Help me pick a new router, please !! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 07-17-2012, 08:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 32
It appears our D-Link DIR-655 router just bit the dust, and I need a new one ASAP. It only lasted 1.5 years, which is ridiculous, so I'd like to avoid D-Link. I need a router that will work excellent with Netflix HD streaming(wired connection). The only wireless uses are for 2 laptops in the house. What models do you guys recommend? I was told Linksys are very good. About $80 max would be nice. Thanks.
Jim McC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 07-17-2012, 08:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Netgear, ASUS, Linksys.

I used to use a Netgear WNDR3700, which lasted 2 years. Then I stopped using it because it interfered with my U-Verse RG box.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 07-17-2012, 11:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Thanks Gus. Based on our usage(wired HD streaming) and wireless to 1 or 2 laptops, what features/speed do I need? I don't want to overspend, but I don't want a piece of junk either.
Jim McC is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 07-18-2012, 12:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post

Thanks Gus. Based on our usage(wired HD streaming) and wireless to 1 or 2 laptops, what features/speed do I need? I don't want to overspend, but I don't want a piece of junk either.

The ATT RG box that I am using is rated 100 MB/s wired, and the wireless is G rated one. I use the wireless for my laptop, tables and smart phones. The G rated speed works fine with my set up. I also stream movies from my UnRaid server, but everything is connected to a gigabit switch. The RG box is connected to my 8 port gigabit switch to provide internet to my devices that need it.

That being said, I would recommend pretty much any gigabit router. All of them should support a/g/n wireless connection. You can give the on from www.monoprice.com. I believe it cost about $30 dollars, and it works just as well as the ones that cost 3 times as much. I've seen the Netgear WNDR3700 as low as $80 dollars.

One router I was thinking of buying to replace my WNDR3700 was the Asus ASRTN56U. However, this one cost a little over $100 dollars.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 07-18-2012, 01:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Thanks. So I should get a gigabit router, since I'm streaming HD movies? I'm thinking of the Netgear 3700. Is it easy to set up? I know very little about computers.
Jim McC is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 07-18-2012, 01:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post

Thanks. So I should get a gigabit router, since I'm streaming HD movies? I'm thinking of the Netgear 3700. Is it easy to set up? I know very little about computers.

Its pretty simple. If you've got questions just call their support department. As long as your router is under warranty the will help you out. The only thing you will need to do is to secure your wireless network, which is pretty simple to do.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 07-18-2012, 01:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Sounds good. I just read something on Netgear's website that has me confused. Under "System Requirements" it says "Wireless Adapter or Ethernet Adapter and cable for each computer". It also says to use a wireless dual band wireless adapter. Are these extra things I have to buy?
Jim McC is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 07-18-2012, 04:37 AM
Senior Member
 
jpcamaro70's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 25
That just means that every device you want to connect must be wireless capable.

Netgear is a great router, I own two of them and neither has ever failed me, or given me problems.

My Gear
jpcamaro70 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 07-18-2012, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Thanks. And what about where they say "Use with an N600 wireless dual band USB adapter"? Is that something I might have to buy? I just want to make sure before I buy the 3700.
Jim McC is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 07-18-2012, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 594
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post

Thanks. And what about where they say "Use with an N600 wireless dual band USB adapter"? Is that something I might have to buy? I just want to make sure before I buy the 3700.

You don't need to buy anything. Your devices will either have a 2.4hz or 5.0hz (spelling) capabilities. So, you can set up the dual band option. If non of your devices have the 5.0 capabilities, I wouldn't bother setting it up, and just use the 2.4.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

Home Theater Set Up:


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

GusGus748s is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 07-18-2012, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Thanks guys. I picked up the Netgear 3700 today and it's working great. Luckily my daughter was around to set it up.
Jim McC is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off