Dune H1 PCM decode out to Denon 5805 via HDMI coming up as stereo on the reciever...help? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 07-23-2012, 07:42 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Chris Albert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi all,

Need a little help from Dune pros...just got my Dune (finally 23.98fps with no HTPC issues!!!) BUT selected PCM decode out 7.1 into my Denon 5805 but it's coming up on the Denon L + R, not 7.1

I'm going from the Dune into a 1x2 HDMI splitter then out to the Denon and a Projector. (I have bypassed the splitter and gone direct Dune>Denon and it's the same)

Any ideas?
Chris Albert is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 07-23-2012, 08:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 33
not sure but : i think you only get 2.0 through HDMI with PCM. To have 5.1 you need to use the optical and setup the dune as bitstream (your denon will decode the audio).

PS : I guess that the 5805 is not able to decode HD audio...
Mr Eric is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 07-23-2012, 08:10 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Chris Albert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Eric View Post

not sure but : i think you only get 2.0 through HDMI with PCM. To have 5.1 you need to use the optical and setup the dune as bitstream (your denon will decode the audio).
PS : I guess that the 5805 is not able to decode HD audio...

Hi, thanks for the reply....It can do multi ch PCM, that's how I was getting 7.1 out of my HTPC with a Zonar HDAV sound card...that's why I'm confused.

Have also read about others using this setup.
Chris Albert is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 07-23-2012, 08:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 33
i think that the problem is not your denon but the dune. Check here and try the patch : http://www.mpcclub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28070&page=6

As I'm not using PCM output, may be this was corrected in a new firmware following this topic on MPCC. Which firmware are you running ? (because your D1 is new doesn't mean that you've got the latest firmware installed)
Mr Eric is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 07-23-2012, 09:03 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Chris Albert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Eric View Post

i think that the problem is not your denon but the dune. Check here and try the patch : http://www.mpcclub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28070&page=6
As I'm not using PCM output, may be this was corrected in a new firmware following this topic on MPCC. Which firmware are you running ? (because your D1 is new doesn't mean that you've got the latest firmware installed)

That could be it...it's running 110606_1315_update1
Chris Albert is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 07-23-2012, 09:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 33
wow, that's a very old firmware. Try to update to the latest one (beta is OK) and check if it's working. If not, which means that the problem is still not corrected, try to apply the patch.
Mr Eric is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 07-23-2012, 10:04 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Chris Albert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Eric View Post

i think that the problem is not your denon but the dune. Check here and try the patch : http://www.mpcclub.com/forum/showthread.php?t=28070&page=6
As I'm not using PCM output, may be this was corrected in a new firmware following this topic on MPCC. Which firmware are you running ? (because your D1 is new doesn't mean that you've got the latest firmware installed)

OK that got it. Upgraded to latest firmware and used that .dsf file.

BUT.. (bugger) the Dune plugged directly into my 5805 supplies 7.1 or plugged into the Monoprice spltter...but when Iplu the JVC RS2 projector into the splitter also it reverts to R+L

I'll post this problem in another thread.

Thanks for the help.
Chris Albert is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 07-23-2012, 10:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I guess that the splitter is using the lowest common possibilities. Try to check if the jvc as some kind of Hdmi CEC feature on and disable it.
Mr Eric is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 07-27-2012, 06:31 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Chris Albert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
EDIT:

So this was news to me...unless splitter has EDID (the ID of the device that you're plugging in) manual selection the splitter will feed out the lowest format. So plugging in a 7.1 PCM Dune and a JVC Projector reverts both outputs to L+R Only.

One solution is to get a 'HDMI Detective' that you put in my case between the JVC and the splitter. The Detective tells the splitter that it is 7.1 the same as the Dune.
Chris Albert is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 07-27-2012, 07:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,456
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Albert View Post

One solution is to get a 'HDMI Detective' that you put in my case between the JVC and the splitter. The Detective tells the splitter that it is 7.1 the same as the Dune.

The most common solution is to feed the display from the output of the AVR.  smile.gif


Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Kal Rubinson is online now  
post #11 of 14 Old 08-03-2012, 12:44 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Chris Albert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post

The most common solution is to feed the display from the output of the AVR.  smile.gif

Well this is a bit embarrassing, my Denon 5805 would not pass through 24p from my HTPC but it will with the Dune.

Problem now is that the Dune is only putting out 5.1 not 7.1 when playing a 7.1 source...any ideas?
Chris Albert is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 08-04-2012, 10:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jon Spackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
With pcm, your only gonna get 5.1

The dune does not decode 7.1, if you update firmware and try 7.1, you will see 7.1 however the back two channels will not actually have sound.

Best suggestion is use 5.1 with pl2x to extract the back. Should sound the same as if you had actual 7.1 input.

Or upgrade AVR to something that bitstreams.

Just enjoy HD in whatever form you can (Sat, Cable, D-VHS, OTA, HD DVD, or BD).
Jon Spackman is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 08-05-2012, 05:16 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Chris Albert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Spackman View Post

With pcm, your only gonna get 5.1
The dune does not decode 7.1, if you update firmware and try 7.1, you will see 7.1 however the back two channels will not actually have sound.
Best suggestion is use 5.1 with pl2x to extract the back. Should sound the same as if you had actual 7.1 input.
Or upgrade AVR to something that bitstreams.

Thanks Jon. It's not the end of the world if I don't get 7.1

I recently purchased a used Denon 5805 for $1,000 on eBay, it's a fantastic receiver but it does not have the MkII upgrade. (The upgrade is $1000, but im bot sure if that will inc dolby HD/DTS master decode). The rationale was the superb quality of a $6,000 receiver without bitstream vs paying $1,000 for something new which I would not think would be as good sounding. (I was blown away by the difference the Audyssey MultiEQ made also)

Personally I think the analogue 7.1 outs sound just as good as HDMI, but I was a little fooled by the Dune US site which states "7.1 PCM Decode" for the Dune H1.

When the next gen of Dune comes out hopefully with BR 3D capability I'll grab a unit with analogue 7.1 out.

Any other suggestions welcome. smile.gif
Chris Albert is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 09-15-2012, 06:03 PM
Newbie
 
Colourist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Depends on the Movie
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use a PS3 into the Denon 5805 The PS3 does the hard lifting. The 5805 gets discreet UN-compressed sounds nice. I wish Denon kept to there words on there site and the manual...

"Internally, the 5805 has removable video and audio boards, opening the path to future improvements and upgrades, even those Denon hasn�t thought of yet."

I now have a great job for my ol 5805. Outdoor living room. and the whole back yard audio. 1700 watts! My neighbors love me!

Just what you see!
Colourist is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off