Best DLNA server for the MAC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 06-13-2012, 12:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Scott Greczkowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Newington, Connecticut
Posts: 1,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have a boat load of movies (most HD) ripped to MKV format. I am looking for a DLNA Server for the MAC so that I can watch my movies on my DISH Network Hopper (and Joeys)

Are there any good MAC DLNA Servers which transcode on the fly?

A big plus if it also supports internet streaming such as ESPN3, Netflix etc...

Thanks!

Scott
SatelliteGuys.US / MultiChannel News
Scott Greczkowski is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 06-13-2012, 12:50 PM
Member
 
drowningape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Plex media server.
drowningape is online now  
post #3 of 24 Old 06-13-2012, 01:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Scott Greczkowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Newington, Connecticut
Posts: 1,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks, I am loading it up now.

Scott
SatelliteGuys.US / MultiChannel News
Scott Greczkowski is offline  
post #4 of 24 Old 06-13-2012, 03:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
saeyedoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I like Playback, it can run in the background like other Mac programs. I haven't tried it for video myself, using it for music only. $15 for 3 licenses, well worth it. I haven't tired Plex. XBMC is nice and free, but only runs full screen.
saeyedoc is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 06-13-2012, 11:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
acebreathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: No Plfd NJ
Posts: 824
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I thought you could set the video output size in the settings on XBMC.
acebreathe is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 06-14-2012, 05:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Scott Greczkowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Newington, Connecticut
Posts: 1,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Well I tried Plex Server last night and it would not stream my HD MKV movies to my Hopper from my 2011 Macbook Pro.

I then found another server called the PS3 Media Server and I successfully got it to play one HD MKV movie! It played FLAWLESSLY! Then I stopped it and went to play it again and it wouldn't play. frown.gif

I am SO CLOSE but so far! I am guessing the issue is the PS3 Media Server does not have a transcoder profile for the DISH Hopper. frown.gif

My quest to find a DLNA server for my MAC so that I can stream to my DISH Hopper continues!

Scott
SatelliteGuys.US / MultiChannel News
Scott Greczkowski is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 06-16-2012, 12:55 PM
Newbie
 
nickld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have TVMOBiLi on my iMac and it works fine. I'm streaming mp4 files but haven't tried the mkv format.
nickld is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 06-27-2012, 06:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Scott Greczkowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Newington, Connecticut
Posts: 1,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks I grabbed TVMOBILI and tried it and it wouldn't stram anything if I selected the Hopper / Joey profile.

Then in playing with it I got it to work by switching it to the PS3 Profile!

Now everything is working great!

Thank you!

Scott
SatelliteGuys.US / MultiChannel News
Scott Greczkowski is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 07-16-2012, 05:55 PM
Newbie
 
davethetallguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Scott - where are you selecting the profile? Is there a master setting for the app or are you setting the transcoding for each movie individually?

I can only find the file-by-file setting, which seems extra annoying.
davethetallguy is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 07-16-2012, 06:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Scott Greczkowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Newington, Connecticut
Posts: 1,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Go into TvMobili then click on Status now down at the bottom you will see Discovered Devices.

You will notice that the DISH Devices have no name (You can tell them by IP address) Just go to your Hopper and Joeys and go to Menu, Settings, Network then you will see the IP address for that unit.

Now go on the right side pull downs under class, set each DISH device to the DIRECTV-CLIENT. (Not DISH Hopper/Joey Client)

I am using the latest Development version which can be grabbed at http://www.tvmobili.com/binaries/rc/tvmobili-leopard-universal.dmg

Once I have setup this way 95% of the videos I have thrown at it have played on the Hopper and Joeys. biggrin.gif

Scott
SatelliteGuys.US / MultiChannel News
Scott Greczkowski is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 01-10-2013, 09:26 AM
Newbie
 
pimpfallan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tvmobili does work well for .mkv files and many others however fast forward and rewind do not work when using with hopper. I have found that isedora while more expensive works very well as mac dlna server for on the fly transcoding, however fast forward and rewind do not work with it either. I have found that isedora is better at on the fly transcoding using ffmpeg vs. tvmobili using vlc. It also is less taxing on cpu. Has anybody found dlna server that has working fast forward and rewind with the hopper?

Thanks
pimpfallan81 is offline  
post #12 of 24 Old 01-12-2013, 07:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
dfiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Because I also use an elgato TV tuner, their EyeConnect software is preferable.

Other than randomly needing to hit the start/stop button every few weeks, it works perfectly.
dfiler is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 01-12-2013, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
djtoodles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Plex should do it. THe other device you are using to play it needs the plex app as well. roku;s and 2012 samsung tv's I know have the app.
djtoodles is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 01-23-2013, 04:02 PM
Member
 
rovenorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings ...

I downloaded Plex yesterday. The goal is to listen to music stored on a newly acquired iMac via a years ago acquired LG BD590 in my home theater a room away from the wireless router. The router also was acquired some years ago. Someday, maybe, I'll view movies via Plex too ... but one thing at a time!

Pulling out what little hair is left on my head these last twenty-four hours, I'm basically up and running. One big lesson: do *not* let the Mac go into sleep mode while accessing music. Took awhile to figure that out.

I like Plex. That stated, do I ever have questions. Like what's the difference between a "library" and a "channel," and why I can view album cover art in a library on the computer but not when viewing the library on the LG ... and a bunch of other stuff. Before I drive more knowledgable folks nuts with seriously newbie questions, can anyone point me to a thread on this forum, or a website elsewhere, or a whatever that amounts to "Plex For Dummies?" Actually, with a whole lot of dedication and hard work, I might achieve dummy status. Right now, I'm sub-dummy. I am a little surprised that Plex's "Media Manager" interface doesn't seem to have basic help available (or if it does, I can't find it). Also, the Plex user forums, or at least those I've explored thus far, are way way way over my head in terms of technical savviness.

Many thanks!
rovenorth is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 01-27-2013, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
Scott Greczkowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Newington, Connecticut
Posts: 1,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by pimpfallan81 View Post

tvmobili does work well for .mkv files and many others however fast forward and rewind do not work when using with hopper. I have found that isedora while more expensive works very well as mac dlna server for on the fly transcoding, however fast forward and rewind do not work with it either. I have found that isedora is better at on the fly transcoding using ffmpeg vs. tvmobili using vlc. It also is less taxing on cpu. Has anybody found dlna server that has working fast forward and rewind with the hopper?

Thanks
Give fast forwarding a shot now. Working good for me now. smile.gif (Was fixed in the last Hopper software update.)

Scott
SatelliteGuys.US / MultiChannel News
Scott Greczkowski is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 03-26-2013, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Rich Gibson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Annandale, VA USA
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfiler View Post

Because I also use an elgato TV tuner, their EyeConnect software is preferable.

Other than randomly needing to hit the start/stop button every few weeks, it works perfectly.

I am interested in using Eye Connect but I can't get it to see any movies or music. Would you please help me A bit? How do I go about designating the location of my movies and music?

Thanks.

Rich
Rich Gibson is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 03-27-2013, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
@rovenorth

The Library basically is the collection of all your media on local sources. You access it either via a Plex client or using a DLNA client. Your LG BD client is DLNA and will not provide the metadata that a Plex client will.

Channels are similar to XBMC Addons. For the most part they stream content over the Internet. So there are video channels which access Hulu and other sites. There are audio channels as well. The confusion arises because you can have channels which access local content such as iTunes music and iPhoto on your Plex media server.

The Plex site has a wiki which does explain quite a bit. Basically Plex is similar to XBMC but divided into two pieces- a server component and a client component. In that way it is the same model as DLNA server and client. The problem with DLNA is that you don't get the rich metadata that you get with XBMC and Plex. But you have DLNA clients on far more devices. Fortunately, the Plex media server doubles as a DLNA server and some DLNA clients, not the LG one, will give you a better metadata experience. An example is ViMu on a GTV.

Philip
pmcd is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 03-27-2013, 08:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Gibson View Post

I am interested in using Eye Connect but I can't get it to see any movies or music. Would you please help me A bit? How do I go about designating the location of my movies and music?

Thanks.

Rich

Eyeconnect isn't very flexible. There is no profiling or configuration so you can't change the mime types to suit different players. It can't see m2ts files either. Elgato don't seem to bothered about enhancing the product either. A shame.

Try playback or Serviio. Serviio offers most flexibility.
apw2607 is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 04-23-2013, 12:16 AM
Member
 
Inspector 24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Ok, so I just tried TVMobili, checked out Plex and a few others. Two hours later and I still can't stream my AIFF files to my AVR. Apparently none of them support it? Nor do the support ALAC which is no surprise...

My goal is to hear my downloaded HDTracks in all their uncompressed glory, and of course through Apple TV it down-converts to 48hz.

So what media server will support the AIFF files so I can hear them on something other than computer speakers? tongue.gif

TIA!

Down
RTiA9 - CSiA6 - FXiA6
Dual HSU VTF-15H
HCA-3500 - HCA-2003A - Marantz SR7005
Sim2 D60 - Dragonfly 106" Panasonic 500

Up
LSi9 LSiC RX-V3000 Panasonic 220
Inspector 24 is offline  
post #20 of 24 Old 04-23-2013, 06:11 PM
Member
 
Inspector 24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Well I found this for $1250!!!!!
http://www.simaudio.com/pr_180MiND.htm

Seriously, there's got to be a software option to stream high bitrate music from a Mac to an AVR....

Down
RTiA9 - CSiA6 - FXiA6
Dual HSU VTF-15H
HCA-3500 - HCA-2003A - Marantz SR7005
Sim2 D60 - Dragonfly 106" Panasonic 500

Up
LSi9 LSiC RX-V3000 Panasonic 220
Inspector 24 is offline  
post #21 of 24 Old 04-23-2013, 06:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
saeyedoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Did you try Logitech Media Server? Not sure about AIFF, it may transcode it to Flac.
saeyedoc is offline  
post #22 of 24 Old 04-23-2013, 07:36 PM
Member
 
Inspector 24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I hadn't tried that one, but it appears you're correct:



Also, at the bottom of this thread it suggests MinimServer as another alternative. I think I'll try both and see which works best...if at all.

Down
RTiA9 - CSiA6 - FXiA6
Dual HSU VTF-15H
HCA-3500 - HCA-2003A - Marantz SR7005
Sim2 D60 - Dragonfly 106" Panasonic 500

Up
LSi9 LSiC RX-V3000 Panasonic 220
Inspector 24 is offline  
post #23 of 24 Old 04-23-2013, 09:13 PM
Member
 
Inspector 24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Grrr, couldn't get Logitech to play the AIFF's, or Minimserver. Perhaps this is a problem with the AVR? Perhaps Mrantz won't read AIFF's....

Down
RTiA9 - CSiA6 - FXiA6
Dual HSU VTF-15H
HCA-3500 - HCA-2003A - Marantz SR7005
Sim2 D60 - Dragonfly 106" Panasonic 500

Up
LSi9 LSiC RX-V3000 Panasonic 220
Inspector 24 is offline  
post #24 of 24 Old 04-24-2013, 01:34 AM
Member
 
Inspector 24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Converted AIFF's to FLAC, using MinimServer to stream, Marantz likes FLAC.

Thanks for the nudges in the right direction!!!

Down
RTiA9 - CSiA6 - FXiA6
Dual HSU VTF-15H
HCA-3500 - HCA-2003A - Marantz SR7005
Sim2 D60 - Dragonfly 106" Panasonic 500

Up
LSi9 LSiC RX-V3000 Panasonic 220
Inspector 24 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off