Question from new DUNE B1 owner - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 07-07-2012, 12:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjm992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Newark, CA
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I’m struggling to populate the ‘Favorites’ page on the B1 home screen. I want, for example a shortcut to take me directly to the home movie page on my NAS. Guide on right side says ‘Favorites – Access the shortcuts you have placed here from other locations’. Question is, how do I create a shortcut and how do I place it on the Favs page? There’s nothing in the instructions to show me how. I can ‘mark’ the ‘home movie’ directory, but the pop-up menu doesn’t give me any options to create a shortcut.
What am I missing? Thanks.
sjm992 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 07-07-2012, 03:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 7,189
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 698
I own a Dune D1, and I believe it should be the same for both. Go to the folder that you want to add to the favorite on your name. Highlight the folder, and press POP UP MENU on the Dune's remove. It should come up with a small window with a list and an option to "ADD TO FAVORITES."

Now, you can go to favorite on the Dune's top menu, and it should be there.
GusGus748s is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 07-07-2012, 08:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjm992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Newark, CA
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I thought it should be on the pop-up menu but it's not! All I see on the pop-up is refresh, mark, sort and information. Could it be a firmware issue? It says I have the latest firmware but I don't know how to check.
sjm992 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 07-07-2012, 08:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 7,189
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjm992 View Post

Yes I thought it should be on the pop-up menu but it's not! All I see on the pop-up is refresh, mark, sort and information. Could it be a firmware issue? It says I have the latest firmware but I don't know how to check.

Let me get on mine and get back to you.

I got one. I went to sources. My server is named "Tower." I went on tower, and highlighted the Zappiti emblem, I push the Pop Up Menu button on the Dune remote, and a small window came up with the first option to "Add to Favorite."

I've got the latest beta installed.
GusGus748s is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 07-08-2012, 12:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjm992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Newark, CA
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The plot thickens! I attached a USB stick to load new firmware and discovered that the Pop-up menu became fully functional when reading the USB i.e. I can copy, paste and create favorites. When I go to the NAS on UPnP I get no options to copy, paste, create favs. Could this be a problem with the NAS settings, or perhaps a restriction on UPnP?
sjm992 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 07-08-2012, 03:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 7,189
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjm992 View Post

The plot thickens! I attached a USB stick to load new firmware and discovered that the Pop-up menu became fully functional when reading the USB i.e. I can copy, paste and create favorites. When I go to the NAS on UPnP I get no options to copy, paste, create favs. Could this be a problem with the NAS settings, or perhaps a restriction on UPnP?

Why are you using UPnP? You should be either using samba or NFS shares. That's probably why you can't get the options for Favorites due to not having read or write access to your NAS.
GusGus748s is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 07-08-2012, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjm992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Newark, CA
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used UPnP because it works well to display photos's and movies. I can't get SMB and NFS to connect even though I've enabled them on the NAS (Netgear NV+). I've been trying all weekend. I can't figure out which username and password to use on SMB because the share isn't password protected. NFS doesn't need a password but still won't connect.
sjm992 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 07-08-2012, 09:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 18,450
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1577 Post(s)
Liked: 895
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjm992 View Post

I used UPnP because it works well to display photos's and movies. I can't get SMB and NFS to connect even though I've enabled them on the NAS (Netgear NV+). I've been trying all weekend. I can't figure out which username and password to use on SMB because the share isn't password protected. NFS doesn't need a password but still won't connect.

SMB: try using "guest" with no password.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old 07-09-2012, 04:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
CIR-Engineering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicago USA & Berlin Germany
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjm992 View Post

I used UPnP because it works well to display photos's and movies. I can't get SMB and NFS to connect even though I've enabled them on the NAS (Netgear NV+). I've been trying all weekend. I can't figure out which username and password to use on SMB because the share isn't password protected. NFS doesn't need a password but still won't connect.
I use SMB and NFS with my NV+ and two Dunes without any problems. I do have a L/P for my Dune players though (dune/dune).

craigr

Precision Video Calibration Craig Rounds
JETI Specbos 1211 Spectroradiometer
Klein K10-A Laboratory Grade Colorimeter
Murideo Fresco Six-G & Six-A HDMI 2.x Multimedia Generator / Analyzer
LightSpace XPS Pro & ChromaPure Pro Color Calibration Software
www.CIR-Engineering.com - craigr@cir-engineering.com
CIR-Engineering is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 07-31-2012, 04:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sjm992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Newark, CA
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That worked perfectly, thanks. Now I can use the favorites!
sjm992 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off