IP Security Camera Help / Suggestions? - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 48 Old 08-08-2012, 07:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
saiga6360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do the Foscams have a web GUI that does record of the video stream via CIFS/SMB or NFS to NAS?
saiga6360 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 48 Old 01-14-2013, 09:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 592
I ended up spending too much money over the holidays, and the IP camera project got put on hold. However, I am going to revive this thread since I am in the market to buy some IP cameras, and I've got my eye on the new 720p's camera for the perimeter. We will see since tax season is coming up biggrin.gif

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #33 of 48 Old 01-14-2013, 09:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by saiga6360 View Post

Do the Foscams have a web GUI that does record of the video stream via CIFS/SMB or NFS to NAS?

This is a good question. Anyone?

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #34 of 48 Old 04-26-2013, 01:04 AM
Newbie
 
wirelessbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fosam have many models which have night vision, Pan/tilt etc. You can choose the one which is perfect for you. Foscam FI8918W may be the perfect choice for you. it packs all features you need
wirelessbrain is offline  
post #35 of 48 Old 04-26-2013, 02:43 AM
Newbie
 
Benin Alex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi bro,

I guess the new firmware by foscam supports web UI and support up to 9 cameras. Saw this somewhere when I Google sometime back.Will put the link if I find it.

then am using FI9820W of foscam which is a hd one. I bought it only because its was the only good quality hd cam i could get in my budget.cool.gif
Benin Alex is offline  
post #36 of 48 Old 04-26-2013, 11:36 AM
Member
 
Spaniard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use Openeye security caeras and their EasyDVR. Great quality, good prices - depending on your needs.
Spaniard is offline  
post #37 of 48 Old 05-30-2013, 08:19 AM
Newbie
 
Jeremy Klien's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
IP camera is filled to the brim with specialised features which offer the next level of security for high tech homes and safety conscious businesses, by allowing you stay in control no matter where you are.
Jeremy Klien is offline  
post #38 of 48 Old 05-30-2013, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
replayrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NY- The tax State
Posts: 4,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Klien View Post

IP camera is filled to the brim with specialised features which offer the next level of security for high tech homes and safety conscious businesses, by allowing you stay in control no matter where you are.
And ???
IP cams still need a DVR to record to- yes no need for a $1000 capture card any longer- but you still need a higher end core i7 system with a decent hard drive for HD cams.
The main advantage to IP cams is ease of installation because you can run just a single cat5 run to each camera, and you can easily do firmware updates with the cams in place.

"I say we take off and nuke the entire site from orbit. It's the only way to be sure...."

replayrob is offline  
post #39 of 48 Old 08-07-2013, 02:02 PM
Newbie
 
drpitzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone concerned about security? I've seen that the Foscam devices are not secure from easy hacks. The vendor currently says to not connect them to the Internet for now. Is there a vendor who makes one that has great security??
drpitzer is offline  
post #40 of 48 Old 08-07-2013, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by drpitzer View Post

Is anyone concerned about security? I've seen that the Foscam devices are not secure from easy hacks. The vendor currently says to not connect them to the Internet for now. Is there a vendor who makes one that has great security??
Source?
olyteddy is offline  
post #41 of 48 Old 08-07-2013, 10:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by drpitzer View Post

Is anyone concerned about security? I've seen that the Foscam devices are not secure from easy hacks. The vendor currently says to not connect them to the Internet for now. Is there a vendor who makes one that has great security??

I believe this will depend on your network security, and not the camera since they are connected to your network. So, if you've got a pretty good security network then I don't think it should be an issue.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #42 of 48 Old 08-08-2013, 01:28 PM
Newbie
 
drpitzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
drpitzer is offline  
post #43 of 48 Old 08-08-2013, 03:28 PM
Senior Member
 
djgcue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use a couple of Dropcams. I wouldn't recommend them @ $150. They're not a bad IP camera just overpriced IMO. Also, there's a separate monthly charge if you want the recording feature.
djgcue is offline  
post #44 of 48 Old 08-08-2013, 07:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Thanks. So basically if you keep your firmware up to date and use a user name other than 'admin' and use a password you're going to be OK.
olyteddy is offline  
post #45 of 48 Old 12-19-2013, 09:34 AM
Newbie
 
LeoR452's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I feel safer when leaving home since installing my foscam. I also got this little app for my iPhone for easy remote access called Cams2Me. I get a live video feed and audio if I want it plus alerts if anything's going on and best of all I can record any and ALL activity.   For anyone interested its at Cams2Me.net .. bought mine at Apple Store (you can put on iPad too) tunes.apple.com/us/app/cams2me/id757008976 Best Luck with your set-up!

LeoR452 is offline  
post #46 of 48 Old 01-14-2014, 07:31 AM
Member
 
Fritzolio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I too have a boat load of Foscam cameras and the are great. However, I just bought a 3mp 1920 x 1080 HD 30fps outdoor bullet camera to monitor the driveway. I was totally blown away. The video quality is far far above that of the Foscam (and other 640 x 480 mpeg cameras) The colors are far better and far more natural. I never realized how washed out the Foscam colors were until i got this camera. Unlike the Foscams, it will record videos and at a full 30fps. The motion sensing function is far more accurate than the Foscam and I don't end up with 10s of 1000s of pics yet it still captures all motion. It's a Chinese no name, I think it's a Grandstream since it came with GS software {G Surf Pro) which btw is totally awesome but doesn't work with the Foscams. Cost was somewhere around $230 and worth every penny. I had to change iPhone monitoring SW because this camera isn't compatible with the Foscam SW but the new SW (which is compatible with the Foscam cameras) works just as good and is faster.

While the Foscams (and other 640 x 480) are good, they are nowhere near as good as HD cams and for the price, the HD cams are a much better value.

"If you're not living life on the edge you're taking up too much space."
Fritzolio is offline  
post #47 of 48 Old 03-02-2014, 11:56 AM
Newbie
 
CameraCornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by watchy View Post

Check out Logitech Alert cameras, not badly priced, they have night capability also.indoor and outdoor models

 

I've been using them daily for 8 months - they are very unique and sophisticated IP Cameras.  The motion detection i

 

There was some problems with Logitech running out of supply - for months - but now they seem to be coming back on the market according to reports from customers on the Internet.

 

I like the cameras so much - I have made them the first supported camera for a new software I am writing.  If you have a Logitech Alert camera and want to help me test the new software - please contact me. Than you.  (P.S. I'm not associated with Logitech, I'm just a customer of theirs).

CameraCornet is offline  
post #48 of 48 Old 03-03-2014, 07:48 AM
Member
 
watchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm still using Logitechs at my brothers business. They have been working pretty well and haven't had a camera fail yet. I have since decided to put Hikvisions at my house, They offer better IR and 3MP@25fps or 1080p@30fps.

http://www.hikvision.com/en/us/Products_show.asp?id=9125 Turret

http://www.hikvision.com/en/us/Products_show.asp?id=9120 Bullet

Also they are IP66. You can buyy dedicated NVRs for them on ebay for about $400, which includes an 8 port POE Switch. Whats also cool about the NVR, It supports Third Party cameras, so you could probably use your current Logitechs on them.

Link to NVR
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Hikvision-DS-7608NI-SE-P-8CH-PoE-Switch-Network-HD-NVR-Recorder-1U-HDMI-1080P-/291087594499?pt=US_Surveillance_Digital_Video_Recorders_Cards&hash=item43c62c3403


Just put in a few of your hard drives and your good to go. Has iPhone/Android Interface and PC Gui.
watchy is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off