Looking for Advice on Switch/Router Setup for Gigabit Wired Network - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-02-2012, 07:37 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Damonb10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I recently moved into a new home that I had Cat6 run everywhere. I want to upgrade my router and switch hardware to enable gigabit speeds on my network. When I was considering how to set this up, I figured it would be best to have a wired router with more ports than usual (~8-12 ports) connected to all of the room drops and the cable modem. Then I figured I'd get a wireless router and could connect that to one of the open ports of the wired router. I figured this would be better than having a 4-port wireless router feeding a higher count port switch, because then all of the drops off the switch would have to pass through that single connection of the wireless router.

So, I'd like your opinion on what is best between the 2 options (assume hardware rated for gigabit speeds):

1. Cable Modem --> 8-12 port wired router --> 4 port Wireless router

2. Cable Modem --> 4 port Wireless router --> 8-12 port wired switch

Also, any suggestions for a good gigabit wired router with 8-12 ports would be appreciated.
Damonb10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-03-2012, 06:25 AM
Member
 
bgavin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Look into a multi-port gigabit switch instead.
I use the Netgear types... they come in 5,8,16 and probably larger capacities.
Your private LAN centers at this switch.

Run a single cable from your gigabit switch to a standard router.
This keeps all traffic switching on the gigabit hardware.
The router is only used by traffic wanting access to the internet.
bobsilver likes this.
bgavin is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-07-2012, 03:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
bobsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Agreed with the comments above. Use a rouetr to mange ip addresses and internet connections. Feed that to a gigabit switch. Buy size as needed. I use a 16 port Netgear GS116 which is a smart switch., Means you can mange quality of service. Otherwise just buy a gigabit switch that meets your needs. But if you buy a Netgear GS series they also have lifetime warranties.

Bob Silver
Netgear AV Consultant
bobsilver is online now  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-19-2012, 07:28 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Damonb10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the replies. I thought maybe there would be a drawback to funnel all of the connections in the house through one hardwired connection between a router and the switch. I guess it wouldn't be much of an issue if I'm sure to buy gigabit devices.

The only other item I thought would have an impact is that if I buy a hardrive to connect on USB to the router, than all access to that hardrive would have to pass through that single hardwired connection as well...
Damonb10 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off