Cannot access server when connected to Powerline Adapter. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 08-18-2012, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Makaveli6103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I recently got some powerline adapters to connect my iMac to a wired network in the next room. But now I am not able to connect to my freenas that is connected directly to the router. It works over wifi but not through the powerline adapter. My setup is below

Freenas -> Netgear WNDR3700v1

iMac -> Zyxel PLA4205 -> Zyxel PLA4205 -> WNDR3700
Makaveli6103 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 08-19-2012, 04:31 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Makaveli6103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I tried with a PC and it works fine. Any ideas?
Makaveli6103 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 08-19-2012, 05:26 PM
Senior Member
 
djc11369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 20
What are your ethernet settings on your iMac, is it configured to use DHCP? (System Preferences, Network, Ethernet)
djc11369 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 08-19-2012, 05:42 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Makaveli6103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by djc11369 View Post

What are your ethernet settings on your iMac, is it configured to use DHCP? (System Preferences, Network, Ethernet)

Yes I use DHCP
Makaveli6103 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 08-19-2012, 07:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Can you ping the NAS IP?
almostinsane is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 08-19-2012, 07:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Makaveli6103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by almostinsane View Post

Can you ping the NAS IP?

Nope.
Makaveli6103 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 08-20-2012, 03:29 AM
Senior Member
 
djc11369's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Does your iMac at least recognize it's got an ethernet cable plugged in? I assume you already tried running a cable direct instead of through the Zyxel to see if you still have issues?
djc11369 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off