PS3 Media Server Setup Question - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Gaming & Content Streaming > Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming > PS3 Media Server Setup Question

Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

erick15's Avatar erick15
12:24 AM Liked: 10
post #1 of 5
07-25-2012 | Posts: 1
Joined: Jul 2012
I'm looking to set up a media server in my dorm this coming year. Just trying to figure out how to do it at the moment. I am wondering would this setup work and be able to stream 1080p and 5.1?

Ps3 wired to airport express, this can be done correct? If not would it work if I wired the ps3 into the outlet on the wall (the university network) or should I just run the ps3 on wireless.

Airport express wired into university network

Macbook Pro on airport express wireless network

Macbook Pro running PS3 Media Server for Mac

External Harddrive file holding movie files connect to Macbook pro


Just so that you know I want to use an airport express for the airplay ability so that I can easily stream music from my mac to my sound system. Also the university does not allow you to have wireless routers, still not sure if they will find out about it if I use one. I know I can hide the network but I'm not sure how strict they are on it. I know that they require you to register your mac address of computer to your ethernet port, will this be a problem using a wireless router?

Pretty confused as to how to do this, after searching a bit this is what I have come up with. Any suggestions are appreciated.
Scarpad's Avatar Scarpad
09:28 PM Liked: 18
post #2 of 5
07-25-2012 | Posts: 1,377
Joined: Dec 2000
Run Plex Media Server Instead of PS3 Media Server, on the Macbook, the PS3 will detect it and stream flawlessly, i've been using this setup for a good while now.
zoro's Avatar zoro
03:11 PM Liked: 17
post #3 of 5
07-28-2012 | Posts: 10,073
Joined: Mar 2002
Do they have plex for windows too? Is it free and more stable than tvetsity and ps3 media player
GusGus748s's Avatar GusGus748s
04:59 PM Liked: 601
post #4 of 5
07-28-2012 | Posts: 6,438
Joined: Mar 2009
Yes, Plex works with windows too.
zoro's Avatar zoro
01:17 AM Liked: 17
post #5 of 5
07-29-2012 | Posts: 10,073
Joined: Mar 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

Yes, Plex works with windows too.
whats the diff between media center and media server?
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3