Dune's new 3D Player with inbuilt HDD caddy woooohooo - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 08-28-2012, 09:50 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
This is what I HAVE BEEN WAITING ON
Similar form factor as the base series with 3D Capabilty and front loading HDD caddie
Looking keenly at this
This is shown on the IFA exhibitors site smile.gifsmile.gifsmile.gif

WOOOOO HOOOO

http://www.virtualmarket.ifa-berlin.de/index.php5?id=1377312&fid=7502b9616d9b37e56e35fd38180b061e&offset=0&highlight=dune&bc_id=db30467887549b220d5745b1b53c8c3b&compact=0&tblank=&path=Home&Action=showProduct


There is a Dune 3d Max too

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 08-29-2012, 04:25 AM
Senior Member
 
trondmm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice. I've got the HD Base 3 myself, and this looks like an obvious upgrade. Or I might go for HD Max 3D.

I'm intrigued by Dune HD Connect. If the price is right, I might get that one as a toy.
trondmm is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 08-29-2012, 04:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 33
HD connect is also shown on the same page wink.gif

Mr Eric is online now  
post #4 of 17 Old 08-29-2012, 04:44 AM
Senior Member
 
trondmm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yup. It's really cute. But, I'd really like to know how it performs and what it supports.
trondmm is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 08-29-2012, 05:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Eric View Post

HD connect is also shown on the same page wink.gif
Is that some kind of MHL stick for Internet content? Never associated Dune with anything but local content, so surprised if it's indeed meant as a competitor for Roku's MHL stick.

Guess we'll find out more as IFA kicks into full gear, but so far, I don't see what the differences in the different Dune 3D models are:
- TV-40 3D
- TV-20 3D
- TV-10 3D
- Base 3D

All 4 of these appear to be based on Sigma's SMP8673 chip. All seem to have "Full3D support", which I assume means frame-packed 3D, SBS, top/bottom, but no menus. The "TV" models seem to offer "dual digital tuners", which I'm guessing will be DVB-T, not ATSC. Also, will the "TV" models not do hd audio, while Base 3D will? Hmm...

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 08-29-2012, 05:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 33
it seems that the HD Max 3D will be the only one able to play full BR 3D discs including menus, certainly because it's the only one with an internal BR drive.

http://www.virtualmarket.ifa-berlin.de/index.php5?id=1377309&compact=0&tblank=&path=Home&Action=showProduct

i guess that the differences between 103/203/403 will be only based on HDD enclosure, number of USB ports, DTV tuner and so on...while chipset and general features will be exactly the same (same as the 101/301)
Mr Eric is online now  
post #7 of 17 Old 08-29-2012, 06:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Just read Damian's post here. The HD Connect looks to be a mini media player in a dongle, not an Internet content stick like Roku's.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 08-29-2012, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Skylinestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by denass View Post

This is what I HAVE BEEN WAITING ON
Similar form factor as the base series with 3D Capabilty and front loading HDD caddie
Looking keenly at this
This is shown on the IFA exhibitors site smile.gifsmile.gifsmile.gif
WOOOOO HOOOO
http://www.virtualmarket.ifa-berlin.de/index.php5?id=1377312&fid=7502b9616d9b37e56e35fd38180b061e&offset=0&highlight=dune&bc_id=db30467887549b220d5745b1b53c8c3b&compact=0&tblank=&path=Home&Action=showProduct
There is a Dune 3d Max too
Glad that there's a new HD Base model. I wonder how's the new video chipset compare to Marvell Qdeo?
Skylinestar is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 09-22-2012, 09:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Quatre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,598
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So when are the new Dune media tanks that can play 3d bd iso coming out? Aren't there others that can now too? There was ones many were getting (HiMedia I believe) but I think it didn't do menus. And the Oppo 3d bd player that can play your ripped iso from
Hdd so you don't have to deal with discs though they were disabling that update with future fw.

Either way these Dunes are coming kind of late to the game and still not out. But from I read and remember it seems it's one of the best options as far as new players using new sigma chip which is better then the Realtek chip based players that have been out for over a year. Hope new sigma chip players and particularly Dune is worth the wait.

Do we have any release dates? Also seems like a bunch of choices making hard to figure lit which iteration will be what I'm looking for without what I don't need. I don't tv dvr capability. Just 3d bd iso playback with full menus like disc, internal and external hdd capability, and hopefully yamj compatible since that is the jukebox prog I'm used to from pch.
Quatre is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 09-23-2012, 12:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Buy a pch a400. It will be out in October, based on sigma 8911 and works with yamj.

None of the new player will do BR menus.
Mr Eric is online now  
post #11 of 17 Old 09-23-2012, 08:41 PM
Senior Member
 
socwrkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Are you sure it's October because their distributer's website lists mid-November as the probable release date
socwrkr is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 09-23-2012, 10:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Second half of October is confirmed for Europe. Preorders are already opened and first test samples to resellers and journalists should be received this week.
Mr Eric is online now  
post #13 of 17 Old 11-25-2012, 05:33 PM
Newbie
 
Geoffcraig67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi there - Any updates on this - Did it ship ?

Saw this - Shipping Q1 2013 - http://www.cir-engineering.com/bin/dune/Shipping%20Q1%202013-Dune%20HD%20Max%203D.pdf

Geoff
Geoffcraig67 is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 11-26-2012, 03:36 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
denass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
waiting to hear of them becoming available too

I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken
denass is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 12-03-2012, 07:35 AM
Member
 
spl147's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have the PCH A-400.....all i can say is DO NOT buy it......it is a major POS!!!!!!! firmware is a joke......out of my 600 bluray iso`s it plays 4 so far with out skipping or locking up......it takes up to 1 min. to skip chapters......same movie on my dune smart d1 takes about 2 secs.......very very dissopointed with this player........once again PCH is forcing the public to beta test.....i should of known better.....waiting on the dune hd ase 3d to be released so i can dump this POS!!!
spl147 is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 12-17-2012, 01:31 AM
Newbie
 
realmode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can confirm that PCH A400 is a huge dissapointment. I have it for 3 days and now i`ll send it back. Singma design corfirm that the DTS-HD sound passthrough is fuc*ed up. The sound keeps dropping and the AVR blinks like hell :mad.gifmad.gifmad.gifmad.gifmad.gifmad.gifmad.gifmad.gifmad.gif
realmode is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 12-17-2012, 01:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 33
it seems that using only bdvm structures instead of ISO/MKV helps to play DTS HD MA without (too many) problems...
Mr Eric is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off