Charter cable modem will not connect to gigabyte switch - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 08-06-2012, 08:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm new to charter and am trying to connect my Cisco cable modem directly to my netgear gigabyte switch. The modem will power a few of the ports but not all ports. Seems very sporadic. Rg11 comes into the house and is run through two different 1 to 8 amplified splitters. I noticed that the cable modem is coming off one of these amplified feeds. Does data have to be on its own clean feed? Charter says no. Could it be a firewall problem. I can hook up my Cisco wireless router and the four LAN ports work on the back of the router. I tried running from the router to the switch but still no luck with switch. Any ideas would be great
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 08-07-2012, 03:49 AM

Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Your modem needs to be connected to your router, the WAN port which I'm guessing they're still labeling as such. I'm guessing you already did this when you ran the setup wizard for the router. Your switch will then be connected to the router so you will lose one of the 4 ports on the router. It wasn't real clear to me how you had things set up so figured I'd start there. Charter does not need it's own clean data feed, I have a number of non amplified splitters before it reaches the modem without issue.
post #3 of 6 Old 08-07-2012, 06:03 AM

Unless your amplified 8 way splitters are two-way amplification (passes signals in both direction), they're not suitable to connect your cable equipment to, either your cable modem or your cable box. Your cable modem of course is both sending and receiving data at the same time and if you put it on the output side of a cable distribution amplifier that doesn't pass signals in both directions properly, it's not going to work.