*Official* Mede8er X3D (1000 | 800 | 600) Streamer Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 1470 Old 10-24-2012, 04:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Finally, review posted:

http://www.mediasmartserver.net/2012/10/24/review-mede8er-med1000x3d/

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 1470 Old 10-24-2012, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,931
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Well written as usual, nice work! Because I have Synology, I've got my fingers crossed that PCH-A400 will offer stutter-free 3D BD playback via SMB. If not, I'll be forced to rely on an internal hard drive for my 3D rips or try something else like unRAID.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #273 of 1470 Old 10-24-2012, 05:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Well written as usual, nice work! Because I have Synology, I've got my fingers crossed that PCH-A400 will offer stutter-free 3D BD playback via SMB. If not, I'll be forced to rely on an internal hard drive for my 3D rips or try something else like unRAID.

Thanks.

I would rather not rely on nfs but at least with the Mede8er you are not locked in to either nfs or smb with the jukebox (like you are with the PCH or others). I do wonder though if this will be a general shortfall of smb on these players (as on most of these players I get approx the same smb test results).

I am almost thinking it may be better just to keep Blu ray 3Ds on a portable hard drive and attach to a player as need be.

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #274 of 1470 Old 10-24-2012, 05:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,931
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Right, we'll find out when A-400 is out. With Synology, benchmarks show up to 75Mbps (big M, not small mbps), but that's for file transfers, and streaming is apparently a different story (Werner said so himself). I don't know why though.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #275 of 1470 Old 10-24-2012, 06:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Right, we'll find out when A-400 is out. With Synology, benchmarks show up to 75Mbps (big M, not small mbps), but that's for file transfers, and streaming is apparently a different story (Werner said so himself). I don't know why though.

The way I think about it, think about all the fw fixes and optimizations that have needed to be done across most of the players just to get normal high bitrate content to play back properly via smb. Now close to double the potential bitrate over smb ...

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #276 of 1470 Old 10-24-2012, 06:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
crbaldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Isn't 3D MKV created from blu-rays "frame-packed" (not "SBS")? Can this player handle those MKVs or only ISOs in this format?
crbaldwin is offline  
post #277 of 1470 Old 10-25-2012, 06:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
First off Blu-ray is not store as frame packed.

It has the left image and the Delta(difference) for the right. The delta stream is the difference of the left to right image. That is how they can get the storage of the right image lower. The player then reassembles the right image.

The player then outputs the 3d blu-ray as frame packed.
space2001 is offline  
post #278 of 1470 Old 10-25-2012, 07:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,931
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Right, and this player, along with the upcoming PCH-A400 support full Blu-ray 3D ISO playback, as well as SBS 3D (most common) and top/bottom 3D (less common) formats. The latter two you'll find most as MKV's sourced from full 3D BDs.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #279 of 1470 Old 10-25-2012, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
crbaldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Thanks for the clarification about 3D MKV.

The manual states that this is a DLNA renderer but doesn't mention anything about being a DLNA client. Can you browse a DLNA server and select items to play on the player itself or do you have to do it from a separate DLNA controller? Thanks.
crbaldwin is offline  
post #280 of 1470 Old 10-25-2012, 09:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by crbaldwin View Post

Thanks for the clarification about 3D MKV.
The manual states that this is a DLNA renderer but doesn't mention anything about being a DLNA client. Can you browse a DLNA server and select items to play on the player itself or do you have to do it from a separate DLNA controller? Thanks.

Yes, of course understanding the UPnP has limitations with the type of files you can access

xn7rf5.jpg

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #281 of 1470 Old 10-25-2012, 10:40 AM
Member
 
mede8er1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
The manual states that this is a DLNA renderer but doesn't mention anything about being a DLNA client. Can you browse a DLNA server and select items to play on the player itself or do you have to do it from a separate DLNA controller? Thanks.

MED1000X3D has DNLA DMR functionality so you can render images or play music / videos from your Android / Apple devise. You will need to install a DNLA DMR render program into your Android / Apple device and most are free to download from Google Play or App Store. To use DNLA DMR you must enable it in the Setup Menu. You can play content on the unit itself but with the DNLA limitations. A lot of this functionality will depend on the DNLA DMR software and it will require some experimentation by the user. So far the best results we have got is from BubbleUPnP on a Android device.

Mede8er1
mede8er1 is offline  
post #282 of 1470 Old 10-25-2012, 12:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrfattbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Will the device aggregate everything into the "Media Library" from multiple SMB shares with moviessheets or some nice visual interface? My Micca, even with Ollyp&yamj can't do this, my WDTV does via Tversity and modded firmware....well is shows moviesheets when I connect to the Tversity server anyway.

I would like a device that can do it out of the box with as little headache and 4AM bed times as possible, lol.

Bill
mrfattbill is offline  
post #283 of 1470 Old 10-25-2012, 01:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfattbill View Post

Will the device aggregate everything into the "Media Library" from multiple SMB shares with moviessheets or some nice visual interface? My Micca, even with Ollyp&yamj can't do this, my WDTV does via Tversity and modded firmware.
I would like a device that can do it out of the box with as little headache and 4AM bed times as possible, lol.
Bill

No, each share will appear as a separate share (one of the items I would like to see addressed down the road as part of the jukebox)

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #284 of 1470 Old 10-25-2012, 01:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrfattbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

No, each share will appear as a separate share (one of the items I would like to see addressed down the road as part of the jukebox)

I figured as much :-( If this device would give me the ability to show sheets the way the WDTV does I would be in streaming heaven, lol. As I am sure you know WDTV lets you specify a folder with the sheets and it creates symlinks to them when the device starts, then when you select a movie that has a "MOVIENAME_sheet.jpg" it displays it. Every once in a while I pull the power cord to reboot so it rescan for changes, it really is a nice way of doing things.

Bill
mrfattbill is offline  
post #285 of 1470 Old 10-25-2012, 01:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
agogley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

No, each share will appear as a separate share (one of the items I would like to see addressed down the road as part of the jukebox)

This makes this machine a "no-go" for me. My family is the primary user of the jukebox and it needs to read across multiple NAS, since I have two and may add a third. I've thought about moving to a single UNRAID or other type server but I just haven't for a lot of reasons. Adding on additional NAS has just been easier. Besides, don't most people have multiple file structures for DVD vs. BD vs. HDDVDs?

Bottom line is that a jukebox needs to read from multiple places, throw it all together, and display it.
agogley is offline  
post #286 of 1470 Old 10-25-2012, 03:16 PM
LVS
Advanced Member
 
LVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 605
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by agogley View Post

This makes this machine a "no-go" for me. My family is the primary user of the jukebox and it needs to read across multiple NAS, since I have two and may add a third. I've thought about moving to a single UNRAID or other type server but I just haven't for a lot of reasons. Adding on additional NAS has just been easier. Besides, don't most people have multiple file structures for DVD vs. BD vs. HDDVDs?
Bottom line is that a jukebox needs to read from multiple places, throw it all together, and display it.

I have their 450x2 and it is the best streamer I have used for playing all file types. However, this is one of the biggest drawbacks for me too and is what is keeping Mede8er, at least in my opinion, from being "THE" leader in this market.
LVS is offline  
post #287 of 1470 Old 10-26-2012, 08:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10,098
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1198 Post(s)
Liked: 619
Funny enough its the one of the things Boxee did do right......Hopefully others will take what they did and implement it......
Ph8te is offline  
post #288 of 1470 Old 10-26-2012, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,931
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 69
It's a shame about Boxee Box as it came so close to being that perfect all-in-one-box. Even without full 3D support, if it did HD audio well, improved NFO support a little, and just kept supporting the box, they would've had a real winner. Instead of a Boxee Box 2.0, they release the stupidly conceived Boxee TV. I still have a couple of BB's around the house as my family and guests find it fairly easy to use, but after they die, it'll be PCH or Mede8er to replace them, unless something better comes along (no signs of that yet though).

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #289 of 1470 Old 10-26-2012, 12:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ph8te's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 10,098
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1198 Post(s)
Liked: 619
Brajesh, totally agree with you, I think they had high hopes then found out the reality of it all. I still love my Boxee for what it does well and Im surprised no one even tried to improve on what they did to compete with them. If they joined with another company (PCH or Mede8er) that coulld possibly get that one AIO box we want. Those companies do local files well, BOxeee does the Streaming\Database well....Ahhhh if we could only have a joint venture (dreams smile.gif )
Ph8te is offline  
post #290 of 1470 Old 10-28-2012, 09:24 AM
Newbie
 
snowdevlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi there,
I'm looking to buy this media player, but there have been quite a few reports of stutter and skiping frames, is this noticeable with the panasonic vt50s plasmas?
cheers and thanksfor the info!
snowdevlin is offline  
post #291 of 1470 Old 10-28-2012, 10:37 AM
Member
 
vikashc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdevlin View Post

Hi there,
I'm looking to buy this media player, but there have been quite a few reports of stutter and skiping frames, is this noticeable with the panasonic vt50s plasmas?
cheers and thanksfor the info!

I do notice stutter and frames skipping on my panasonic Ae8000U projector. And the frame creation does not help either.
vikashc is offline  
post #292 of 1470 Old 10-28-2012, 11:19 AM
Newbie
 
snowdevlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by vikashc View Post

I do notice stutter and frames skipping on my panasonic Ae8000U projector. And the frame creation does not help either.

Ok, many thanks frown.gif
snowdevlin is offline  
post #293 of 1470 Old 10-28-2012, 12:16 PM
Member
 
mede8er1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
I do notice stutter and frames skipping on my panasonic Ae8000U projector. And the frame creation does not help either

I did post a response on the Mede8er forum and I will repeat it here.


Please read this article by Evan Powell of ProjectorCentral.com
http://www.projectorcentral.com/judder_24p.htm

He is 100% correct and really knows what he is talking about.

Judder is a low fps issue and not a issue created by X3. Judder is present on all low fps material when you have fast camera pans using 23.976 or 24hz. If you are using a projector then you will be more sensitive to this judder as you are projecting the image at least twice the size of a large screen TV.

This judder is present on the source BD and you have a few solutions to reduce it

1) Try the Cinema Smooth setting on your projector
2) Try setting the X3 to 1080 60p

So to make things clear - X3 is not causing this 'stuttering' we call it judder as it a product of low fps. We also have test units of High End brand Media Players that have Sigma Chips and the judder effect is exactly the same as X3.

Mede8er1
mede8er1 is offline  
post #294 of 1470 Old 10-28-2012, 12:44 PM
Newbie
 
snowdevlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
and how about the frame skipping issue...
should it still be noticeable on a panasonic vt50 plasma?
snowdevlin is offline  
post #295 of 1470 Old 10-28-2012, 12:55 PM
Member
 
mede8er1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
snowdevlin

Unfortunately we dont get the panasonic vt50 plasma in SA and its a great pity as I understand it the best panel you can get. I cannot answer you first hand but our Israeli distributor is using X3 with Panasonic plasma 65" : TC-P65VT50 and he has reported 'smooth playback'.

Mede8er1
mede8er1 is offline  
post #296 of 1470 Old 10-28-2012, 01:02 PM
Newbie
 
snowdevlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
thanks for the info Mede8er1,

one final question, I've read that there's a black version coming out in november, is it true?
as this naked aluminium cover is not exactly my cup of tea, and everything else on my HT is black smile.gif
anthrojohn likes this.
snowdevlin is offline  
post #297 of 1470 Old 10-28-2012, 01:02 PM
Member
 
perchancetodream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Judder as described above has nothing at all to do with the 23.976fps stutter problem.

And it will be noticeable on a panasonic vt50 plasma . . . it's a long-standing Realtek problem.

For reasons I'll never understand there still seems to be controversy about whether this problem has been fixed with the MED1000X3D or not.

If you're worried about this issue, don't risk buying it unless you can return it easily.
perchancetodream is offline  
post #298 of 1470 Old 10-28-2012, 04:18 PM
Newbie
 
snowdevlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
well, guess it's really not that easy to find the right media player for me, right when I though I've found the right one!
frown.gif(
snowdevlin is offline  
post #299 of 1470 Old 10-28-2012, 08:17 PM
Member
 
vikashc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowdevlin View Post

well, guess it's really not that easy to find the right media player for me, right when I though I've found the right one!
frown.gif(

The first day I played this player, I felt as if my prayers had been answered.

But from day 2 started noticing the same frame rate issues which I used to get irritated by, on my previous Realtek player .
And it is not Judder, but the plain old stutter/hiccuping.
Judder is something we are all used to at cinemas.
I had discarded the older realtek player and returned to my 3 yrs old Sigma 8643 based player which is very smooth.
I guess I will watch 2d through my old sigma chip player and keep this one for 3D; while I wait for people to give their feedback on the new PCH 400 which is a sigma chip player. And hope that does do what the previous sigma players did but with added 3D.
vikashc is offline  
post #300 of 1470 Old 10-29-2012, 05:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by perchancetodream View Post

Judder as described above has nothing at all to do with the 23.976fps stutter problem.
And it will be noticeable on a panasonic vt50 plasma . . . it's a long-standing Realtek problem.
For reasons I'll never understand there still seems to be controversy about whether this problem has been fixed with the MED1000X3D or not.
If you're worried about this issue, don't risk buying it unless you can return it easily.

I used the X3D with my Panny plasma. I never noticed an issue with 23.976fps stutter. Some people seem to notice it, others don't. Not sure if it is dependent on setup, some people looking for something that isn't there, not bothering other people, etc...

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Med1000x3d Hd 3d Multimedia Player
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off