PS3 Media Server Setup Question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 07-24-2012, 11:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
erick15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking to set up a media server in my dorm this coming year. Just trying to figure out how to do it at the moment. I am wondering would this setup work and be able to stream 1080p and 5.1?

Ps3 wired to airport express, this can be done correct? If not would it work if I wired the ps3 into the outlet on the wall (the university network) or should I just run the ps3 on wireless.

Airport express wired into university network

Macbook Pro on airport express wireless network

Macbook Pro running PS3 Media Server for Mac

External Harddrive file holding movie files connect to Macbook pro


Just so that you know I want to use an airport express for the airplay ability so that I can easily stream music from my mac to my sound system. Also the university does not allow you to have wireless routers, still not sure if they will find out about it if I use one. I know I can hide the network but I'm not sure how strict they are on it. I know that they require you to register your mac address of computer to your ethernet port, will this be a problem using a wireless router?

Pretty confused as to how to do this, after searching a bit this is what I have come up with. Any suggestions are appreciated.
erick15 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 07-25-2012, 08:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scarpad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Run Plex Media Server Instead of PS3 Media Server, on the Macbook, the PS3 will detect it and stream flawlessly, i've been using this setup for a good while now.
Scarpad is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 07-28-2012, 02:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Do they have plex for windows too? Is it free and more stable than tvetsity and ps3 media player
zoro is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 07-28-2012, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Yes, Plex works with windows too.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 07-29-2012, 12:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

Yes, Plex works with windows too.
whats the diff between media center and media server?
zoro is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off