wifi or wired for outdoor shack 250 ft away? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 05-25-2012, 02:22 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
leiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: sanfrancisco
Posts: 649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ran about 400 ft. of cat 5 ethernet to my Squeezebox touch in my workshop with success in, but since it wasn't outdoor rated it got chewed through. Lucky it lasted lasted as long as it did- almost 2 years. My house modem is uverse so I don't believe it supports any repeater type function. There is a shack that has power outlet half way between house and workshop. My original shop ethernet run goes through this shack and still works upto this point so I put a spare router I have; A d-655dlink router in this shack and hooked it up to ethernet from house and it was able to retransmit my wifi. Unfortunantly the signal isn't quite strong enough to reach my shop. Squeezebox sees network but can't connect. Unlike my house'es 2wire 266 network The network ID shows as Dlink on the D-655. Does this mean even if I'm somehow able to boost the D-655 signal from shack to shop the squeezebox will not be able to use the mini squeexebox server in my SB touch to stream music from memory card to all my squeezeboxes in both house and workshop? Or... who knows how much $ for a 250 ft. spool of outdoor Ethernet? I already tried power ethernet to no avail.
leiff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 05-25-2012, 02:46 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
leiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: sanfrancisco
Posts: 649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
couldn't find 250 or 300 ft spools. How about these two 500 ft spools. Both from same vendor. cheapest I could fine on Amazon. About a $100 each. More expensive one worth it?
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...A20TGAM4MIXTWN

http://www.amazon.com/AIR802-Outdoor...7981703&sr=8-2
leiff is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 05-25-2012, 03:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Ur non-stop, barely formatted post is giving me a headache.
MrBobb is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 05-25-2012, 03:33 PM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,537
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 289 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Wireless will never reach that far with a decent, usable signal. Run coax and use MoCA adapters . . .

I believe it's time to Overthrow VerticalScope..
and Bring Back Huddler!

It's a shame that in the end TCU's playoff chances all came down to this . . .

Blu-rays & DVD's
WS65711 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 05-25-2012, 04:11 PM
Member
 
ajgoyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cat 5 is only rated for a max 300ft, I would take the advice of the last poster.

Vincent Hanna: "It keeps me sharp on the edge where I gotta be."
ajgoyt is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 05-25-2012, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajgoyt View Post

Cat 5 is only rated for a max 300ft, I would take the advice of the last poster.

MoCA is rated same distance as cat5 so either way he is at the limit.
halfelite is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 05-25-2012, 05:00 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
leiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: sanfrancisco
Posts: 649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was getting a sraight 400 ft run for 2 years fine without any booster pherhaps due to low bandwith squeezebox aplication, so now that I'm terminating the run in my shack about half way with a switch I should be fine. Any feedback on linked to coils of ethernet or VS. moca pros and cons?
leiff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off