complex networking setup please help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-09-2012, 02:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vorlen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: St Augustine Florida
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am moving into a new 2 story house I am having built in a few weeks that has cat 6 installed in every room and I need some guidance. I would like to have my Comcast cable modem share internet with all 5 rooms plus have those rooms be able to talk to one another. What is the best way to do this?

So reading other threads it looks like I would plug the cable modem into a router and then plug the router in to a switch. Then I can buy additional switches for the rooms with multiple devices? The layout is shown below.

Room 1 apple tv, directv box, Xbox 360 and PS3 5 port gigabit switch (1 for wall 4 for devices)
Room 2 apple tv and directv box 5 port gigabit switch (1 for wall 2 for devices)
Room 3 apple tv and directv box 5 port gigabit switch (1 for wall 2 for devices)
Room 4 apple tv and directv box 5 port gigabit switch (1 for wall 2 for devices)
Room 5 Computer (this is where all the files are held)

Junction box has all 5 rooms leading to it and is where I would hook up the modem into the router and then the router into a gigabit switch.


Does that sound about right?
vorlen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-09-2012, 10:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 601
Sounds about right.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-12-2012, 11:33 AM
Member
 
bgavin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I assume you have a LAN wiring closet defined, where all rooms pull their cables to a common location.
This is the location for the top level switch. Power is required here.

The modem and router can be located together at the cable MPOE which can be elsewhere.
A single drop from the MPOE location to the wiring closet is required for the router private side connection.

A switch in every room will not violate the Ethernet 3-2-1 rule. No worries there.
I doubt the house is large enough to violate the 185 meter end-to-end length rule, either.

Traffic between rooms will switch across the backplane of the top level switch (in the closet).
Traffic bound for the Internet will hop to the router, modem and beyond.
With CAT6 wiring, you can run GB Ethernet at full duplex.

Are you pulling phone cables to the rooms also?
bgavin is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-14-2012, 11:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vorlen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: St Augustine Florida
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wont be running phone just ethernet. Thanks for the detailed response.
vorlen is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off