Raid or Other Options - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 08-14-2012, 01:12 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the situation. I just finished building my HTPC. I have a Seagate 3TB drive as well as (3) WD 2TB drives that I will be putting in it. I have roughly 4.5TB of movies spread over the 3TB and (1) 2TB hard drives, with a duplicate copy on an external drive.

My question is, what is the best way to go about setting up these drives to maximize space, but create some type of redundancy in case one of the drives fails? Isn't there some way to use (3) of the drives as storage, and (1) as a backup in case on of the drives crashes? My motherboard that I put in does support Raid setups. I have never done this before, but would that be the best way to go about it by setting it up through BIOS?

I have read about RAID, but still don't feel all that confident with it. I somewhat understand what the different settings are, but which would be the best? I would like to use the 3TB, and (2) 2TB drives as storage with (1) 2TB as the backup. Or do I use the (3) 2TB as storage with the 3TB as the backup? If a drive fails, will it automatically dump all the information that was on the bad drive to the backup drive?

Sorry if this is confusing. Just trying to figure this out to finish my setup. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 08-14-2012, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter

Or would RAID 10 be the best option? Below is a link to the motherboard I installed. Thanks.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131711&Tpk=asus%20p8h67-m%20pro
post #3 of 10 Old 08-14-2012, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 58
if you want to use one drive as redundancy then you would pick raid5 you could lose one drive and still be fine. But you also lose one drive of space.