Issues with Netflix Streaming - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 07-08-2012, 04:56 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Cocophone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm having issues with netflix streaming. The netflix stream gets dropped about 3 or 4 times per TV show.

I have comcast internet with voice service. The comcast modem is a RCA Thompson Model DHG535-2. It is DOCSIS 2.0 modem which also handles the voice service.

I have a D-link DIR 601 router and a Sony BX18 bluray player.

If I plug the bluray player directly into the Comcast modem netflix plays straight through the TV program without dropping the connection.
If I plug the bluray player into my D-link router and the router into the comcast modem, then the netflix stream is dropped several times during the TV program.

I've even tried having the D-link router put the bluray player into a DMZ zone but that did not fix the dropped streaming problem.

Could I get some recommendations for a new router?

I don't care too much about wireless since my bluray player is wired with ethernet and the only wireless I do is for iPhone and an android phone.

Thanks.

==Cocophone==
Cocophone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 07-09-2012, 05:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Colton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Upgrade to a DOCSIS 3.0 modem and all your problems will go away. I had to do this too. Too many dropped connections or severe lags.
Colton is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 07-09-2012, 07:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colton View Post

Upgrade to a DOCSIS 3.0 modem and all your problems will go away. I had to do this too. Too many dropped connections or severe lags.

You don't have to do that. You only need a DOSCSIS 3.0 if you are getting a faster speed that requires DOCSIS 3.0. Have you tried a different router? I had a similar issue, but with ATT UVerse internet. UVerse provides their own moden/router. I had my own router WNDR3700. However, the uverser RG / router / modem would fight with my WNDR3700 because both wanted to provide IP addresses for my devices. I attempted to make the Uverser router/modem act as a bridge, which didn't work. Then I tried to set up my WNDR3700 router to DMZ, which didn't work.

I ended up taking my WNDR3700 router out, and only use the UVerse router / modem, and I have no issues with anything now. I even get faster and longer range with wireless connection with the UVerse router.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 07-09-2012, 12:33 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Cocophone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
The RCA Thompson Model DHG535-2 doesn't function as a router.

I'm going to try using a different router because there was no problem streaming when I plugged the bluray player directly into the RCA Thompson modem.

So either my router is not able to steadily stream video or there is an incompatiblity between the RCA Thompson modem and the D-link 601 router.

==Cocophone==
Cocophone is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 07-15-2012, 10:11 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Cocophone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I bought a netgear 3500 router and my problems were solve. My old Dlink router must have been failing.

==Cocophone==
Cocophone is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 07-16-2012, 12:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 17
which media players do 5.1 netflix, and 1080p hd
zoro is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 07-16-2012, 05:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

which media players do 5.1 netflix, and 1080p hd

There isn't many media players that can play Netflix. The only one I know are WDTV's and Boxee Box. It would suggest using either a gaming console (PS3, XBOX) or a Roku Box.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 07-16-2012, 11:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
mtallent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cecilia,KY
Posts: 865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

which media players do 5.1 netflix, and 1080p hd

I have a WD Live Hub and A WD Live Streaming and they both stream Netflix with 5.1 sound and 1080P when available, also my PS3 works the same with Netflix.

Mike T

Size Matters

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mtallent is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 07-17-2012, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Netflix doesn't do 1080p. It might be able to do 5.1 though.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 07-17-2012, 05:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
dstew100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

Netflix doesn't do 1080p. It might be able to do 5.1 though.

This is not true. Streaming 1080p and Dolby Digital + right now. Your device may not support it though.

EDIT: And it is only certain titles. Plus some titles will be HD but not the hi rez audio
dstew100 is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 07-17-2012, 08:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstew100 View Post

This is not true. Streaming 1080p and Dolby Digital + right now. Your device may not support it though.
EDIT: And it is only certain titles. Plus some titles will be HD but not the hi rez audio

I am sorry. It is true Netflix support compressed 1080p since it is base on your bandwith. If your internet connection is too slow the resolution / audio will be compressed / lower thus not making it a true 1080p.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 07-17-2012, 08:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
dstew100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

I am sorry. It is true Netflix support compressed 1080p since it is base on your bandwith. If your internet connection is too slow the resolution / audio will be compressed / lower thus not making it a true 1080p.

Roger that, agreed. Mine can go through 4 levels of SD and 4 levels of HD but does spend the vast majority of its time at the highest level on my cable modem connection. I do not pay for the ultra fast speed or anything though.
dstew100 is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 07-19-2012, 08:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by dstew100 View Post

This is not true. Streaming 1080p and Dolby Digital + right now. Your device may not support it though.
EDIT: And it is only certain titles. Plus some titles will be HD but not the hi rez audio

I am sorry. It is true Netflix support compressed 1080p since it is base on your bandwith. If your internet connection is too slow the resolution / audio will be compressed / lower thus not making it a true 1080p.

Hi Gus,
Would you mind identifying what devices are capable of handling high def?
zoro is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 07-20-2012, 07:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

Hi Gus,
Would you mind identifying what devices are capable of handling high def?

Again, it doesn't matter if your device can handle high definition with Netflix since the quality of video / audio is dependent on your internet speed. The better your internet connection the better the video / audio quality.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off