMedia was working on. I was very close to buying one, but I am glad I didn't make the mistake of buying one. As soon as I found out that HiMedia was not supporting their media player anymore, I knew Micca was probably not going to support their media player either.

There are a lot of media players out there, but at the moment the top three are Mede8er, Dune and PCH. I've owned different brands of media players, and at the moment I own 2 Dunes. A Dune Smart Series D1 and Dune TV303D. I do not play any 3D movies, but if I was thinking of buying a media player for 3D, I would go with Mede8er. The only thing I do not like about the Mede8er is that they don't have a fully supported jukebox. You have to use one program for movies and another for TV shows.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 132 Old 05-23-2013, 06:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
richmond5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The unit plays some BD 3D iso movies with lossless sound but not some, any reason?
richmond5 is offline  
post #123 of 132 Old 12-19-2013, 12:16 AM
Senior Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 29

Hey everyone, I am a long time lurker / First Time Poster.

 

I just got a EP600 G2 as a present and was wondering if anyone else had issues with audio when trying to "Up Convert" from the default setting of 720p up to 1080p?

 

This happens when playing Ripped DVDs from a Network Share as well as a USB Hard Drive Connected directly to the unit with every movie that I tried. I thought that "Up Converting" was one of the selling points.

 

I have the latest / greatest firmware according to their website.

 

I e-mailed them with everything but an order # and they requested an order # which I provided and haven't heard back yet.

funhouse69 is offline  
post #124 of 132 Old 12-19-2013, 12:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by funhouse69 View Post

Hey everyone, I am a long time lurker / First Time Poster.

I just got a EP600 G2 as a present and was wondering if anyone else had issues with audio when trying to "Up Convert" from the default setting of 720p up to 1080p?

This happens when playing Ripped DVDs from a Network Share as well as a USB Hard Drive Connected directly to the unit with every movie that I tried. I thought that "Up Converting" was one of the selling points.

I have the latest / greatest firmware according to their website.

I e-mailed them with everything but an order # and they requested an order # which I provided and haven't heard back yet.

Hopefully someone can help you out. I ran away from Micca products as soonest as the person who was providing support on this forum stopped answering questions.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #125 of 132 Old 12-19-2013, 12:26 AM
Senior Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 29

Thanks for the iformation, I am beginning to think that this might be something to return and look in to another / different media player. I see many threads but have no clue what to get. Do I go with Popcorn, Dune? It seems like some people aren't very happy with either of them. Hopefully I can find something that suits my needs.

funhouse69 is offline  
post #126 of 132 Old 12-19-2013, 12:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by funhouse69 View Post

Thanks for the iformation, I am beginning to think that this might be something to return and look in to another / different media player. I see many threads but have no clue what to get. Do I go with Popcorn, Dune? It seems like some people aren't very happy with either of them. Hopefully I can find something that suits my needs.

Yeah, it is pretty difficult to find something that works for you. I went through 5 different media players, and I found my Dune Smart Series D1 to be the best out of all of them, but the Dunes are expensive. The top 3 media players at the moment are Dune, Mede8er and PCH. I am not sure, which WDTV media players support HD sound tracks now.

Another option would be using a HTPC.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #127 of 132 Old 12-19-2013, 11:34 PM
Senior Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 29

Well I got a response from Micca Tech Support and their suggestion was that there sounds like there is something wrong with the unit and suggested returning it to Amazon or do an RMA Through them. I will see if I can post a question somewhere for suggestions on what kind of a player might work for me.

funhouse69 is offline  
post #128 of 132 Old 01-04-2014, 07:17 AM
Newbie
 
infidex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought the 600, usb flash drive works but my 3tb Seagate usb drive isn't recognized, have formatted it every way possible and even tried partitioning. Anyone have any suggestions.
infidex is offline  
post #129 of 132 Old 01-04-2014, 09:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by infidex View Post

Just bought the 600, usb flash drive works but my 3tb Seagate usb drive isn't recognized, have formatted it every way possible and even tried partitioning. Anyone have any suggestions.

I'm surprised people still buy Micca products. If you decide to keep it good luck. if not returning it if you can.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #130 of 132 Old 01-21-2014, 09:06 AM
Member
 
80sMetalForever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
did you try to "Safely eject" the drive from computer? My WD Live will sometimes give me guff if I don't do this
80sMetalForever is offline  
post #131 of 132 Old 02-06-2014, 09:54 AM
Newbie
 
DPEPE1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello everybody. After reading all this pages i am stuck in something with my new ep600 g2

 

I am using a router TL-wdr3600 with dd-wrt and optware, mini dlna and transmission.


The micca get the movie but it only show embedded subtitles, i am brazilian and I am trying to use .srt subtitles with the same name as the file like:

 

carrie2012.mkv

carrie2012.srt

 

If I plug it at the USB I can get all kind of subtitles but the streaming is not working. My mini dlna is 1.0.25 and I read it support subtitles...

 

can someone please halp?

 

thanks

DPEPE1313 is offline  
post #132 of 132 Old 04-19-2014, 06:33 PM
Newbie
 
Luke VanNatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I am having the exact same issue except mine is 4TB that I've been using flawlessly for weeks and now all of the sudden, I can't get the Micca to recognize it.  I assumed that it recognized it for so long because the drive wasn't completely full until recently so I moved a bunch of files off of it to get the drive under 3TB and it STILL won't work.  Works fine with a 1.5 TB WD Passport.

Luke VanNatter is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Micca Ep600 G2 1080p Full Hd Digital Media Player With 3d Playback 7 1 Hd Audio , Micca Ep950 1080p 3d Digital Media Player With Gigabit Network Usb 3 0 And 3 5 Inch Hdd Drive Bay
Gear in this thread - Ep950 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off