WD Live Hub question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-23-2012, 08:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lamonsasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
hey all, does the wd live hub support cinavia protection? i rip my own blurays to files and copy them to the harddrive for easier playback but since the ps3 is now full with cinavia it cant play that anymore so i need an alternative.

thanks
lamonsasa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-24-2012, 05:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alx330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Only Blu-ray players come with Cinavia so the Hub doesn't support it
Alx330 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-24-2012, 09:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
lamonsasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 3,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
so you sure the wd live hub doesn't have cinavia protection right? is there any better alternative that player ripped blu rays without conversion needed?
lamonsasa is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 09-25-2012, 03:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alx330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 47
People would pretty much stop buying the WDTV if it did come with Cinavia so yeah I'm sure. If your not making an official BD compliant player with full menu support which means getting the blessing from Blu-ray licensing authority then you don't have to include it.

WDTV and Dune players are probably the two most popular ones out there, there's lots of new stuff involving XBMC boxes in the pipeline but thats just around the corner (well next few months).
Alx330 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-25-2012, 07:24 AM
Member
 
bgavin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a new WD TV Live (not hub) that connects to a network share.
My BD are all ripped to a single .M2TS file to be rid of all the annoying preamble on the retail media.

The WD box plays them flawlessly.
No menus available, no menus wanted.

Mine was about $85 or thereabouts, Amazon.
bgavin is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-27-2012, 11:27 AM
Senior Member
 
smitbret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Idaho - Pocatello
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alx330 View Post

Only Blu-ray players come with Cinavia so the Hub doesn't support it

That's not true. BR players are required to have it, but streaming boxes CAN carry it. The Netgear streaming boxes come with Cinavia on them, but I can say definitively that the WD Live Hub doesn't, yet.
smitbret is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off