VIZIO Co-Star (VAP430) GTV set-top box - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 92 Old 06-27-2012, 06:34 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
avf5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Vizio Co-Star (VAP430) GTV set-top box is up for pre-order – here.

& Device Specs - here.

Cheers
avf5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 92 Old 06-27-2012, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Thread already exists for it.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is online now  
post #3 of 92 Old 08-13-2012, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
avf5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
How to re-pair the remote with the unit? Anyone?
avf5 is offline  
post #4 of 92 Old 08-13-2012, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
avf5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by avf5 View Post

How to re-pair the remote with the unit? Anyone?
Would the “Factory reset” button on the bottom of the unit somehow serves as a remote re-pair?
avf5 is offline  
post #5 of 92 Old 08-13-2012, 07:58 PM
Newbie
 
Ernie in NH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://store.vizio.com/costar.html
go to the "support "drop down menu and down load the manual
Ernie in NH is offline  
post #6 of 92 Old 08-14-2012, 01:49 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
avf5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ernie in NH View Post

http://store.vizio.com/costar.html
go to the "support "drop down menu and down load the manual


Thanks,

(from the manual) Press [V] > Devices > Pair Devices > … (that will need a paired remote or a backup remote).

Is there any hardware re-pair button on the unit? In case for some reason the included remote become unpaired.

Update:To re-pair Co-star's Remote to the unit - here
avf5 is offline  
post #7 of 92 Old 08-14-2012, 12:45 PM
Newbie
 
Ernie in NH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As I read it the remote is paired once setup is complete...(it does not specify in what part of the setup process this is accomplished..i would suspect fairly early )....I would assume to re-pair it with the receiver you would run setup again.
Ernie in NH is offline  
post #8 of 92 Old 08-14-2012, 11:27 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
avf5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ernie in NH View Post

.......I would assume to re-pair it with the receiver you would run setup again.

Looks that way (from he manual). Unless there is an alternative way & is not mentioned in the manual yet (hopefully).

Generally all GTV boxes have a remote re-pair button on the units.


Update: To re-pair Co-star's Remote to the unit - here
avf5 is offline  
post #9 of 92 Old 08-15-2012, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I seem to be able to pair my Sony's remote with Fn+select.

Philip
pmcd is offline  
post #10 of 92 Old 08-15-2012, 04:56 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
avf5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
To re-pair Co-star's Remote to the unit - here
avf5 is offline  
post #11 of 92 Old 08-16-2012, 11:07 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
avf5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Finally someone got his Co-star – video here.
avf5 is offline  
post #12 of 92 Old 08-17-2012, 05:47 AM
 
streamerlover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by avf5 View Post

Finally someone got his Co-star – video here.
Well that was a pretty worthless video!
streamerlover is offline  
post #13 of 92 Old 08-17-2012, 05:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Extremely worthless.

As an aside, can we get this thread and the other thread merged? It's kind of a pain to have to check both threads to get information and updates on the player.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #14 of 92 Old 08-17-2012, 01:15 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by avf5 View Post

Finally someone got his Co-star – video here.

That remote looks gigantic!!

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #15 of 92 Old 08-17-2012, 01:34 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by streamerlover View Post

Well that was a pretty worthless video!

For a second there I thought half the video would be of him trying to open the box.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #16 of 92 Old 08-17-2012, 03:45 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
avf5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Is there an App for Gaikai (or coming) on Google Play store to go with the Co-Star? Could Onlive thinking to change direction?
avf5 is offline  
post #17 of 92 Old 08-17-2012, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stepmback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Latest I read was that they are letting go about half or more of their staff (firing) and are being bought by a yet to be name private group. However the info i have read also states they are not going out of business (maybe a name change), however therre may some serious delays to development do to the transition.
stepmback is offline  
post #18 of 92 Old 08-20-2012, 12:32 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
avf5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Vizio Co-Star Vs. Logitech Revue - here.
avf5 is offline  
post #19 of 92 Old 08-20-2012, 09:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by stepmback View Post

Latest I read was that they are letting go about half or more of their staff (firing) and are being bought by a yet to be name private group. However the info i have read also states they are not going out of business (maybe a name change), however therre may some serious delays to development do to the transition.

Which company is being bought? If Vizio then do you have a link to some news article?

philip
pmcd is offline  
post #20 of 92 Old 08-21-2012, 05:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stepmback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmcd View Post

Which company is being bought? If Vizio then do you have a link to some news article?
philip

I was referring to OnLive
stepmback is offline  
post #21 of 92 Old 08-22-2012, 04:24 PM
Senior Member
 
MartinK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Kirkland, WA, USA
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got mine today.

Hardware seems well done for the price - bluetooth remote with touchpad and keyboard. No more guesses if the keypress had registered. Good enough for basic use of a web browser, simple things like ordering from amazon.

Crashed a few times getting it set up and playing with apps.

Main draw - local music, DVDs, netflix, spotify or MOG, watch some tv

Netflix - worked fine
TV - offers are very confusing. Have not spent a lot of time with.
Local - installed GTVBox. Did not play audio for home converted DVDs. Tried other files and it seems to have trouble with AC3.
Spotify - requires Plex. Bought plex but have not set up server yet.
FLAC library - haven't tried this one out yet.

So far - not compelling to displace WDTV or Squeezebox
MartinK is offline  
post #22 of 92 Old 08-22-2012, 07:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
hmcewin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Weatherford, TX
Posts: 832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Received mine today. First thing I noticed is that it does not support 5.1 audio on the Netflix ap. Chatted with tech support and learned that 5.1 is not stable enough to be released yet. However he indicated this spec is at the top of the list for fixing. The Vizio sit e indeed indicates the Costar supports 5.1.

I thought the Costar would find my network and display my photos from my computer. Have not been able to do that yet. Any advice in this.

Thanks,
hmcewin is offline  
post #23 of 92 Old 08-22-2012, 07:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Wish I could help. Mine sees my computer, sees my files, but as soon as it starts to play my video files it gets about 1/2 second into the playing abruptly stops and does this for them all.

Not happy!

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #24 of 92 Old 08-22-2012, 08:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jakmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
From the reports above, it is not surprising that Vizio is still hesitating to supply the press with review units.

Ganesh T S
Sr. Editor, AnandTech Inc.
jakmal is offline  
post #25 of 92 Old 08-23-2012, 06:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stepmback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jakmal View Post

From the reports above, it is not surprising that Vizio is still hesitating to supply the press with review units.

I should get my co-star any day now and am seriously considering returning it when I get it and going with the Sony. I should have done more research. This appears not ready for prime time and having no IR in the set top will make it difficult to control in my closet when integrated with cable box.

It also appears sugglish compared to Sony reviews I have read and I know the sony will play my MKV files via SMB. The impression I get on here as the Co-Star wont.
stepmback is offline  
post #26 of 92 Old 08-23-2012, 07:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Here are my issues with it so far:

1) For some ridiculous reason, it completely forgot my Dish 722k DVR at one point last night and I had to go through setup again to re-establish the DVR connection features and control of the Dish receiver.

2) Had to power reset it at one point because it wouldn't switch to the highlighted (featured) shows within the Google TV portion of the box.

3) Wi-fi range appears quite poor

4) Button press lag

5) The Owners Manual within the menu does a horrible job of explaining the intricacies of how to use the various Google TV features

6) Connects to my PC through my home network but will not play ANY of my downloaded videos or ripped movies

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #27 of 92 Old 08-23-2012, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stepmback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jblank74 View Post

Here are my issues with it so far:
1) For some ridiculous reason, it completely forgot my Dish 722k DVR at one point last night and I had to go through setup again to re-establish the DVR connection features and control of the Dish receiver.
2) Had to power reset it at one point because it wouldn't switch to the highlighted (featured) shows within the Google TV portion of the box.
3) Wi-fi range appears quite poor
4) Button press lag
5) The Owners Manual within the menu does a horrible job of explaining the intricacies of how to use the various Google TV features
6) Connects to my PC through my home network but will not play ANY of my downloaded videos or ripped movies

Thanks for feedback. That is what I was affraid of. I know that people on the Sony NSZ-GS7 are able to play MKV via SMB just fine. The only thing this box does that the Sony does not is offer a different interface via an overlay. The Sony does do this a little bit but really uses PIP instead.
stepmback is offline  
post #28 of 92 Old 08-23-2012, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jblank74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Posts: 2,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Glad to help. I'm not giving up on it though, I think it just needed a lot more seasoning before it was released. I think we're going to see a plentiful amount of firmware updates within the first few months of this products life.

Imagination will often carry us to worlds that never were. But without it we go nowhere.

 

Carl Sagan (1980)

jblank74 is offline  
post #29 of 92 Old 08-23-2012, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stepmback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,779
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jblank74 View Post

Glad to help. I'm not giving up on it though, I think it just needed a lot more seasoning before it was released. I think we're going to see a plentiful amount of firmware updates within the first few months of this products life.

Do think the updates will increase performance (ie speed) or is that hardware/memorey driven?
stepmback is offline  
post #30 of 92 Old 08-23-2012, 09:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
hmcewin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Weatherford, TX
Posts: 832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jblank74 View Post

Here are my issues with it so far:
1) For some ridiculous reason, it completely forgot my Dish 722k DVR at one point last night and I had to go through setup again to re-establish the DVR connection features and control of the Dish receiver.
2) Had to power reset it at one point because it wouldn't switch to the highlighted (featured) shows within the Google TV portion of the box.
3) Wi-fi range appears quite poor
4) Button press lag
5) The Owners Manual within the menu does a horrible job of explaining the intricacies of how to use the various Google TV features
6) Connects to my PC through my home network but will not play ANY of my downloaded videos or ripped movies

I, too found the wifi range very poor. My Roku player sitting next to the Vizio never got a hiccup while the Vizio was buffering or crapping out entirely. This thing needs some serious work on the software.
hmcewin is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Vizio Co Star Stream Player With Google Tv Vap430
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off