Replace Roku - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 10-22-2012, 08:33 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dowop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have Roku xs2 & it played Netflix dark. I compensated with high black levels in the TV. I like the Roku because it does 5.1 through my Onkyo AVR.
From what I have read the WD has better PQ. I also read that Apple TV does a great job. I need another device for another TV in the house.
Any suggestions or comments would be appreciated.
dowop is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 10-22-2012, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by dowop View Post

I have Roku xs2 & it played Netflix dark. I compensated with high black levels in the TV. I like the Roku because it does 5.1 through my Onkyo AVR.
From what I have read the WD has better PQ. I also read that Apple TV does a great job. I need another device for another TV in the house.
Any suggestions or comments would be appreciated.

Our Roku2's play Netflix really well but perhaps it is a function of the TV and Roku combination. The ATV3 has a really nice Netflix. That's what I mainly use. There is also the Sony Google TV box at $200. Neat box.

I personally found the slowness of the WDTV Live Streamer's GUI hard to take.

Philip
pmcd is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 10-22-2012, 01:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,204
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by dowop View Post

I have Roku xs2 & it played Netflix dark. I compensated with high black levels in the TV.

The non-standard black level was fixed via a firmware update.
Charles R is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 10-22-2012, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dowop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have the latest firmware. It did not fix mine.
dowop is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 10-22-2012, 07:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by dowop View Post

I have Roku xs2 & it played Netflix dark. I compensated with high black levels in the TV. I like the Roku because it does 5.1 through my Onkyo AVR.
From what I have read the WD has better PQ. I also read that Apple TV does a great job. I need another device for another TV in the house.
Any suggestions or comments would be appreciated.

For Netflix it's funny.

I love the ATV Netflix UI for browsing and searching

My Sony BD supports the 1080p/dd+ Netflix streams but I've actually found a better device.

The TiVo premier. It's the only device that can output without additional user interaction playing Netflix 1080p/24 dd+ streams !

I
apw2607 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 10-22-2012, 07:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by dowop View Post

I have Roku xs2 & it played Netflix dark. I compensated with high black levels in the TV. I like the Roku because it does 5.1 through my Onkyo AVR.
From what I have read the WD has better PQ. I also read that Apple TV does a great job. I need another device for another TV in the house.
Any suggestions or comments would be appreciated.

For Netflix it's funny.

I love the ATV Netflix UI for browsing and searching

My Sony BD supports the 1080p/dd+ Netflix streams but I've actually found a better device.

The TiVo premier. It's the only device that can output without additional user interaction playing Netflix 1080p/24 dd+ streams !
apw2607 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 10-23-2012, 05:33 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dowop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Do you have to pay for Tivo service to watch Netflix??
dowop is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 10-23-2012, 06:44 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,913
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 900 Post(s)
Liked: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by dowop View Post

Do you have to pay for Tivo service to watch Netflix??

Yes.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #9 of 16 Old 10-23-2012, 07:36 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dowop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I just hooked up AppleTV & set the HDMI output to RGB high & the picture is great.
dowop is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 10-28-2012, 11:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
undecided's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by dowop View Post

I have Roku xs2 & it played Netflix dark. I compensated with high black levels in the TV. I like the Roku because it does 5.1 through my Onkyo AVR.
From what I have read the WD has better PQ. I also read that Apple TV does a great job. I need another device for another TV in the house.
Any suggestions or comments would be appreciated.

It seems to be an issue between the ROKU2 and Onkyo receivers when using 5.1 audio on Netflix.

See http://forums.roku.com/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=51730&start=0

If you scroll to the end ROKU seems (finally) to accept they need to review/discus with Onkyo.....

We'll see.......

See also http://onkyoproductsupport.forumotion.com/t1178p60-roku-issue-with-my-809
undecided is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 10-29-2012, 05:35 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dowop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks for the info. The Apple works fine. The Roku is ok after I adjust the tv.
dowop is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 10-29-2012, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
subavision212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by dowop View Post

I have Roku xs2 & it played Netflix dark. I compensated with high black levels in the TV. I like the Roku because it does 5.1 through my Onkyo AVR.
From what I have read the WD has better PQ. I also read that Apple TV does a great job. I need another device for another TV in the house.
Any suggestions or comments would be appreciated.
This issue has been going on since the roku 2 came out with all types of equipment because it outputs using the RGB color space instead of outputting the standard YCbCr color space that every competing roku product uses. As of Oct 27 in the thread about this problem in the Roku forums moderators have posted: "This was passed on to the appropriate people at Roku." apparently Onkyo engineers are saying it's a problem with the Roku but supposedly Roku tech wasn't talking to Onkyo about this. So hopefully they will get something constructive done on this to help alleviate your problem. Here is a link to the thread if you want to monitor anything new that is happening.
http://forums.roku.com/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=51730

subavision212 is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 10-30-2012, 08:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flint350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Baltimore, Md.
Posts: 2,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29

In case you didn't notice, that thread has been locked by the moderators.  I guess they got tired of the complaints and found a way to "address" the issue - they blocked further mention of it.


Ray
"You cannot reason a person out of a position he did not reason himself into in the first place." -Jonathan Swift
flint350 is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 11-13-2012, 04:38 PM
Senior Member
 
david0406's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dowop View Post

I just hooked up AppleTV & set the HDMI output to RGB high & the picture is great.

Does Apple TV stream Amazon video? Since Roku is dragging their feet with the colorspace or black level problem I am looking for a device to stream Amazon with a useable UI.
david0406 is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 11-13-2012, 05:43 PM
Member
 
Greg Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Townsend, DE
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by david0406 View Post

Does Apple TV stream Amazon video? Since Roku is dragging their feet with the colorspace or black level problem I am looking for a device to stream Amazon with a useable UI.

No Apple TV doesn't have Amazon VOD but there is a workaround in that you could use an iPad to queue up the movie and then AirPlay it to view on your tv.
Greg Haynes is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 11-16-2012, 04:50 PM
Newbie
 
zx7rgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried this but only got sound, no picture..
zx7rgirl is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off