(Beginner question) What is needed to set up media player system to play ripped BDs? - AVS Forum
Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming > (Beginner question) What is needed to set up media player system to play ripped BDs?
nba23tsc's Avatar nba23tsc 02:42 AM 10-01-2012
I am a beginner and has some vague ideas what individual components are but not exactly sure what a complete media player/streamer system with media jukebox looks like and how to set it up.

Would appreciate if I can get tips on how to start.

What I want to do:
1. Ability to play ripped BD/BD media files (including menus and BD features) on my TV smoothly.
2. Set up a media jukebox of the above files.

What I already have:
1. HDTV in living room.
2. AV receiver connected to home theater system in living room.
3. Playstation 3 (which I use to play BD discs) in living room.
4. PC in another room B which I use as storage right now.
5. Wireless G router at another room C wired to the PC.

What I think I may need:
1. Media player like Pophorn/Dune whatever (since PS3 stinks as a media player) in living room
2. NAS in living room for long term storage of media files?
3. Wireless N router?

Right now I am able to watch BD discs on the PS3. However I would like to have the flexibility to watch backup BD media from harddisk and the PS3 is bad at that (not able to play BD format from external harddisk). In addition, I like the idea of a central jukebox for media rather than have to deal with discs.

So here are some basic questions:
A. How to connect NAS to media player using wires? The reason why I say wires is because I have no confidence my wifi can give the right streaming quality for BD files.
B. How to transfer BD files ripped in my PC to the NAS? Will wifi be too slow for transferring BD files and I have to use primitive method like external harddisks to move data between PC and NAS given my situation? Will wifi-N work?