Netgear 550 Replacement - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 07-28-2012, 02:10 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Av8tr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been using it for almost a year and its worked flawlessly for streaming BD iso's. That's all all I need, but lately I've been having to unplug and replug along with other annoying fixes.

I'd like something that works a little better overall. any suggestions?
Av8tr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 07-28-2012, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Dune, PCH, Micca with realtek 1186 chip. 1185 chip cant do full bd iso menus.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 07-28-2012, 08:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Opentoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Av8tr View Post

I've been using it for almost a year and its worked flawlessly for streaming BD iso's. That's all all I need, but lately I've been having to unplug and replug along with other annoying fixes.
I'd like something that works a little better overall. any suggestions?

Just buy another one or re-flash the firmware maybe? There is no reason at all to buy a new players these days, except if you want 3D. If you don't want 3d, you can buy 4 year old technology and it would work fine. I still use a 3-4 year old Dune Prime 3.0. And to this day there still isn't much out there that is better then that. The media player "boom" we had a few years ago just died out. Everyone thinks Netflix is the best and could care less about accessing their own content anymore. Us die hards out there that want to access our servers still want such products, but there just isn't any good stuff out there anymore.
Opentoe is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 08-05-2012, 02:08 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Av8tr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great answer. Thanks. I haven't been paying much attention to since my system has been running so well this long. Usually in the world of elecronics there would be something much better by now.

I do have a lot of 3d BDs that would be fun to stream, but I can still make discs and play then on my ps3 unless they Cinavia protection.
Av8tr is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 03-23-2013, 10:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Does this has been updated to do netflix
zoro is online now  
post #6 of 8 Old 03-23-2013, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

Does this has been updated to do netflix

Netgear NeoTV550 has been discontinued and will never have netflix since it isn't supported by netgear anymore. They had one last FW update.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 03-23-2013, 11:50 AM
 
comicguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 458
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoro View Post

Does this has been updated to do netflix
as has been stated in the past...NO MORE UPDATE EVER FOR THE NEOTV 550. It is EOL and that is that...
comicguy is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 03-23-2013, 05:45 PM
Member
 
thetoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
what we need to do is lobby netgear to enable us to unlock the firmware and replace bits from their last firmware.

i.e. if we would replace the kernel, we would be able to easily get GPT support. For the case of the device wedging itself, we could easily install a watchdog process that could reboot it regularly (or even simply overnight).

I don't see much reason why netgear would not want us to be able to do that at this point.
thetoad is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Netgear Ntv550
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off