How to 'push' high resolution digital audio to Cambridge Audio 751BD - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 07-08-2012, 07:09 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm new to computer audio. I've a CA751BD universal player feeding a decent (but no digital inputs) stereo preamp and I would like to be able to 'push' high resolution (up to 24/192) audio files from my linux laptop to the player wirelessly over my home network.

Thanks to another thread on these forums I've learned that the 751BD can only 'pull' files from my laptop using (for example) Twonky. But I don't want a TV screen in my listening room and to have to use the quite cumbersome interface on the 751BD for searching and playing.

As a beginner, I hope that somewhere there must be a wireless box/dongle which plugs into a usb port on the 751BD and can 'see' my laptop and receive and transfer digital files from the laptop to the 751 (just like a usb stick with wifi smile.gif ). I'm not keen to spend money on a wireless box (eg Squeezebox) with its own dacs and analogue outputs and to bypass the excellent dacs inside the 751.

Any advice would be very welcome.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 07-08-2012, 08:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 215
For this type function you need a dedicated media box. One common alternative is to get a small LCD portable TV with video input and connect it to the output of the player. TVs in the 7-10" range are cheap and plentiful.

The player is not capable of having media streams pushed to it, this is a hardware limitation. It functions only as a DNLA client.