POPCORN HOUR A-400 is coming soon - Page 79 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2341 of 2366 Old 12-27-2014, 05:26 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,501
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1235 Post(s)
Liked: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
I have two PCH's and have never had an issue until lately. Right now it is laggy rewinding and fast forwarding. Sometimes it will go slow and then crash and other times it will buffer for a long time. I am also getting the buffer wheel when I start movies and change chapters. This use to be flawless for me and now I am very disappointed. BOTH of them are doing this. One is wired directly to the router and the other is wired directly to a bridge. My media is pulled off of my Flexraid server. Please help me sort this out. I have tried everything that I can think of and it is not my network because I can watch a movie on my computer directly off of the server. But then again, who knows because both of my PCH's are acting up. This is why I am lost.
DId it just start? Did it update to the newer firmware recently? Maybe you need to downgrade to one of the previous firmwares. Some people have been having issues with the firmware that was released in August.

53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3--32TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2342 of 2366 Old 12-27-2014, 07:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,518
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 552 Post(s)
Liked: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
DId it just start? Did it update to the newer firmware recently? Maybe you need to downgrade to one of the previous firmwares. Some people have been having issues with the firmware that was released in August.

Thanks for the reply! It did just start to happen about a week ago. After tearing into it more and more I found it was a hard drive in my server failing. It took me a while to realize it but figured it out when some of my movies were having the issue explained above and other were not. Then I played a lot of my recent movies without a hiccup and went back a played movies that I have had since I built my server and realized what was going on. I ran a drive heath status in my server software and sure enough, it was failing. I just went to best buy and picked up another drive and swapped it out. Right now my server is restoring the drive and it looks like it is going to take a little bit to be finished. I will post what the end results are when it is done. Crossing my fingers that everything will be simple and ready to go.

What issues were people having with the August firmware?

Thanks again!
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #2343 of 2366 Old 12-28-2014, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,518
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 552 Post(s)
Liked: 290
I woke up this morning and went to check to see what my server was doing and it was finished restoring my drive. Restarted my drive pool and tested. PERFECT! Everything is back to normal now! This had me really worried because it was the first time that I have ever had to replace a drive. Good to know that it is not that hard and I can do it no problem next time. I also know the symptoms so it won't take me a long time to figure out what the issue is.
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #2344 of 2366 Old 12-28-2014, 06:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
I have tried everything that I can think of and it is not my network
One thing I have learned from reading the thread for years is - it usually is.
Gary J is offline  
post #2345 of 2366 Old 12-28-2014, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,518
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 552 Post(s)
Liked: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
One thing I have learned from reading the thread for years is - it usually is.
PCH is a really solid unit. I have tried streaming my blurays with different media streamers such as Appletv and WDTV and they would act up on me. Maybe it is because they do not have gigabit ethernet port. This is why I bought another PCH off of ebay about a month or so ago. I really like the way the jukebox is too. A lot of people have had issues with their units and I guess that I have been fortunate. Then again, all I do is stream my blurays with it and nothing else. Too bad they stopped selling them to the U.S.
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #2346 of 2366 Old 12-28-2014, 08:06 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,501
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1235 Post(s)
Liked: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
PCH is a really solid unit. I have tried streaming my blurays with different media streamers such as Appletv and WDTV and they would act up on me. Maybe it is because they do not have gigabit ethernet port. This is why I bought another PCH off of ebay about a month or so ago. I really like the way the jukebox is too. A lot of people have had issues with their units and I guess that I have been fortunate. Then again, all I do is stream my blurays with it and nothing else. Too bad they stopped selling them to the U.S.
The PCH A410U is available in the US.

53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3--32TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #2347 of 2366 Old 12-28-2014, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Gary J is offline  
post #2348 of 2366 Old 12-28-2014, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,518
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 552 Post(s)
Liked: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The PCH A410U is available in the US.

Yes I know. I just read the thread here on AVS. I bought my second PCH before that thread was made. I have two A400's so I think that I am good for a while. From my understanding, they are just about the same thing.
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #2349 of 2366 Old 12-28-2014, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
Yes I know. I just read the thread here on AVS. I bought my second PCH before that thread was made. I have two A400's so I think that I am good for a while. From my understanding, they are just about the same thing.
From what I've been told the 410 has better hardware for music.
GusGus748s is offline  
post #2350 of 2366 Old 12-28-2014, 08:31 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,501
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1235 Post(s)
Liked: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pain Infliction View Post
Yes I know. I just read the thread here on AVS. I bought my second PCH before that thread was made. I have two A400's so I think that I am good for a while. From my understanding, they are just about the same thing.
Yes. The A410 has more memory(double the RAM). And I've yet to hear about a performance difference between the A400 and A410/410U.

53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3--32TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 12-28-2014 at 08:35 AM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #2351 of 2366 Old 12-28-2014, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The PCH A410U is available in the US.
where?
Gary J is offline  
post #2352 of 2366 Old 12-28-2014, 08:34 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,501
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1235 Post(s)
Liked: 897
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post
From what I've been told the 410 has better hardware for music.
I never really looked into that aspect. I forgot that the A410 has an "ESS Sabre audiophile Class 24/192 DAC"

But I have not used analog outputs from devices in my years(except for a TiVo Mini going into a Slingbox 350). I use the HDMI output to have my receivers do the decoding.

53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3--32TB unRAID1a
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #2353 of 2366 Old 12-28-2014, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I never really looked into that aspect. I forgot that the A410 has an "ESS Sabre audiophile Class 24/192 DAC"

But I have not used analog outputs from devices in my years(except for a TiVo Mini going into a Slingbox 350). I use the HDMI output to have my receivers do the decoding.
There's a debate between some of my big time audiophile friends of mine. One says HDMI is better for everything, and the other one says analog is better for music. I've never tried analog for music.

However, in my personal opinion, DAC plays a bigger role for sound. If you have a really good DAC, you will get really good sound. I think that's why PCH created the 410. To give people the option to have better sound for music.
GusGus748s is offline  
post #2354 of 2366 Old 12-28-2014, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 69
The audiophile talk comes down to when it becomes analog. People swear the faster it gets to the DAC the better it will sound. I myself have never herd a difference if it goes over 6 feet of HDMI before an AVR handles it. But I am also not a hardcore listener.
halfelite is online now  
post #2355 of 2366 Old 12-28-2014, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The PCH A410U is available in the US.
where?
Gary J is offline  
post #2356 of 2366 Old 12-28-2014, 02:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,518
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 552 Post(s)
Liked: 290
you can order it from cloud media
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #2357 of 2366 Old 12-28-2014, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 113
no you can not
Gary J is offline  
post #2358 of 2366 Old 12-28-2014, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
no you can not
Its not on the website contact sales over email and you can order one.
halfelite is online now  
post #2359 of 2366 Old 12-28-2014, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Pain Infliction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 3,518
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 552 Post(s)
Liked: 290
Pain Infliction is offline  
post #2360 of 2366 Old 12-28-2014, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,764
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post
Its not on the website contact sales over email and you can order one.
Aha super secret stuff for some reason! Or else someone(s) were just guessing.
Gary J is offline  
post #2361 of 2366 Old 12-28-2014, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post
Aha super secret stuff for some reason! Or else someone(s) were just guessing.

No they sent out an email to past customers telling them if they are interested in the a410U model to contact sales via email. Looks like a limited release of sorts or maybe testing waters to see if they should start a full batch type thing
halfelite is online now  
post #2362 of 2366 Old 12-29-2014, 06:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
RickAVManiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Or order from Amazon reseller : http://www.amazon.com/Popcorn-Hour-A...s=popcorn+a410
aaronwt likes this.
RickAVManiac is offline  
post #2363 of 2366 Old 03-01-2015, 12:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
can the ram / memory on the A-400 be upgraded somehow ( so that it is the same as the A-410 ie 1024MB DDR2 )

I don't want to open the box if it cannot be done !
pcourtney is offline  
post #2364 of 2366 Old 03-01-2015, 11:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcourtney View Post
can the ram / memory on the A-400 be upgraded somehow ( so that it is the same as the A-410 ie 1024MB DDR2 )

I don't want to open the box if it cannot be done !
No its soldered on the board
halfelite is online now  
post #2365 of 2366 Unread Today, 09:09 PM
Member
 
SteveMet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My A400 was fine for about 2 years now until recently.

I got new LCD TV support 3D. So I would like to try it out.

And found out, for frame packed 3D, A400 doesn't support MVC MKV, only 3D ISO.

And if the primary sound track is TUREHD, I got constant audio dropouts and video frame dropouts, like once every 30 seconds. The home network was fine, tested no problem for bit rate over 80-90Mbps.

Does anyone have the same issue? DTS seems good though.
SteveMet is online now  
post #2366 of 2366 Unread Today, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveMet View Post
My A400 was fine for about 2 years now until recently.

I got new LCD TV support 3D. So I would like to try it out.

And found out, for frame packed 3D, A400 doesn't support MVC MKV, only 3D ISO.

And if the primary sound track is TUREHD, I got constant audio dropouts and video frame dropouts, like once every 30 seconds. The home network was fine, tested no problem for bit rate over 80-90Mbps.

Does anyone have the same issue? DTS seems good though.

MVC/mkv never became a standard, hence there is very little support for it. Just mede8er players and stereoscopic players on PC. Even FFmpeg and things wont add support for it. Shame cause its a nice way to keep 3d movies.
Truehd is a known problem if you downgrade the A400 firmware to I think 2 or 3 versions ago truehd works fine.
halfelite is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Popcorn Hour A 400 Network Media Jukebox

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off