MAXing out WD TV Live - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-18-2012, 06:40 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
lewis_jsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know the maximum number of simultaneous playbacks you could get from the latest WD TV Live's?

Let’s say you have a gigabit network, the movie is a standard definition DVD ripped divx on a WD My Book Live of switch ports.
Do you think 3 or 4 WD TV Lives on the same switch accessing the NAS would be pushing it?

Or is this not possible, anyone got an examples or used a similar setup to allow multiple users to access a NAS without playback being effected when 3 or 4 + are accessing the drive?

I'd be keen to hear some examples or solutions you've had in the past that worked well. rolleyes.gif
lewis_jsy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-18-2012, 10:08 AM
Member
 
darenm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have 3 wdtv Live pluses and and a new wdtv live for a total of 4 on the same network.

I can play a 1080p transformers mkv in the living room and have 2 bedrooms running 720p or standard def stuff without a hiccup.

I use dlna twinkly media server running on an old dell laptop With 20 terabytes of external hard drives. Here's a link to my pics and more info.
darenm is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-18-2012, 10:12 AM
Member
 
darenm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
darenm is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-18-2012, 09:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
lewis_jsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Perfect darenm thanks for letting me know. Is it a Gigabit network your using?
lewis_jsy is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-19-2012, 04:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 625
I built my own unRaid server, and I can stream 1080p movies to 3 media players, stream dvd movies to my laptop wireless without any issues.
GusGus748s is online now  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-19-2012, 06:49 AM
Member
 
darenm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a couple freezes when I first set it up. I purchased a cheap $20 gigabit switch and it's been perfect ever since. All wdtvs, and laptop with with the hard drives attached are hooked to the switch with cat5e.

No issues at all. I love this set up.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewis_jsy View Post

Perfect darenm thanks for letting me know. Is it a Gigabit network your using?
darenm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off