POPCORN HOUR A-400 is coming soon - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2298 Old 09-04-2012, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
3dprojector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
based on Sigma Design’s Dual Core 800Mhz SMP8911
1.4 hdmi
usb3
and more..
suggested retail=290 euros
lunch date October
more
http://www.networkedmediatank.com/showthread.php?tid=62790
3dprojector is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2298 Old 09-05-2012, 06:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
kneedragger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 785
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Yeah I seen that the other day. I'm still waiting for a Sigma box that we can put XBMC on.
kneedragger is offline  
post #3 of 2298 Old 09-05-2012, 12:10 PM
Member
 
grambo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Anandtech.com claims the vendor has stated a price of $249US for the American market.
grambo is offline  
post #4 of 2298 Old 09-05-2012, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Yep, Werner from Syabas stated so in the A-400 discussion here.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #5 of 2298 Old 09-05-2012, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by grambo View Post

Anandtech.com claims the vendor has stated a price of $249US for the American market.

That's an excellent price indeed. Much better than current Dune prices. We will have to see how well it performs though.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #6 of 2298 Old 09-05-2012, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
We will have to see how well it performs though.
This is key, that it's mostly stable at launch. With Mede8er's MED1000X3D at $225 shipped in the U.S., also with BD-lite, jukebox, and other similar features, Syabas's PCH A-400 has to be more compelling for $249 + shipping.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #7 of 2298 Old 09-05-2012, 01:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 58
VXP in that price range is an added bonus not something everyone would use but still nice to have.
halfelite is offline  
post #8 of 2298 Old 09-05-2012, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Yeah, forgot about that. So, in theory PQ should be better, artifact free.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #9 of 2298 Old 09-05-2012, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post

Yeah, forgot about that. So, in theory PQ should be better, artifact free.

Should be and unlike oppo all sources should pass through vxp.
halfelite is offline  
post #10 of 2298 Old 09-05-2012, 05:27 PM
Member
 
curiousmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

Should be and unlike oppo all sources should pass through vxp.

Can you explain this abit more? i'm only interested in playback of original bluray files stored on the network. Will VXP help? in theory should the picture quality match/exceed the Oppo? Does bluray files pass through vxp on the Oppo? (btw. I've used the Oppo 93 a couple of months ago and the picture quality was MAYBE 1-2% (very hard to tell...even on a Epson 5010 projector + 120" screen) better than my htpc running Jriver + Madvr ...end up selling the Oppo).
curiousmurf is online now  
post #11 of 2298 Old 09-05-2012, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by curiousmurf View Post

Can you explain this abit more? i'm only interested in playback of original bluray files stored on the network. Will VXP help? in theory should the picture quality match/exceed the Oppo? Does bluray files pass through vxp on the Oppo? (btw. I've used the Oppo 93 a couple of months ago and the picture quality was MAYBE 1-2% (very hard to tell...even on a Epson 5010 projector + 120" screen) better than my htpc running Jriver + Madvr ...end up selling the Oppo).

In theory it should look better the oppo does not pass 1080p video through its qedo scaler only 480p or lower and if I remember right only over component not hdmi.
halfelite is offline  
post #12 of 2298 Old 09-05-2012, 09:04 PM
Member
 
Lush78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
very excited about this launch... c200 feels like its getting long in the tooth... although its been a solid player for many years and i have yet to find a better replacement...
Lush78 is offline  
post #13 of 2298 Old 09-05-2012, 10:59 PM
cwt
AVS Special Member
 
cwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: nsw australia
Posts: 1,221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

In theory it should look better the oppo does not pass 1080p video through its qedo scaler only 480p or lower and if I remember right only over component not hdmi.
It depends on the oppo's configuration halfelite ;the permutations are listed here ; long story short - the qdeo can be used over hdmi wink.gif

http://www.audioholics.com/reviews/transports/high-definition-dvd-players-hd-dvd-blu-ray/oppo-bdp-93-full-review/internet-apps-hdmi-settings

Curious how the a400's vxp compares and how comprehensive is its programming for the low price smile.gif
cwt is offline  
post #14 of 2298 Old 09-05-2012, 11:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwt View Post

It depends on the oppo's configuration halfelite ;the permutations are listed here ; long story short - the qdeo can be used over hdmi wink.gif
http://www.audioholics.com/reviews/transports/high-definition-dvd-players-hd-dvd-blu-ray/oppo-bdp-93-full-review/internet-apps-hdmi-settings
Curious how the a400's vxp compares and how comprehensive is its programming for the low price smile.gif

Is it always used no matter the source? according to this site http://www.hdfever.fr/2011/05/01/test-oppo-bdp-95eu/ hdmi1 run its but only with a disc, if you have a 1080p mkv it wont run and uses the mediatek chip. Ok i re read the article

"MKV 720p to 1080p are decoded by Mediatek in Direct mode, so this is the Mediatek that upscale MKV, and not the Marvell" So I assume most people dont run direct mode? I dont own an oppo can you clarify what direct mode is? When I think of Direct i think of no post procressing yet it says in direct mode it will upscale so its confusing what is what.
halfelite is offline  
post #15 of 2298 Old 09-06-2012, 05:59 AM
cwt
AVS Special Member
 
cwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: nsw australia
Posts: 1,221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

Is it always used no matter the source? according to this site http://www.hdfever.fr/2011/05/01/test-oppo-bdp-95eu/ hdmi1 run its but only with a disc, if you have a 1080p mkv it wont run and uses the mediatek chip. Ok i re read the article
"MKV 720p to 1080p are decoded by Mediatek in Direct mode, so this is the Mediatek that upscale MKV, and not the Marvell" So I assume most people dont run direct mode? I dont own an oppo can you clarify what direct mode is? When I think of Direct i think of no post procressing yet it says in direct mode it will upscale so its confusing what is what.
From estimating what the translation means halflite the ''direct'' nomenclature is probably oppo's source direct which does indeed bypass the qdeo. This is for a pure 8bit 4:2:2 stream through the hdmi 1 . Its very handy for outboard vp's ; I use it with a duo.
Quote:
Via HDMI 2, you enjoy that decoding and processing Mediatek SoC Design by Oppo (the OP8531), by cons, one HDMI output will allow you to enjoy more video processing Scaler Marvell Qdeo Kyoto G2, a more efficient when the time is well integrated.

The oppo has a general purpose mediatek chip on hdmi 2 but this is also capable of upscaling to 1080p/60 as well as source direct [very flexible] ; just without the fancy block noise reduction/sharpness etc the qdeo does .It will be interesting if either the a400 or dune base hd can manage source direct ; that will be a clincher for a few I think smile.gif
cwt is offline  
post #16 of 2298 Old 09-06-2012, 08:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dropzone7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by cwt View Post

From estimating what the translation means halflite the ''direct'' nomenclature is probably oppo's source direct which does indeed bypass the qdeo. This is for a pure 8bit 4:2:2 stream through the hdmi 1 . Its very handy for outboard vp's ; I use it with a duo.
.It will be interesting if either the a400 or dune base hd can manage source direct ; that will be a clincher for a few I think smile.gif

Source direct is one of the things I have always wanted for my Dune Base player. It forces 4:4:4 colorspace which I would prefer be handled by my scaler.
dropzone7 is offline  
post #17 of 2298 Old 09-06-2012, 07:41 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 20,798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 592
I looks like I might finally replace my C200. This is good news. It looks like I will be buying a bunch of new electronic devices in the 4th quarter.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is offline  
post #18 of 2298 Old 09-07-2012, 06:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
etrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
any more info on CInvia and this unit?
I am talking about sata connected blu-ray player.
from what I can understand they said that doing this would make them get a license and dump them into Cinvia hell.
Not sure what that means.


ps I want to say I am sorry so many post about CInvia and the spelling is different in every post.
I just spelled it like the wiki has it, unsure what is correct.
etrin is offline  
post #19 of 2298 Old 09-07-2012, 06:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by etrin View Post

any more info on CInvia and this unit?
I am talking about sata connected blu-ray player.
from what I can understand they said that doing this would make them get a license and dump them into Cinvia hell.
Not sure what that means.
ps I want to say I am sorry so many post about CInvia and the spelling is different in every post.
I just spelled it like the wiki has it, unsure what is correct.

No Cinavia, you cannot connect a Blu Ray player or play physical discs with the A-400

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #20 of 2298 Old 09-07-2012, 09:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
etrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
thanks for clearing that up dbone there was talk in their thread about it and at first I thought they were saying that it would be included then only for external players then no.
I had to ask

are you getting one for review?
hope they send you one tomorrow smile.gif
etrin is offline  
post #21 of 2298 Old 09-07-2012, 09:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by etrin View Post

thanks for clearing that up dbone there was talk in their thread about it and at first I thought they were saying that it would be included then only for external players then no.
I had to ask
are you getting one for review?
hope they send you one tomorrow smile.gif

Yeah, the Cinavia talk was just to clarify why you won't be seeing a C version.

Once the A400 is up for pre order I will get my order in and definitely review once I receive

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #22 of 2298 Old 09-07-2012, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Yeah, the Cinavia talk was just to clarify why you won't be seeing a C version.
Once the A400 is up for pre order I will get my order in and definitely review once I receive

Awaiting for the A400 and the Dune Series review. I wonder if the A400 still uses the YAMJ / (Skin vesion) type of Jukebox as well as having an internal NMJ.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #23 of 2298 Old 09-07-2012, 10:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
dbone1026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 11,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

Awaiting for the A400 and the Dune Series review. I wonder if the A400 still uses the YAMJ / (Skin vesion) type of Jukebox as well as having an internal NMJ.

Not sure I follow you about your YAMJ question. YAMJ is an App, has nothing to do with NMJ (sorry if I misunderstood your question)

Cheers,
Damian

MSS.net blog (contributing editor) - http://www.mediasmartserver.net

Windows Entertainment and Connected Home MVP 2010-2012

dbone1026 is offline  
post #24 of 2298 Old 09-07-2012, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GusGus748s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Visalia, CA 93291
Posts: 6,307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbone1026 View Post

Not sure I follow you about your YAMJ question. YAMJ is an App, has nothing to do with NMJ (sorry if I misunderstood your question)

I meant if the A-400 is going to be like the A-300 jukebox wise.

Media Server: UnRaid Server: 15TB of storage and growing :).

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8599

 

Home Theater Set Up:

http://www.avsforum.com/lists/display/view/id/8597

GusGus748s is offline  
post #25 of 2298 Old 09-07-2012, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Should be the same, with the added ability to navigate and control NMJ via iPad. Eversion/YAMJ will likely run exactly as it does now on A-300.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #26 of 2298 Old 09-07-2012, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Im still waiting to see if they will allow skins like eversion to use opengl, that pretty much would give some encourgament to make more flash skins that would have nicer options.
halfelite is offline  
post #27 of 2298 Old 09-07-2012, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,601
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

Im still waiting to see if they will allow skins like eversion to use opengl, that pretty much would give some encourgament to make more flash skins that would have nicer options.

Werner has stated flash only.

Looky here!
robnix is offline  
post #28 of 2298 Old 09-07-2012, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by robnix View Post

Werner has stated flash only.

Flash is fine opengl is an api to pass graphics to the gpu for rendering flash lite media which is what pch runs can support some opengl. It's not a new ui just an extension.
halfelite is offline  
post #29 of 2298 Old 09-08-2012, 01:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
canton160's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusGus748s View Post

Awaiting for the A400 and the Dune Series review. I wonder if the A400 still uses the YAMJ / (Skin vesion) type of Jukebox as well as having an internal NMJ.

the big buzz is that sigma will have their 3D media player available in november 2012, exactly a year after realtek 3D launch

what new features sigma bring vs realtek ?

jukebox- ( med1000x3d is already option)

xvp (not required if you have a av receiver)

esata ( most of librarys are on NAS but still good option)

price (more expensive players + ~100$)

bugs ( all players have bugs and does will not be exception)

apps to control jukebox( its the only interesting feature so far )

better built silverstone cases ( ok i agree )

i would give a few months to med1000x3d to fix all the bugs, they seem to fix more than they promise...

Projector Mitsubishi HC5

Projector Optoma hd300x 

Av receiver Onkyo TX-NR 818

Oppo 103D

Media player Med1000x3D

 

 

KEN KREISEL DXD-808 

Q7000 5.1

canton160 is offline  
post #30 of 2298 Old 09-08-2012, 02:06 AM
Senior Member
 
indieke2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the Media8er X3. It is fantastic for streaming and accept anything you throw at it. Very responsive, also!

The Pq looks good on my plasma 102 cm, but on my 2 M 65 screen, it looks not that good as I want with my Sony VW 95 projector. Yes it LOOKS sharp also, colors are good. But the sharpness is not natural, it look like sharpened, with some EE.

I tis ok for the moment, as my HCPC broke down, and I needed something to play my music, and movies meanwhile. I want Oppo 95 quality in image, and to play all my files like the X 3, but want perfect PQ. The 95 was too expensive, and was not so handy for external files, and I not needed the extra cost for the sound, as I use my Accuphase as Dac. The Oppo 93 (European model) had too much videonoise.

So will there be a streamer with at least same Pq quality as the Oppo 95? Would relly love that! I was not so impressed by Pq of Popcorn hour products, some years ago, my HCPC, was way better. The Oppo 95, is sharp, has an natural movie-like image, but is just above my budget. The search continues, maybe in a future model of oppo? Or will there finally be a streamer available that will pass benchmark standards?

I like my HT, wine and pretty girls. But...am I the only one
indieke2 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Popcorn Hour A 400 Network Media Jukebox

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off